Beat logo

The Unbridled Courage of Selena Gomez

Whatever path she chooses, success surely awaits.

By S. FrazerPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
2

Selena Gomez may be retiring from music.

In a recent interview with Vogue, the singer, 28, expressed frustration at not being taken seriously in the music world, telling the magazine, "I’ve had moments where I’ve been like, ‘What’s the point? Why do I keep doing this?’" She said, "‘Lose You to Love Me’ I felt was the best song I’ve ever released, and for some people it still wasn’t enough," adding, "I want to give it one last try before I maybe retire music."

This isn't the first time Gomez has gotten candid about the negativity that for years has hounded her music career.

In 2020, Gomez opened up to fellow artist Kelly Clarkson about her album Rare, saying, “I’ve constantly been trying to make my music better and better, because I know that people may not think I’m the greatest singer, but I just work my ass off, and I really love writing and creating and growing.”

I confess, I’m one of the people Gomez was referring to. I adore her as an artist, as a person, as a role model, and as an advocate. I’ve seen her in concert, and she puts on an absolutely wonderful show. But her voice isn’t the strongest.

And that’s what I love about her.

She isn’t the best singer. We know it. She knows it.

And she keeps on singing.

That’s what makes Selena Gomez one of the most powerful, revolutionary artists on the scene. It’s not that she isn’t talented; she is, and she continues to grow and improve her sound with each new album. It’s that, despite not being the best at what she does (and constantly being reminded of it), she continues to do it, because it's what she loves to do.

Said Clarkson, “The best singers in the world move you. And that comes from all different sounds and styles… From a singer to a singer, it’s beautiful what you do, and I love your record, and… I love singing your music. It means something, and it moves people. So don’t ever negate your gift, because it’s powerful.”

Her humility is one of the things that makes Gomez so endearing.

As if hitting No. 1 on the Billboard Hot 100 with less-than-stellar vocals isn't impressive enough, Gomez did so while battling a chronic autoimmune disorder and mental illness.

In 2019, it was reported that Gomez had suffered a panic attack just prior to delivering a shaky performance of her hit song “Lose You to Love Me” at the American Music Awards.

As always, the Internet had a lot to say, with Gomez's critics showing no mercy and her fans offering their unwavering support.

But it wasn’t the subpar singing that held my attention.

It was the fact that she’d had a panic attack and then gone onstage and sung live in front of 4.9 million people. She was clearly nervous as hell, and she was still there, mic in hand, in front of a large audience, with a camera in her face and millions of people around the world watching her belt out a heartfelt goodbye to her ex.

As someone who suffers from debilitating anxiety, I've found this demonstration of inner strength absolutely remarkable. I could never. While others cringed and voiced second-hand embarrassment in the days that followed, I was in awe of her dignity and mental stamina. She had endured the pre-performance anxiety, the sheer terror of actually performing, and the stressful aftermath of public scrutiny. And still, she powered through with grace.

People love Gomez because she's real, vulnerable, and imperfect. She's authentic. She's relatable. She's human. What she does transcends traditional notions of music. It takes guts, courage, moxie, perseverance. It's more than just carrying a tune. It's strength of character. It's passion. It's art for the sake of art.

It's inspiring to watch.

I have to agree with Cardi B on this one: "If she wants to leave, leave cause you want [to] not cause of these [haters]." As long as music makes her happy, Gomez should keep at it.

Personally, I'd like to see Gomez get back into acting. She has a Jennifer Aniston-like appeal that I feel would serve her well in television. She stood out on Disney Channel because she had a comedic timing and charm that were incredibly entertaining to watch. She is talented, and people are rooting for her to succeed. She’s an on-screen comeback in the making.

In her interview with Vogue, Gomez talked about her acting career, saying, "I haven't even touched the surface of what I want to do. I can't wait for the moment when a director can see that I'm capable of doing something that no one's ever seen."

I believe her.

It takes a great deal of bravery to persevere in the face of constant scrutiny, harassment, and skepticism. Add on chronic illness and mental health issues, and it’s enough to make anyone want to retreat from the public eye entirely. That Selena has carried on for this long with her head held high is proof that she’s an indomitable force who’s here to stay in whatever capacity she so chooses.

celebrities
2

About the Creator

S. Frazer

She/her • 29 • Aspiring writer

Email: [email protected]

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.