Beat logo

Texxx-Man Cosplay’s Quarantine Playlist

Songs to get me through these difficult times

By Mark Wesley PritchardPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like

Are you bored and have nothing to do? Are you feeling lonely, depressed, and unable to hang out with your friends? If you have answered yes to both of these questions, I have the perfect solution to ease your loneliness. As you have already noticed, the coronavirus pandemic has already taken a toll on millions of people who have lost their jobs, being separated from the people that they love, not working at the moment, or all of the above. There has been a dramatic spike in calls to mental health and suicide prevention hotlines since this outbreak began. Believe me. I’m currently going through the same issues as those suffering from mental illness. The nonstop news coverage of the coronavirus pandemic has taken a toll on me mentally and probably for others as well.

Self isolation may be the smartest way to protect yourself from those who might have COVID-19. However, it can have negative and unfortunately, tragic results. For example, a 34-year-old man in the UK named Daniel Furniss took his own life earlier this month due to loneliness and the country’s social distancing measures.

Health experts constantly remind us to stay six feet apart from others, but they’re not addressing the negative effects of people having to social distance themselves from others and to be isolated from the ones that they love. That’s the one thing that I wish they would acknowledge. I don’t want anyone to lose their own lives, especially to the point where people start to harm themselves. According to the World Health Organization (WHO), one million people die from suicide. That’s one death every 40 seconds. It’s important that in these difficult times, we have to take care of not only our physical health, but also our mental health.

Whenever I’m feeing alone or sad, I listen to music. I have my headphones on and listen to songs on Pandora. Some songs make me feel excited, while others make me feel sad. Below is my quarantine playlist, which includes some of my favorite songs. From heartbreak to upbeat, I put a lot of thought into this list. I listen to just about anything, but it solely depends on my mood.

Somewhere I Belong-Linkin Park

Feels So Good-Sonique

Wake Me Up Before You Go-Go- Wham!

Levels- Avicii

Flight-Tristam & Braken

Remember The Name- Fort Minor

Square Biz-Teena Marie

Get Down On It-Kool & The Gang

Jump- Kriss Kross

New Kid In Town-The Eagles

Don’t Stop Me Now- Queen

I Just Called To Say I Love You-Stevie Wonder

Dre Day-Dr. Dre

Show Me Love- Robin S.

If you’re feeling lonely or having suicidal thoughts, I’ll post some hotline numbers below this article. It’s okay to not be okay. It’s okay to cry and pour out your emotions. It’s okay to ask for help. You’re not alone in this and there’s always a light at the end of the tunnel. This is coming from a guy who has been diagnosed with mental illness for almost 10 years, so I can definitely speak from experience and understand how you’re feeling. I have an open door policy, where you can always reach out to me on my social media pages if you ever need to talk or need a friend. I’ll be that person for you.

Be sure to follow me on social media. The info to all of my social media pages can be found in my bio. If you enjoyed any of my articles, including this one, please feel free to send me a one-off tip, which is located at the end of every article. No tip is ever too big or small. It'll help me and other Vocal content creators to write better stories. Also, I encourage everyone to join Vocal+, a premium membership for Vocal content creators like me to write better stories, connect with creators, and a lot more. So be sure to sign up for that membership and support your favorite Vocal content creators.

Suicide Prevention Lifeline:

1-800-273-TALK (8255)

SAMHSA's National Helpline:

1-800-662-HELP (4357)

The Trevor Project:

1-866-488-7386

playlist
Like

About the Creator

Mark Wesley Pritchard

Award-winning cosplayer, cosplay model, influencer, retro gaming fanatic, die-hard Texas Rangers fan, and nostalgic freak. Need I say more?

Threads: @thecosplayerfromtexas

Instagram: @thecosplayerfromtexas

TikTok: @thecosplayerfromtexas

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.