Beat logo

The Songs Of My Week

Just doing a little test to see if I can claim that my music taste= superb

By Jay,when I writePublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
The Songs Of My Week
Photo by Karthikeya GS on Unsplash

Yes, I started this on a Saturday instead of Sunday. Don’t ask me why.

I wanted to see how diverse my music tastes were this week. I chose the song (or 2) that were on repeat the most on that day.

Saturday

The two songs I listened to the most today were: To the Moon by Phora & Ain't it Fun by Paramore.

I listened to other songs like Touch, Palace/Curse, Have Mercy, Say Yes, My God etc. but, those two were my go tos. Specific parts made me keep them playing. I still remember the first time I heard To the Moon my freshman year of college. I also remember kinda wanting to relate to the lyrics of Ain't It Fun, and now I actually do. Is it fun living in the "real world" heck no! My answer is NO. But, I did always know it'd be difficult, I just like relating to my favorite songs and wanted to feel a bit more independent when it dropped (but never did I want have the feeling that I needed to cry to my momma)

Sunday

I just found an artist named JVKE today because he posted a youtube video of him layering vocals for the song Golden Hour and I went to listen to "golden hour" (it sounds different, but I still really like it). I wonder if it'll be on repeat today.

Update: turns out I’m pretty late to the Golden Hour party.

Monday

All Mine by Brent Faiyaz and Palace/Curse (actually just the Curse part) by The Internet

Tuesday

Shinunoga E-Wa (but also the rest of the album) by Fujii Kaze

This has been in every social media video these days. I now know a great artist. His songs are so cool!

Wednesday

NoSo’s Feeling Like a Woman Lately has been such a great discovery!

It’s so sway-y and soft but playful. Really digging the whole album lately.

Thursday

I’m in love with you by The 1975 was one major song on my playlist,but it was all over the place today since I ran for so long and crashed when I got inside.

Another one I could mention:JID-Workin Out

Friday

The Perfect Pair by Beabadoobee

How could you not enjoy this song?

&

FOMO by Amber Mark

because i was experiencing a bit of fomo as usual when it nears the end of the week. I had work to do, and just sat and got it done.

Saturdays

A tie between: Reflections by Toshifumi Hinata & Gavin Degraw’s Not Over You

Someone told me they loved the former, so I listened to it as I worked and ran. I like it when people tell me what songs they listen to because I actually will play them and try to understand why/understand them a bit more. I ended up realizing I have heard this before. I really liked it clearly. It relaxed me, but also made me feel like I was doing something sneaky ha.

Gavin Degraw’s song is a certified classic. Love that song man.

Huh, I hit a few different genres, but I think I was in a chill place the whole week. Most of the songs aren’t too rowdy or loud. Most have nice vocals too.

Well, if you enjoyed this please let me know by pressing that heart and/or commenting on this. You can even leave a tip. Regardless, I really appreciate you reading this. Means a lot more than you think.

So, what do you listen to? Did I mention songs that you have heard or have not heard of?

I never judge music tastes: whatever gets you feeling good is…well, good.

playlist
Like

About the Creator

Jay,when I write

Hello.

What?

23, Black, queer, yup

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.