Beat logo

The Healing Power of Music

How music help you through life.

By Agnes LaurensPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
Like
The Healing Power of Music
Photo by Matt Botsford on Unsplash

I was about five years old when I started playing the cello. I exchanged this instrument for the violin at the age of seven. I still play the violin. I still love to play the violin.

Yesterday was the day of my life: I filled in the application to do an audition for the conservatory. I am thrilled, I am excited, I am beyond happy I did this. I never thought I would do, but with the kindness of a family friend, who supported me from A-Z, I filled in and I will see how far I'd come.

Since a young age, I love playing the violin. When I stood on stage for the first time, I remember that I had lots of fear. I didn't want to go on stage, but my teacher stimulated me positively to go and play. Looking into the eyes of the audience, I realized how much I love standing on stage, how much I love making other people happy and giving them the joy of listening to music, no matter what level of music they hear.

During the years of making music, with and without others, I, even more, enjoyed making other people happy with the little help of music. The moment you step onto the stage, the sparkle in the eyes and on the face of the audience is precious. Not only on stage.

The moment I practised the violin, my daughters were always dancing to my music. Their dance and their joy made me a happy mom. They enjoyed me playing the violin, and this made me realize that just a simple melody made them happy.

Last year, I realized that I still want to go to the conservatory, making other people happy with my music.

Application conservatory

So, my first step into making people happy with my music is filling in the application to enter the conservatory. If I will be accepted as a student, then I will be taught how to teach others how to play the violin and enjoy music.

Last year, I wrote my goals and resolutions already, but since applying for the audition of the conservatory, I needed to rethink my goals and resolutions again.

I believe I have done a really good job to refine my goals and resolutions, but also, I have thought about expanding my goals and having brighter horizons in that. I want to achieve a lot in the classical music industry.

Share my music experiences with my children

I have done so many musical things in my life as a violinist. I want to share these moments - precious moments of mine - with my children, so they how much fun and joy I got when making music.

My children play an instrument as well, and they have fun too. Two of them plays in an orchestra already, and they both have fun and joy playing together with other musicians.

Writing about music

As a writer, I have the privilege to say about the industry what I have experienced myself, what lessons I have learned, the stories I told and warn others - on the (same) industry - what they might do better!

Writing about classical music gives me the freedom to experience the industry in a different way, reflect on my experiences. What can I do better? What lessons did I learn?

Also, I wasn't to educate others about the music industry. Writing is one form of telling stories, sharing experiences, and sharing facts about how the music industry has developed during millions of years of its existence.

Educate kids and adults about music in person

Educating children and adults about the music industry - no matter which one - is important. They need to know how the showbiz, classical music industry, and other music industries work.

When others know about the industry, the work ethic and their team efforts, then they know whether to do something about it or leave the industry, know what to expect and think about whether or not to go for it.

On the other hand, when you are not in the industry, then you don't know what to expect.

Give concerts for others

Since a young age, I have played for lots of audiences. When I started playing in The Youth Orchestra of The Netherlands (one of the best of The Netherlands for the youth), I also have played in diverse concert halls where all the grand soloists play during their career.

When I play the violin, play with others, listening to music - no matter the genre - I have a sort of peace feeling in my whole body. To me, it feels like something slides off the shoulders immediately. It feels calm.

The healing power of music

There is something that feels amazing, something great when I listen to music> There is something changing in my system when I play the violin. I feel free, I feel at peace with my whole body and system.

====================================================

The Vocal Challenge:

====================================================

Other music-related stories:

====================================================

About the writer

Agnes Laurens is a writer. She writes for the local newspaper. Agnes lives in The Netherlands, with her husband and three daughters. You can find her on Vocal, Medium, Elephant Journal, HubPages, Music List. Writing is — aside from playing the violin — one of her passions since childhood. She is on Twitter and Instagram. You can subscribe to my mailing list, and you can subscribe to my Thoughts. Check out her books. She has an online web store, and she has a merchandise store. If you want to be informed about my online store and my merch, please follow this link.

classical
Like

About the Creator

Agnes Laurens

Agnes Laurens is a writer. She writes for the local newspaper. Agnes lives with her daughters. Writing is, like playing the violin, her passion. She writes about anything that crosses her mind. Follow her on Medium.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.