Beat logo

The songs that connect me to you..

For every word, I couldnt say, these songs tie together my love for you in each and every way.

By Samuel-James Published 4 years ago 10 min read
Like
Songs that lead me back to you in every way

Using Music as a connection to my life and feelings each day, It's hard not to relate to songs that flood me with pride, belief and unbreakable love for you. Words are not always easy for any of us to share how we feel, it can be that sometimes another tool is needed to show our emotions towards someone or a situation. Sometimes it's gifts, written words in a card or hearing a song that speaks to their heart and shares our aching expressions through the artist beating with the feelings within, that help us say everything we have wanted too but maybe couldn't find the words yourself.

Many of the experiences in my life, I remember through songs that touched me around that point; a milestone, visiting places or feelings towards friends, family or simply moments that will stay with me forever and when that song comes on it takes me back to the moment. Even songs out of films I love a great soundtrack.

Having such a connection to songs and how they help shape my feelings towards life events has led to me pulling together a selection of songs that remind me, teach me or help me understand how and why I love you so much and how I might not always present my love to you in ways of some of these songs incredible meanings but promise that every word felt in these songs I feel them for you and always you.

5 Songs that lead and connect me to you

Tom Odell - True Colours

This song was originally released in 1984 by Cyndi Lauper, This song has such a key message and the words relate as much as they did in the '80s as they do now in 2020. Everyone has the right to shine and show themselves to the world as they truly want to be, which when you see how the world is growing together and accepting every part of each other more and more the words of this song encourage us to believe in ourselves and show our true selves to the world.

My wife has such a beautiful soul but a delicate one and during her time finishing University and quickly becoming (unplanned but overjoyed) a mother, she lost her way starting to become so self-conscious of herself. I could see her slowly falling within herself and not having the confidence to show how amazing she truly was. After a while, she was losing her way and having a really hard time to find herself and rediscovering her passion. With myself being a fan of Tom Odell, he performed his version of True Colours during his amazing performance in Berlin. This version hit me with floods of emotion with every key pressed and each word of the song presented together, expressed everything I wanted to say to her hoping she would realise how much she has to be proud of and share with the world. I soon as I could I played this song to her and with the first verse I could feel her anxiety lifting as she realised herself how much she was diluting her own spark when throughout her years in university she was a ball of energy and brought inspiration to many others with her passion. Hearing this song helped her to understand how much she wanted to inspire our children to be themselves and shine brightly, she needed to reach this herself first.

True Colours is a song that has kept its relevance as time has moved on and given my wife the truth and meaning she needed to give herself the confidence that no matter what your current fears, demons or barriers in your life. You have every opportunity and right to show the world your true bright and illustrious colours. We have one flickering light on the earth and this song helped my wife reignite her light which is now shining brighter than ever.

John Legend - You & I

Seeing ourselves in the way others do, isn't always easy to do and this song represents everything that I want to say to my wife when she is having difficulty seeing herself as I see her. Every woman and man experiences those times when we don't feel at our best and no matter what we do whether it's our hair, makeup or the clothes we put on. We don't feel our best and begin to let those doubts and negative thoughts grow which has even caused some nights to be cancelled or led to arguments when we don't find the right words to say to help our partners/friends see the beauty and love that we see.

You & I brings everything together for how I want my wife to feel anytime these moments arise, no matter the thoughts and feeling going through her mind, I want her to know that she is everything to me and that nobody would ever compare to her beauty for she is all and more than I could ever have wished to have been lucky enough to stand next too. Every woman should feel proud of their beauty and when in relationships it is our duty and promise to each other to hold each other up in the highest regard. As a husband it pains me to see my wife not look at herself the same way I do and now whenever we have a rare date night planned, I ensure this song is playing as my wife now sings along to it with a smile and confidence to know she is the only girl in the world that I want by my side.

I hope my wife and many others out there can use this song to recognise just how beautiful they are and not to let the small moments of doubt change their reflection.

J Holiday - Bed

Now this song changes gear from the previous songs shared, this one is the song that takes us back to our days before children were on the horizon, when we didn't have to be responsible throughout the day making dinners, changing nappies or ensuring every moment they are safe and secure. We could spend afternoons together in bed forgetting the world and the outdoors and just enjoy every part of each other within the four walls of our bedroom.

