Beat logo

The Darker Side of Halloween Music

By Dandy J. West

By Gene LassPublished 3 years ago 6 min read
1

Several years ago, I co-wrote and edited articles for a horror blog called "So Good It's Scary," with my colleague Dandy J. West. We're both fans of all things horror, but she's younger than I am, with slightly different tastes, so we often have different perspectives on things. With that in mind, I asked her to come up with a Halloween playlist of her own, as it was likely to be darker, moodier, and fresher than mine (see "31 Songs of Halloween"). So she did, and it is. Dandy's commentary and playlist follows, with sporadic comments by me in italics.

Create a “Darker Side of All Hallows Eve” playlist, they said. “It’ll be easy for you,” they said. Thanks, Gene. This project was fun. Your commentary on these will be a merry addition. Thank you, all the same for letting me put this together.

As I have been partaking in a lot of 80s heavy metal as of late, having to go back to some of my roots of yesteryear with goth music made me come up blank with options. I realized that back when I thought I was this little witchy goth bad ass, I listened to some very weird stuff that I don’t even want to talk about. Stuff I wouldn’t even listen to now and certainly wouldn’t inflict upon you. Luckily, as time wore on, my musical tastes may not have gotten better, but have certainly broadened. Nonetheless, I was asked for a dark list. I am here to provide just that.

I came back to the present, well, back to what I’ve been currently listening to. I listed bands that are more familiar to some, music that is readily available and not found on some obscure mixed CD from back when people were downloading random music off Napster. I won’t lie; this list is very basic, however, with most of these artists, you can pick a few songs from their catalogue to pad out your Halloween playlist. Even now as I type this introduction, I’m looking back and altering the list with better songs. However, boils and ghouls, I hope this list will get you started and pointed in the right direction. Happy Haunting!

1. "She’s a Ghost"-The Other

Headbanging and dancing all rolled into one. Let’s DO this!

Very good way to start off!

2. "Halloween"-King Diamond

The baristas at Starbucks love when I blare this in the drive thru.

King Diamond is one of the greats of metal, and the track is perfect for the season.

3. "All Hallows Eve"- Type O Negative

​Type O Negative has a long list of fantastic tunes for this time of year, but if you don’t enjoy them all year ‘round, can you even call yourself a “goth?”

Agreed. Type O Negative channels the fun and disturbing at a level goths feed upon.

4. "Living Dead Girl"- Rob Zombie

A very stereotypical pick, but you can’t go wrong with anything by White Zombie/Rob Zombie.

Absolutely. As I said in my list, which has this song and "Dragula", you could just play all Rob Zombie for a Halloween part and do just fine, but for a real play list you need variety.

5. "Dance Macabre"- Ghost

Way more poppy sound than they look, but catchy, dark and danceable!

As a guy I have little interest in dancing, but as someone hosting a party where preferably there would be girls, who almost always want to dance, danceability is important. You want the sexy goth girls shaking it.

6. Come to the Sabbath- Mercyful Fate

Metal

7. "Halloween"- Helloween

More metal

I think the last time I saw something by them I was in a metal band myself. Can't deny this track being great for a party.

8. "Am I Evil?" - Diamond Head

We’ll keep going with metal…because you’re evil.

9. "Bela Lugosi’s Dead"-Bauhaus

A very typical choice, but a given. This one must exist on your playlist. If you’re tired of Bauhaus, CHVRCHES does an awesome cover of this song.

Anyone tired of Bauhaus should not be reading an article about dark Halloween anything. They should go watch the Charlie Brown special and light their pumpkin spice candle from Dollar Tree.

10. "Vampire Heart"-HIM

Every Bam Margera fan’s boner band.

11. "Cold"-Static-X

Watch the video. Vampire goodness! R.I.P. Wayne Static!

12. "If I was Your Vampire"-Marilyn Manson

He may not be at the top of everyone’s list right now with recent allegations, but you can’t deny the man has made a lot of great music. Take your pick of tunes. This one is a personal favorite. “Sweet Dreams” would be another.

Yes, Marilyn is as creepy as they get. He may have personal issues, but his music stands on its own. I felt the same when putting a Woody Allen film, "Sleeper," on my list of dystopian films ("Hail Dystopia!"). It's a great film. Roman Polanski has also done great films. Watch the film or listen to the music, don't have them over for dinner.

13. "Bark at the Moon"-Ozzy Osbourne

The Prince of Darkness. Need I say More?

He also needs to be on every Halloween play list, and it's a good choice.

14. "Feed My Frankenstein"-Alice Cooper

Much Like Ozzy, are we really questioning Mr. Cooper’s place on this list?

Hell no. I forgot about this one or I would have had it on my list.

15. "Don’t Fear the Reaper"-Blue Oyster Cult

A sleepy, but sort of erotic dark tune. Another classic for any playlist.

16. "Every Day is Halloween"-Ministry

Didn’t give me the rough and tumble sound I was looking for, but how could you not?

17. "Sympathy for the Devil"-The Rolling Stones

Not quite dark and goth, but still a great tune. Worth the mention.

It's a great song for Halloween, a great rock song with an excellent guitar solo at the end, the bongos are good to dance to, and it's an excellent party song that typically makes people cheer when they hear it come on. Can't miss.

18. "Night Crawler"-Judas Priest

Leather daddies unite!!

19. "Monster Mash"- The Misfits

Come on, don’t play with me. The Misfits are fun!

The Misfits are outstanding, and the way they do this one is a blast.

20. "Dead Man’s Party"-Oingo Boingo

Another song that’s not quite dark, but it’s fun. So fun.

21. "Shout at the Devil"-Motley Crue

​I didn’t lie that I’ve been in a rabbit hole of 80’s heavy metal as you will see with the next few selections. Don’t hate! I am old, after all.

22. "The Number of the Beast"-Iron Maiden

23. "Runnin’ with the Devil- Van Halen

Very nice. This is the song that's keeps you still moving while you're going to get a drink, feeling like Diamond Dave is your soul brother.

24. "Hellraiser"-Motorhead

25. "We Belong Dead"- Slash

26. "Surfin’ Dead"- The Cramps

We can’t be friends if you haven’t seen “Return of the Living Dead.”

Seen 1-3. Have 1 and 2 on VHS and DVD. The Cramps in general and this song in particular make for great party music.

27. "Halloween"- Siouxsie and the Banshees

​Get your eighties goth fix here.

Fun fact: If you cut Siouxsie Sioux it bleeds the most beautiful shade of black, and the blood droplets turn into bats.

28. "Gonna Raise Hell"- Cheap Trick

29. "Witches"- Switchblade Symphony

Take me back to nights at the local goth club, the smell of clove cigarettes thick in the air.

30." The Killing Moon"- Echo and the Bunnymen

Not sure why I chose this one, but it works.

You chose this one because it's awesome. Moody, spooky, and romantic. I play this song at least once a week, sometimes twice in a row.

31." This is Halloween" - Danny Elfman

This one is a cop-out, but for any ghoulie out there, this song is a must. If you don’t like the original, there are several covers available.

After I did my list I kicked myself for not including this song or "What's This?", also from the "Nightmare Before Christmas" soundtrack. Lots of good songs on there, and as you said, there are covers. There's an entire tribute/cover album of bands doing songs from the soundtrack.

list
1

About the Creator

Gene Lass

Gene Lass is a professional writer, writing and editing numerous books of non-fiction, poetry, and fiction. Several have been Top 100 Amazon Best Sellers. His short story, “Fence Sitter” was nominated for Best of the Net 2020.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.