Beat logo

The Quarantine Vibes!

Listening to Saint Jhn's Music

By Georgette SmithPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
5

What are you doing during quarantine? What music are you listening to? Well, for me, I haven’t stopped listening to Mr. Ghetto Lenny himself; otherwise known as Saint Jhn. Some of you may not know who Saint Jhn is, but here I am, coming to the rescue to enlighten you. Guyanese-American rapper, singer, songwriter, and record producer; Saint Jhn, is a secret weapon within the industry. What can’t he do?... Saint Jhn, is known for working amongst some of our industry favorites such as Usher, Kiesza, Nico & Vinz, Jidenna, and for you Beyhive fans, he has also worked with Beyoncé, on one of her biggest songs, Brown Skin Girl. Then in 2018, Saint Jhn debuted his first album, Collection One. To me, this was the grand entrance for Saint Jhn, because in 2019, he created his second studio album called, Ghetto Lenny’s Love Songs, and this album has been my quarantine go-to ever since we’ve been hit with the Coronavirus pandemic.

Ghetto Lenny’s Love Songs has featured artists such as Lil Baby, A Boogie Wit da Hoodie, Meek Mill, and of course the legendary music phenomenon, Lenny Kravitz. Already, what is there not to love? My preferred streaming platform to always listen to this album is Soundcloud. Soundcloud is very easy to use and I like that I can have the songs on the album play over and over again. Truth be told, ever since Saint Jhn dropped this album, I immediately fell in love with it. The summer of 2019 was lit! So I’m guessing you all are wondering why this album is my absolute favorite, especially for quarantine. Well here's why, each and every song is a vibe. Not just any vibe, but the vibe where you can close your eyes and BOOM, you are now on a beach with all of your friends dancing around a bonfire listening to, “High School Reunion” or imagine being your authentic, selfless self listening to, “Wedding Day”. Saint Jhn, puts you in that mood of rebellion, self worth, love, mystery and a bit of ratchetness. His music makes you want to drift and just get lost in his words. The purity of his sound is mindless and you can’t help but to feel the aura of the atmosphere change.

My two favorite songs on the album are, “Borders” featuring Lenny Kravitz and “Trophies”. You will hear these two songs throughout my apartment daily. First of all, that duo with Saint Jhn and Lenny Kravitz was nothing less short of amazing. This is one of those duos that you never knew needed to happen and now that it happened, you wonder why it didn’t happen sooner. Both their energies combined are magical. Also, this song puts me in a calm state of mind. I am able to work from home, finish online courses, write for a magazine that I am a part of (The Fresh Mix Magazine), and be a mom at the same time. I definitely need this kind of piece when maintaining them all. The second song, “Trophies” is just raw and real. This song puts me in a ‘bad bitch’ kind of mood. It makes me feel like I'm a trophy and only deserve the best by my side. It sort of makes you want to look at your significant other and tell him or her to boss up! All together, my quarantine album is Ghetto Lenny’s Love Songs by Saint Jhn. From everything that I’ve described, I hope you all catch the vibe that I caught and if you haven’t, take a listen for yourself and determine how this album makes you feel.

playlist
5

About the Creator

Georgette Smith

I am a 24 year old entrepreneur, innovator, and curator. There is nothing I can not do. If I can Dream it, then I can Achieve it! - G.Smith

Follow me on Instagram: _georgettesmith

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.