This has forever since been our song and my song that relives our moments of free spiriting, playing together and being able to connect passionately through a song that we both relate so fondly to when we think of each other. Every couple has their song that notches up the heat, speeds up the heart and leads my mind to your beautiful body and soul.

A song that played on repeat constantly in our room and even now hits me the same way it did the first time we heard it together, the same way every time I see you I want to kiss every part of you. This is was then just a song that brought it closer together but started our journey beyond lusting as teenagers but that start of a relationship lasting beyond the decade and still going stronger than ever. A Love held is a love shared and this song enlightens all our senses to each other, moments I get to run my fingers through your hair, Kiss your neck or watch the sun come up through your eyes and lips our bed and the days we spent together there all live in this song.

Aerosmith - I Don't want to miss a thing

Now at the beginning, I mentioned even songs from films or connected to films have a meaning towards my you. It's my guilty pleasure film (Armageddon) and I can't count many times I've made us watch this over and over but there are moments in this film and song that speak out so well to what I feel when I torment myself thinking of you living without me. In any relationship you worry that one day you might lose them or they lose you and seeing how much you enlighten our children's dreams and vision towards the world, there isn't a moment that I don't want to be part of. You have changed my life in many ways and my promise to you is that I will always be a few steps behind you and our little family taking in every memory, cheering you all on as the proudest farther and husband on this planet.

Having such an incredibly moving song, with such a passionate meaning and sound to it, it ties the movie together perfectly and adds the emotional element that aligns perfectly with huge explosions and epic visuals of Bruce Willis saving us all.

It might not be our favourite song and most heart skipping song but it has everything in the words that I feel for you every day. Your my adventure, my mission and my story in life and I want to capture every moment by your side.

Sleeping at Last - Turning Page

Bella "Just don't let me fall"....Bella's Dad "Never"

For the person I am today, you have built me up piece by piece to truly believe in love, trust and the commitment to the one who gives every reason to stay awake. Twilight (Books & Films) has some of the best songs that tell the story of my love for you and how deep it goes, beyond normality or anything humanly possible. My love for you runs through every part of my body, mind and soul and forever will do. Sleeping at Last have been number one in my playlist for a while now and there are so many songs that I could have chosen to talk about but I had to go with this one, Turning Pages.

Turning Pages, the song you walked down the aisle to, the song that played behind your beautiful, breathe taking vision of a woman beyond anything I could have imagined standing in front of me. This song I learnt along with the book just how much someone should love another and what love can truly mean to you. Every word is nervously sung and shared from the heart which gives the perfect balance of the innocence in love but the relentless power it possesses.

In the moments where responsibility came in and the world's challenges taking its toll on us, it was your love and compassion that gave me the courage to stop living the life had let myself fall into and to be the person I am today. I am starting to find my passion again and beginning my journey, writing with my heart and soul, that both belong to you. This song is never far away from my search history and can be on repeat for hours while I work never losings its connection to me and you, each word defines my love and how I wouldn't have even been able to understand the privilege of being accepted by another through the heartaches we face or moments of loss or times in need, that each page the story starts and ends with you.

Thank You..

These songs are a part of me in every way and I will always have the memories that each of these brings, Music is always in our lives and the songs that tattoo themselves to our hearts will always be there to stay. Music and lyrics can bring us all out of the darkest moments, but also can lighten our most fondest experiences that little bit more. Let music in your lives and let it take your soul beyond the 9-5 that we all get caught up in.

...The Songs that connect me to you

Often enough, there have been times when I've underestimated my mind and heart and it has taken a long time for me to really commit to my passion of writing from my heart. It might not be the best piece of writing you have read but hoping its get better in time.

Keep checking in as I grow with Vocal, Follow me on Instagram @Sjh_89 to stay up to date with new stories!

...SJ

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Samuel-James

A floating soul searching a stone to lay rest under, hoping that one of those stars in the sky are meant for me.

Dreaming up change

Writing for glory, purpose and belonging.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.