Beat logo

There Is Nothing Wrong with an Eclectic Music Taste

A lot of people have one music genre they absolutely love, but I love them all and I'll tell you why.

By Kelly AnnPublished 6 years ago 3 min read
Like

I listen to and love almost every type of music and I say almost because there are some genres I've never heard before but I'll more than likely love them at some point. From Heavy Metal to Bubblegum Pop, it's all pretty amazing to me and it's because there are so many different songs and musical pieces that have a significant meaning in my life.

I grew up with old school Rock 'n' Roll music blaring out of my parent's Hi-Fi system almost everyday and I just loved the sounds of the Boogie Woogie piano tunes and the old school guitars riffs. I remember I went to school when I was 5 (we are talking 20 years ago now) and I was singing Little Richard's "Good Golly Miss Molly" that had been playing through our house the night before whilst my Mum did the ironing and my teacher just gave me a look of awe that a 5 year old in 1998 knew a Little Richard song; and I also remember that all the other kids were laughing at me because back then it was all about S-Club 7 and Hearsay and I loved them too, but the reason that Rock 'n' Roll has such meaning to me is because it was what my Mum & Dad brought me up listening to and every time I listen to it now, it reminds me of being a kid again and when they used to dance with me to "Let's Twist Again" or "Peggy Sue." Plus, let's face it...Rock 'n' Roll music does sound incredible.

As I got older, I starting enjoying Punk music (whilst still listening to Rock 'n' Roll and Pop music of course) and when I was 9 years old, I discovered Buzzcocks and The Clash which one of my Aunties was listening to when we went round for dinner one evening. I specifically remember falling in love with the songs "What Do I Get?" by Buzzcocks and "London's Calling" by The Clash, and I begged my parents to buy me the CD's but they said I was a little too young to be listening to punk; but I found a Buzzcocks album (Love Bites) amongst my Dad's record collection so I put it on and absolutely loved it!

I think my parents noticed my music taste was slightly different to most of the children my age, so for my 10th Birthday they got me Boney M's greatest hits album and Queen's greatest hits album and a CD walkman. Weirdly enough, when I first listened to "Bohemian Rhapsody" I didn't really like it...I know it's shocking. I think I was slightly confused at why the song kept changing it's style all the way through, it started off smooth, then operatic then into rock but then I really listened to it over and over again and I fell in love with it...and now Queen are my all time favourite band, I even have a Freddie Mercury tattoo on my arm.

Over my teenage years, I started listening to so much; Classical, Rock, Punk, Pop, New Wave, RnB, Drum & Bass, Indie, Country, Disney songs, Calypso, Reggae...you name it. I got bullied at school as well because I would be listening to Johnny Cash or Mozart through my headphones, but it never put me off because when my headphones were on and no matter what I was listening to, I felt I was myself and I felt like I was in my own world where nobody could judge me, and I was content.

Even today, I still listen to all kinds of music. I was diagnosed with Depression and Anxiety when I was 18 and each kind of music genre I listen to will make me feel better, even if it's for a short while because it makes me forget all the hard times. Even if I'm feeling down and I am crying, I could listen to "Mambo No. 5" and I'm happy again.

So that's why it isn't weird to have a wide range in taste of music. My advice, if you are trying to hide it because you think people will think you are odd...don't. Music isn't food, it doesn't have a sell by date.

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Kelly Ann

I am Kelly Ann, I am 25 and I love Music! And pets...and food.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.