Beat logo

The Queen of Rap

Nicki Minaj samples the most and will always be my number one favourite black-female artist and influencer.

By Keanna Barry Published 3 years ago 6 min read
1

1. “Beauty might bring happiness, but happiness always brings beauty.” - I take this as a piece of empowerment. A reminder that beauty exists and that beauty can be created more and more as there are no limits to it.

2. “Please, you can never compare to me. I am who they couldn’t even dare to be.” - I take this quote as a sign of independence and control. Something that shows this woman is not afraid to dominate the industry and does one hell of a great job at it! It’s all about pride but good pride!

3. “True confidence leaves no room for jealousy. When you know you are great, you have no need to hate.” - I view this quote as something I’d like to get tattooed on me but 1. I don’t have any tattoos and 2. It might be too “long”for one. Regardless of that the whole quote is uplifting and speaks pure truths!

4. “You don’t have to feel the need to put somebody down to make yourself feel better.” -I like this quote because when I was attempting to write a novel that book’s contents contained a piece where I had stated something similar to this quote but in mine I had said: “it’s strange that people who know pain find it not so wrong to go and put others through that same pain, any kind of pain, or less pain.” So I take this quote as a statement to the public that there is just no need to put anybody through anything negative because it won’t benefit you in any way!

5. “People always want to talk about who I was, but I’ve always been singing, always been experimenting with pop music.” - so this to me just states that this woman is going to do what she wants, fiercely too and nobody is going to stop her!

6. “I don’t mind being called a weirdo. There are a lot of people in hip-hop who are probably never going to get what I do. But, by just being myself, I end up touching a lot more people who might never have paid much attention to a female rapper. ” -I like this quote because she’s being real in what she’s stating. I find a lot of female rappers are not respected enough or seen enough of their true talent to the point they’re a bit more underground than typically expected.

7. “When you’re a girl you have to be everything. You have to be dope at what you do but you have to be super-sweet. And you have to be this and you have to be that, and you have to be nice. It’s like, I can’t be all those things at once. I’m a human being.” - she spits out the truth for haters to choke on through everything she states. It’s so easy to pretend you have it all together but realistically speaking we are still human and we make mistakes, can’t be everything, and can’t exactly excel in everything but it’s a wake up call and reminder that we are really trying to complete our best.

8. “I just want women to always feel in control. Because we’re capable, we’re so capable.” - I have so much respect for this quote because as a woman myself belonging to a minority it needs to be acknowledged that we are capable and so much more. We have power, we have strength, we have the brains, we have the looks and we have the capability to show the world or whomever is listening to us that we can really-truly accomplish things that most people belittle us for.

9. “Take me or leave me I’ll never be perfect – believe me, I’m worth it.” - I can relate to this quote so hard! It’s just putting it out there that we come as we are and if you want us then take the pieces you see and uplift that little idea you have of us in your head then see if you can reach me is how I take it.

10. “You can be the King, but watch the Queen conquer.” - I really like this one because although men and women are equal in existence we are not equal in the eyes of society norms. For a really long time men have been known as superior to women so I take this quote as a mark of independence that men can conquer but women also are able to conquer in different ways than the men! That us women have it in us to do it all as well and not just that but when others watch us attempt to conquer it may leave most amused or amazed.

11. “Sometimes you don’t realize how far you’ve gotten until you look around at the people who are still trailing behind you.” - I have so much respect for this quote because in a sample of my own writing I had stated that life is a game and we are all it’s players. (Obviously) but the only catch is that no one wins or loses in the game because we work at our own pace and no one is ahead or behind because reaching morality should be enough of a run to witness equal ownership of the game in which we play that is life.

12. “Respect your haters; they’re the only ones who think you’re better than them.” - Also much respect for this one. If you bend the situation closely you will see that it is true that “haters” are just people who are jealous of you being above them but they should also be a reason you strive to be even better than that point you’re already at since if you’re working at an edgy pace the haters should only motivate you to do your work and be even greater!

This woman has definitely left her name out there for reasons in which I wish to be famous myself and truly aspire to be great like her! My aspirations in being famous resemble an idea of wanting better for people and wanting better for the world and I believe Nicki Minaj has achieved that in small ways towards my life (I say small because in reality I still have so much more to accomplish myself and by myself) but in grand ways from what she does every day which would be inspiring people; mostly women of colour, but her efforts are so powerful and admirable because although she is only one person I honestly track the matter that she has done the most! Now it’s time that we take her words and actions, hold them accountable and bring them all to life!

Bringing her influence to the light and we will see stronger more independent women and even men too that want to be successful, have fun, and believe in life once again! I see it from the practical point of view but there is so much the world can accomplish and by having a bright, independent, and highly influential women lead the way is what the world needs. Although she has been at work for over a decade now her attempts are still holding value and need to be more out there.

quotes
1

About the Creator

Keanna Barry

Give me a chance to help you with my own words?

My writing is intended to be read by you and the lessons being learned from what i am saying is all i pray and hope for to help improve quality of life for you, me, and like everyone else too!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.