Beat logo

The Angel Music

Songs of 1972

By Maureen Kellar-KirbyPublished 5 months ago 3 min read
Like
The Angel Music
Photo by Tadas Mikuckis on Unsplash

Merry Christmas friends and may there be peace on Earth in 2024. A song is the exclamation from the depths of the heart and the singing of the angels is the jubilation of Heaven.

In 1972 I had been repeating The Lord's Prayer daily. This prayer always fascinated me to the extent that I had memorized it in Latin and written my own version of it. It had become a daily meditation that I'd grown to love. Little did I realize the power of this prayer although in reading the books of the well known psychic Edgar Cayce I remembered him saying that this prayer could open the chakras and create a direct channel to God. I was the only kid on the block who could recite it fluently in Latin. I was not sure why this was so as I wasn't raised Roman Catholic. Still, I clung to it fiercely, carrying the Latin version of it in my pocket.

One day I sat down at my grandmother's old piano and the lyrics and melodies to three unusual songs poured forth spontaneously. I did not know what I was playing, neither did I know the chords but I memorized the songs by playing them over and over again and tape recording them.

When I first listened carefully to the lyrics after playing back these tape recorded songs I wondered if I might have possibly channelled the music of the angels. The messages were inspiring and reminded me of eternal truths - "gotta love your brother - that's the only way to get back home now." I was amazed to hear direct quotes from the Bible on "Brothers Join Hands" in which we are advised to remember that "Every man shall bear his own buden, be not deceived. God is not mocked for whatsoever a man soweth, that shall he also reap."

"Brothers join hands, all those who wish to free the Universal Spirit from you and me" and "all the Heavens shall celebrate on that fine day when we gather together just to pray. How could I know that the Heavens would celebrate when the Universal Spirit was freed? This would seem to indicate that we are actually all one, regardless of whether we would admit it or not.

In "Sailin' on Love's Ocean" "Rest yea little children we're going Home now - seems that we've been lost somewhere along the way and just opened up our eyes, opened up our eyes today." Could we all admit that we had lost our way and were actually foreigners in a strange land here? I think I could agree to that.

In "Somewhere There's a Rainbow" "He whispered in my ear just the other day and He told me, He told me a wonderful thing. He said, I'm waiting for all of my long lost children and now musician I would have you sing." What a responsibility this message would be for me to convey - that the Lord Himself missed us and He would have me sing this to let everyone know!

I puzzled over these lyrics for quite some time and still I did not feel that they were my own. At one point I sent the songs off to a professional musician to have the lead sheets prepared so that others might be able to play these songs although I myself might not be able to play them from written music. My skills were limited in this regard. I was moe of a "play it by ear" type of musician.

In 1973 I made the acquaintance of and was miraculously invited to the studio of the now famous music producer Daniel Lanois who had started Master Sound Recording Studio in the basement of his mother's home and later became the producer of the rock band U2. He offered to record these songs for me, not knowing the story behind them and I still have the original reel to reel tapes tucked away safely.

These recordings are the original one take recordings which were recorded once with only myself on vocals and piano. Listen to them and make your own conclusions.

They are freely available on SoundCloud and you may listen to them anytime you wish. Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year.

1. soundcloud.com/maureen-kellar-kirby/somewhere-theres-a rainbow-1

2. soundcloud.com/maureen-kellar-kirby/brothers-join-hands

3. soundcloud.com/maureen-kellar-kirby/sailin-on-loves-ocean

70s musicHumanity
Like

About the Creator

Maureen Kellar-Kirby

Maureen Kellar-Kirby, author of "Go Back Jack" and "The Leprechaun Who Was Not a Mouse" - Total Recall Press - movie scripts "Go Back Jack", "Jimi's Last Poem" and "Idiot House" with music soundtracks. https://www.maureenkellar.com.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.