Beat logo

The Break-Up

"Train In Vain" By The Clash Is a Brilliant Break-Up Song

By Mike Singleton - MikeydredPublished about a year ago 4 min read
8
Preliminary Sketch by Ray Lowry from 1979 for The clash Album "London Calling"

Introduction

The cover image was borrowed from this site

It's now 2023, and this is my first post of 2023, and I decided to pick a first album to play this year and chose "London Calling", the Clash's signature album which is full of incredible songs covering many styles complete with the Elvis Presley influenced typography on the cover of the album.

Compare the Elvis Presley album.

Train In Vain by The Clash

If I remember rightly, this was a hidden track on the original release of the album which I bought for £3.50 from WH Smiths in Liverpool when I worked there for Littlewoods. When I heard it I fell in love with the heartbreak of the lyrics, and this was by a major punk band, although The Clash were always more than punk, yes they were anti-establishment, but pro the ones that the establishment attacked. They were very political and in Joe Strummer and Mick Jones had two second-to-none songwriters and frontmen (though we lost Strummer twenty years ago in 2002, Jones is still with us and producing some amazing music which I will share with you in a Mick Jones feature sometime soon).

First of all, I thought I would share the complete lyrics with you and then go on to talk about them.

💿 📀💿 📀💿 📀💿 📀💿 📀

Songwriters: Topper Headon / Mick Jones / Paul Simonon / Joe Strummer

💿 📀

Say you stand by your man

Tell me something I don't understand

You said you love me and that's a fact

And then you left me, said you felt trapped

Well, some things you can explain away

But my heartache's in me 'til this day

You didn't stand by me

No, not at all

You didn't stand by me

No way

💿 📀

All the times when we were close

I'll remember these things the most

I see all my dreams come tumbling down

I can't be happy without you around

So alone I keep the wolves at bay

And there's only one thing that I can say

You didn't stand by me

No, not at all

You didn't stand by me

No way

💿 📀

You must explain why this must be

Did you lie when you spoke to me?

Did you stand by me?

No, not at all

💿 📀

Now I got a job, but it don't pay

I need new clothes, I need somewhere to stay

But without all these things I can do

But without your love, I won't make it through

But you don't understand my point of view

I suppose there's nothing I can do

You didn't stand by me

No, not at all

You didn't stand by me

No way

You didn't stand by me

No, not at all

You didn't stand by me

No way

💿 📀

You must explain why this must be

Did you lie when you spoke to me?

Did you stand by me?

Did you stand by me?

No, not at all

Did you stand by me?

No way

Did you stand by me?

No, not at all

Did you stand by me?

No way

💿 📀💿 📀💿 📀💿 📀💿 📀

This is a song for any break-up, either lovers or friends or both. There is no reason given for the break-up and the party left behind feels cut adrift, not knowing what has happened and trying to move forward but every day they are still in that situation.

I recently read a meme that said "If you want someone to never forget you, wound them" and these lines really hit me when I first heard them in the eighties when a got the album and still ring true today.

You said you love me and that's a fact

And then you left me, said you felt trapped

Well, some things you can explain away

But my heartache's in me 'til this day

Conclusion

This is a stunning song, I sang it live twice, and it comes from an incredible album. Take a couple of minutes to read the lyrics and listen to the song. It may resonate with you as much as it does with me.

pop culturesong reviewsbandsalbum reviews80s music70s music
8

About the Creator

Mike Singleton - Mikeydred

Weaver of Tales, Poems, Music & Love

7(1.2m) ֎ Fb ֎ Px ֎ Pn ֎

X ֎ In ֎ YT (0.2m) ֎ T

Vocal Tips

Creationati

Call Me LesGina HeatherCaroline

BabsROCKDharCathyJudey

DaphsamMisty MelissaMa Coombs

Celia

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  1. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  5. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • Alex H Mittelman about a year ago

    I hate breakups! Well written!

  • Heather Hublerabout a year ago

    I've never taken the time to simply see these lyrics written down (I'm very visual) and they make so much of an impact. Lovely write up about a great song :)

  • Veronica Coldironabout a year ago

    I have to say that this song captures the anguish of unrequited love. The repeat of "No, not at all", "no way" demonstrates the way we emotionally revisit the feeling when someone leaves us without warning and for seemingly no reason. We were 100% vested in something we later find wasn't real. This song was masterfully written and thank you for this!

  • Novel Allenabout a year ago

    Thanks for the songs, kind of new to me, I will certainly check it out.

  • This comment has been deleted

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.