Beat logo

The experience of a quarter-finalist at The Voice

...and what got me there

By Delia DigitalPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
1

I think it was a May day and I had just got back from my semester abroad in Chicago. Back then I was a student at the Business&Economics University in Vienna - my mom and I thought it'd be a good idea to go there since I'd been learning German from a very young age (5 or 6 to be precise). This is irrelevant to the actual story but you need to understand what my situation was and what I was putting on hold.

I had come back to Vienna for a month before summer holidays, when I'd go back home to Romania. I'd always go back in the summer, because my parents have a house by the sea. Little did I know I wasn't going to spend much time by the water that year.

I turn on my laptop and amongst oder Facebook posts and ads, I see one for The Voice of Romania - online sign ups are now open. What? I'd dreamed about this since I was a kid and was recording over bedtime story cassettes, making beats on furniture on singing in Spanish (please tell me at least some of you'd do the same?). I click on that link and sign up. My friend who I was living with at the time kept encouraging me, because she knew how important that would be for me (and of course, she wanted to be friends with someone who'd been on TV, duh!).

It was now late June and I had been called in to audition. God damn. I eventually told my parents and it's safe to say they were very supportive (my dad used to be a drummer in a rock band). Dad drove me to Bucharest to audition at this hotel - they had given me all information in an email. I get there and there's queues outside, other people practising and doing very loud LALALA's to warm up - anxiety. What am I even doing here? "Calm down, you got this" dad said. We sat down in the waiting room and then 7 hours later (yes, you had to wait THAT long) I hear my name. I'd prepared a list of 10 songs as they requested but to be honest I could only master the top 3 - it was a song by Alicia Keys that I'd sang since always, Sam Cooke and Adele. What was I thinking? Going to audition with some of the hardest songs to sing of all times?! I was meant to go through 2 auditions but I eventually only did one. Sang, got out of the room, and back in again 10 minutes later. "You'll be singing Alicia Keys - If I ain't got you. See you at the blind auditions." WHAT? WHAT? WHAT?

Ok, get over yourself. I'm going to be on TV and I need to smash it. Got myself a little black dress to show my curvy figure and practiced the sh*t out of that song until the big day came. Big day comes and I'm sitting in the waiting room (yet again for some good hours) with my family by my side. Hours go by and I hear my name (yet again). I'm backstage. I'm by the door. I'm ready to go in. I hear them say "3..2..1..GO! You're up!". Sh*t. I stand there on a dark stage, all lights on my and can barely see anything. I kind of see the crowd, but my heart's beating so fast I can barely focus. Close your eyes, Delia, close your eyes. I close my eyes because I don't want to see the back of those 4 chairs, and I start singing. I sing. Halfway through the song and there's no chairs turning around. I'm almost at the final note now... and BAM FIRST CHAIR TURNS. BAM SECOND ONE BEFORE I FINISH. There was it. I had turned 2 chairs. I was in. I was going to be on The Voice. God damn. I made it.

Please follow, like and share this story if you'd like to hear what came after! I got some really good stories from the battles, and the two live shows, I promise...

humanity
1

About the Creator

Delia Digital

Digital creator by day, artist by night.

I come from a culture that’s only known to few. I broke traditions amd stepped outside my comfort zone to discover myself and the world. Get creative with me.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.