Beat logo

The Music of the Night

The perfect party mix for a Moster Mash

By Leah HarrisPublished 2 years ago 8 min read
6

The brisk October air nipped at my bare legs as I walked up the sidewalk to my first-ever college party.

The evening was bound to be magical. It was Halloween, after all.

I opened the door and an energy like nothing else filled my senses. The lights flashed orange and purple, the cups were all black, as well as the cobwebs that hung from every ceiling corner and every banister. The music beating the air was a song I heard play every Halloween since I was a kid.

Boys and girls of every age

Wouldn't you like to see something strange?

Come with us and you will see

This, our town of Halloween

There were dozens of college kids and no one over the age of 30 in sight.

Ghosts and goblins filled the living room.

Dracula was standing by the punch bowl flirting with the bride of Frankenstein.

From my laboratory in the castle east

To the master bedroom where the vampires feast

The ghouls all came from their humble abodes

To get a jolt from my electrodes

No one recognized me.

My blonde hair was hidden beneath a black wig. My eyeliner was out of this world, and my white Egyptian Pharoh dress was shorter than anything my college friends had seen me in before.

But being invisible wasn't really the goal. I mean, it's Halloween. Wasn't the point of every Halloween to be someone else for a night? Live a little dangerously, try on a different identity for a while?

Tonight, I was Cleopatra.

That girl's all right with me yeah

She's a super freak, super freak

She's super freaky,

I looked around to see if I recognized anyone. I only had one friend I knew for sure was coming, but she would be late. Tonight, I could be just a girl at a college party. Or I could really be at this party and make it a night worth remembering.

At this party, I refused to feel like a wallflower.

So I decided to jump in. But first, I needed to figure out where I wanted to be, what scene I wanted to join in on. The punch bowl looked inviting, and I could scope out the rest of the party from there.

I took a look around;

There were people in the kitchen talking.

People in the living room dancing their hearts out.

Stupid spooky party games, like Bloody Mary, going on down the hall.

When you believe in things

That you don't understand,

Then you suffer,

Superstition ain't the way,

I sipped my punch and kept looking.

"Lady Pharoh."

I jumped.

A voice I didn't recognize whispered next to my ear. I turned to see a very attractive Thor looking back at me. I didn't recognize him, but he was talking to me and I was very okay with that.

"Hello, Thor," I replied cooly, though I could feel how red my cheeks were. "What are you doing in this part of Midgard?"

Thor gave me an approving smile.

"The lady knows her realms."

I was really hoping this Thor hadn't been a jock in high school. Part of me was hoping he was just a really buff nerd.

I didn't recognize him from around my small campus, I knew I would have recognized him if he was in any of my classes. So maybe someone had invited him... But then, I didn't recognize most of the party-goers faces.

Hopefully, he's a nerd. I could get along with a nerd.

"To answer your question, I am chasing after Loki. He's somewhere at this party, I believe, and he will answer for his crimes. But he could be disguised as anyone." He said, looking around. Though I doubted he was actually looking for a Loki.

"And what brings you here?" He asked.

I felt my throat tighten. Small talk was hard for me.

Say something, say anything.

"I am taking a break from my kingdom for the evening." I started. "After all, it is a special occasion."

I had been to comic-con a few times, I knew how to put on a character and roll with it, sometimes.

"Indeed it is," Thor smiled back, finishing off what remained of his punch and throwing the cup down with more force than necessary.

"What would you say to accompanying me on my quest this evening?" He looked down at me with solid blue eyes, and I could feel myself melting.

In sleep he sang to me

In dreams he came

That voice which calls to me and speaks my name

"Um, yes." I blurted. He cracked a smile.

I composed myself the best I could, embarrassment flooding my senses. "What I meant to say was, I will gladly accompany you... on your quest."

Thor held out his arm, and I took it.

We walked the house arm in arm, pointing out which characters were definitely not Loki, and which ones probably were. He told me of the Nine Realms, and I pretended to know facts about Egypt.

We were hitting it off really well. I was pretty sure someone had spiked the punch bowl because I wasn't typically this friendly with people I just met.

Also because when he kissed me, I definitely kissed him back.

With a taste of your lips, I'm on a ride

You're toxic, I'm slippin' under

With a taste of a poison paradise

I never did things like this, making out with strangers at parties. But there I was, kissing Thor in a stranger's bathroom.

Things started to heat up, and the bathroom wasn't exactly roomy. I pulled away and took his hand, pulling him behind me to find somewhere we could be alone.

We stumbled into the den only to find a group watching Disturbia, that freaky suspense film starring Shia Labeouf, on the projector.

It's like the darkness is the light

Disturbia

Am I scaring you tonight?

Smoke burned my lungs. Why are people smoking in here? What are they smoking in here? I thought.

Thor suggested trying upstairs instead. We stopped back by the punch bowl, as far as I remember, and then made our way up what seemed like three flights of stairs.

Every. Room. Was. Full.

I felt frustrated, and tired, and very in the mood all at the same time.

We headed back downstairs.

Clearly, nothing was going to happen with Thor, and my head felt so fuzzy that I was mostly glad that it hadn't. I tripped on the last step, which flung me flat onto my face and into the middle of the living room.

I looked up in time to see a dancing mob of monsters about to trample me.

Zombies filled the room, zigging and zagging and clapping.

'Cause this is thriller, thriller night

And no one's gonna save you from the beast about to strike

You know it's thriller, thriller night

You're fighting for your life inside a killer thriller tonight, yeah

It was all getting to be too much.

As Thor helped me to my feet, I heard someone call me.

"Kate?"

Now that voice I recognized, even in my drunken haze.

I looked up to see my friend Maxine, dressed in her full-on Black Widow bodysuit and bright red wig. She ran over to help.

"Are you okay, M'lady?" Thor asked me.

"Wow," Maxine said, looking Thor up and down. She put her arm around my waist, keeping me upright. "Nice job." she whispered to me.

"Thank you for your help, Natasha." Thor regarded Maxine. "Lady Cleopatra, do you want my help getting home?"

"You are deep in it, man." Maxine said to Thor. "And no thank you, I'll take her home."

"Guys, I feel like I'm gonna hurl." I held my mouth, really hoping I could keep it down till I got home.

We reached the front door, and then I felt something tap me on the shoulder.

It was Thor, holding out Mjolnir.

"Take this before you go," he said. "you might need it."

My mind was so fuzzy, I couldn't understand why he thought I needed his plastic replica hammer. "Thank you," I said back, taking it from him.

He nodded.

"Drive safely." Thor waved and went back to the party.

I looked over the hammer and noticed something written in sharpie on the underside. "Max, Thor gave me his phone number!"

"Your first college party, and you not only met Thor, but you also got his hammer." Maxine laughed and shook her head.

The jack-o-lanterns lit the path back to the cars, and as the cool air caressed my skin, I couldn't help but think that the night actually had been pretty perfect after all.

The End.

With a hip-hip and a clippity-clop

He's out lookin' for a top to chop

So don't stop to figure out a plan

You can't reason with a headless man

Listen to my Halloween Playlist for this post below!

________________________________

What to read next:

Thank you for reading! If you liked this story, feel free to click the heart button or leave a tip. You can find more articles from me here on my Vocal profile.

-Leah H.

playlist
6

About the Creator

Leah Harris

Writer, blogger and artist. Inspirations for writing are Markus Zusak and Tyler Knott Gregson. Follow me on Instagram! @LeahNaturally

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.