Beat logo

The Best, Rockin' Workout Playlist

Get ready to sweat with explicit content

By Sara ✨Published 3 years ago 5 min read
2

You’ve got everything you need for a perfect gym sesh: comfortable, supportive floor mat or shoes (and possibly bra), weather- and sweat-appropriate clothing, hydration preparation, and — arguably the most important component of all — a killer playlist of motivating music.

Some people groove to oldies when they’re working out, using that funky disco beat to get them into the rhythm.

Others might be more inclined towards a gentle country twang, keeping their jogging stride comfortable with a selection of songs close to 110 beats per minute.

Personally, I’ve always been more of a rock and heavy metal kind of girl.

There’s something to be said about the way the bass pounds along with your heart and the guitar strikes its rhythm into your very veins. If you’ve ever been to a concert, you definitely know what I’m talking about. And what is the soundtrack to your workout other than your very own private concert?

A good intro will immediately set the tone for your experience. You know you’ve got a good song starting up within the first 5-10 seconds.

Whether it’s “Shut Me Up” by Mindless Self Indulgence, or the unmistakable bass line and crashing of the cymbals in Chevelle’s “The Red,” you can be sure that you’re getting into something good on this rockin’ workout playlist, ready to set you up for success in the gym or on the trail.

I’ve tried to include some of the best and well-known such as Disturbed and Marilyn Manson, and crowd-pleasers like The Offspring and Rob Zombie. PLUS -- a few favorites from the Emo side of things (say hello to Thrice and Senses Fail; I definitely slipped a few of those in there).

But there are also bands you might not know at all, like Beartooth and We Were Giants, and some of the up-and-comers such as Nothing More and I Prevail.

The most amusing part of this list of music is that rock bands love to cover pop songs.

I honestly don’t know of a better way to listen to Taylor Swift than with heavy bass and a double pedal on the drums, so I’ve included some of the best Pop Goes Punk covers for a surprising twist.

The best kind of rockin’ workout playlist is one with a large number of great songs, so it can always be your go-to as you hit those recommended 150 minutes of moderate exercise throughout the week. You want to be able to flip through the list easily for fresh material while still feeling inspired by a few solid favorites.

With all the above-mentioned names and many, many more, over 100 songs and more than 6 hours of listening time -- this playlist is ready to have your back.

“Music’s the only thing that makes sense anymore, man. Play it loud enough, it keeps the demons at bay.”

(Across the Universe)

Research has even suggested that rock and heavy metal might help listeners cope with uncomfortable or negative feelings. What’s more uncomfortable than pushing your limits for one more mile or one last rep?

Now, hear me out. I know that not everyone is a fan of the genre. According to a CBS News Poll done in 2018, rock only made up 18% of the survey’s responses (with country taking the lead at 21%). And a lot of people still think that aggressive or “extreme” music creates aggressive and extreme listeners.

But is that really the case?

For example, one study conducted in Queensland, Australia in 2015 indicates that “[l]istening to extreme music may represent a healthy way of processing anger,” and that “extreme music did not make angry participants angrier; rather, it appeared to match their physiological arousal and result in an increase in positive emotions.”

In my own life, metal and rock is the most therapeutic music I can listen to.

Nothing helps me purge negative emotions like anger, frustration, hurt, and depression quite like raging to Marilyn Manson and Slipknot can.

Korn and Disturbed were there for me in my early teens when my friends started deciding they didn’t want me to be part of the group anymore.

The Classic Crime and Thrice helped me through heartbreak, and A Day to Remember and I Prevail helped me grow my self-esteem.

Granted, a lot of these bands enriched my life because attending their live concerts; but I relive each of those amazing events every time I start a song on my iPhone.

We all know the amazing benefits of exercise as it relates to mental health, such as reducing levels of stress, depression, and anxiety. It just makes sense to pair those feel-good endorphins with the further negativity-busting powers of hard rock and metal music.

I’ve put together one incredible playlist of some of the most inspirationally heavy music you should be listening to in order to truly fuel that sweaty run, swim, or lifting session.

In addition to a large selection, you want the perfect playlist to be well-rounded; varying tempos, differences in style and composition, inclusion of female artists (yes, women can seriously rock also). Without enough variety, any playlist can get a little boring after a while, especially when it’s made up of only one genre.

That’s why this rockin’ workout playlist has something for everyone.

Get ready to feel pushed past your breaking point, yet supported by the people who know misery and anguish best.

Subscribe to this Spotify playlist now, and just hit shuffle when you’re ready to get your blood pumping and sweat beading — it’s sure to power you through all the way to cool down.

playlist
2

About the Creator

Sara ✨

life. love. first-time motherhood. mental wellness.

I copy/paste a lot of my stories from journal entries that I write into my phone when I can’t sleep.

If you like me or my writing —

please like, subscribe to, or tip my posts. <3

xo

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.