Beat logo

The Songs in my Mind

songs that make me feel me

By Madeline KeysPublished 4 years ago 5 min read
Like
The Songs in my Mind
Photo by pawel szvmanski on Unsplash

We have all had a moment where we are listening to a song and we have had to really stop and listen because the lyrics begin to seemingly speak directly to us. Maybe the lyrics in a song relate exactly to what we are going through or simply make us feel the most like ourselves. Below are a few beautiful lyrics from songs that I have heard recently that simply make me feel like me.

1. Can I call you back- SHY Martin

I find myself relating to the lyrics in this song in more ways that one. From the very beginning of the song it says,

"I know my mind is like a motel ,

I'm checking out when things don't go well .

Sounds like I don't care

I promise I care too much."

Often in very stressful situations (not just mildly stressful situations because that's when I usually cry or show too much emotion), I become calm to the point of people asking me if I'm really feeling at all or if I actually understand the intensity of the situation. My emotions seem to shut down and I remain physically calm when in my hidden reality my mind is off in a million different places.

Next: "I'm a no show, I'm social, then super low

I stay in and quit things without a warning

Is it okay if I turn off?

I don't feel like talking

Maybe in the morning

Can I call you when it ends?"

One thing I don't like about myself is exactly what these lyrics describe. I can be a no show. Without an explanation, even to myself, I can just not feel like going out and I'll distance myself from all the people I love. Sometimes I just check out and don't want to answer my phone or don't want to continue on with my usual routine. I'll just switch my routine drastically, sadly leaving even people close to me confused. What people cannot see is that I'm constantly thinking and by the time they see my actions, I've already overthought to the point where I can't take the routine anymore. I have to experience change, or I think I do. My friends have said I'm the type of person to move off to a foreign place without an explanation leaving everyone confused. I don't necessarily like that about myself, however I have learned some things that have helped me deal with that.

When I "turn off and don't feel like talking," a lot of times it's not even because I don't want to talk, but it's because I just don't know how. I'm much better at writing and can't seem to pull out my thoughts as easy when I talk.

2. A Troubled Mind -Noah Kahan

I have to admit, the title "A Troubled Mind," already felt familiar to me. Unlike the previous song I listed, this song does not entirely relate to me. I do not worry about every single little thing. My mind is busy, yes but I don't believe there is no hope for me nor do I have trouble finding a "single silver lining." However, certain lyrics in this song are so me.

"I took a bus out to the city where you lived

Eavesdropped on strangers conversations with their kids

In hopes that maybe they’d say something relevant

To ease my worried head."

Not to sound creepy at all, but I love to be in public places alone and people watch. I enjoy traveling or just going to a new place and taking in the entire atmosphere. When I see people interact with each other I can't help but smile. It gives me joy to see all the little ways people communicate and especially how children live so simply. It helps me sometimes to get outside of my head and notice the beauty all around me and in that way it eases "my worried head."

3. Clementine -Halsey

Halsey begins this song by describing her "world." She says,

"...in my world, the people on the street don't know my name."

More than I'd like to admit I take myself out of my reality and envision a world where I am part of it but not really part of it. It may sound strange but I think about just being an observer in the world and what that would look like.

Next: "Cause I don't need anyone

I don't need anyone

I just need everyone and then some."

Those lyrics resonate with me because of an irony within myself. As much as I distance myself at times from people, I also need people surrounding me. I deeply love people and need company and love. I'm so thankful for the people in my life that are patient with me.

"I left my daydreams at the gate because I just can't take 'em too

Know my heart still has a suitcase, but I still can't take it through."

These lyrics probably mean something completely different to everyone who listens to this song (isn't that the beauty of music though!). However, to me these lyrics remind me of how hard it is for me to focus on multiple things. I pour my energy into every person and every place I go. Sometimes I pour it all and I have none left for my "daydreams," for example. It's very hard for me to multitask with different areas of my life. I often connect things that should not have connected.

Because of how long this article is getting, I will stop at three songs. This article may not too deep but is a bit personal as it's a glimpse into my mind. I challenge anyone reading this to think of song lyrics that speak directly to you and make you feel the most yourself. Next, write about it and share!

I appreciate you taking time to read this. If you liked what you read please take a moment to like and share with friends and family. Also be sure to check out my profile to see more topics I've written on and if you're feeling generous my tips are always open. Thank you!

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Madeline Keys

I'm just a writer trying to find her voice. I'm passionate about writing things I'm learning about and things I've experienced.

I hope you enjoy exploring my page!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.