Beat logo

Ten Books About Michael Jackson

b. 29th August, 1958 - d. 25th June, 2009

By Annie KapurPublished 4 years ago • 4 min read
2

I'm not going to lie when I say that the death of Michael Jackson was, to this day, one of the worst days of my life. I remember exactly what happened that day and it went a bit like this...

I live in England and so, I would wake up to the news that Michael Jackson had passed away. It was the holidays from school and I was therefore, awake before hours and my cousin had come over to stay from India. We would play computer games in my room and play music really loudly - a lot of the music was by Michael Jackson. I had pretty much grown up on Michael Jackson and owned many of his 'short films' (music videos) on DVD and Video tape. These included but aren't limited to: 'Thriller' and the 'Dangerous' Album short films.

My elder brother knocked on my door and came into my room where my cousin, at the time, was standing near the window and I was sitting on my bed. My brother sat beside me looking rather worried and then, he showed me a photo of the headline from the television he was watching the night before. He told me that nobody wanted to wake me but I'm not going to lie when I said I laughed. I thought it was a joke. I thought my brother was playing a horrible trick on me. I needed a second opinion and so, I switched on my radio.

On my radio, this was all they were talking about. Each radio show in turn played "You Are Not Alone" over and over again. Every single station was talking about the death of Michael Jackson - and so, I had my second opinion. I got up. I opened the door to my bathroom. I started crying. And then I ran into the bathroom and started violently vomiting for over half an hour. I remained crying for the rest of the day. I don't think I could even eat or sleep properly in a while. I looked like someone had just killed my best friend. It was one of the most horrible feelings in the world.

Then, in the coming days, his memorial service was held on TV. I started crying then as well. It was a family event. We all gathered around to watch it. Everyone. Even my cousin. We were all upset, we were all confused. And to think of it this way, I was going to see "This Is It" as well. I had just lost the first artist that I had ever really appreciated. He was an incredible human being and the world had just lost him. It was a dark, dark few weeks and I just remember every single person I knew being really sad about it. It was a day of universal mourning. My father compared it to the death of Elvis Presley. I can imagine it was roughly the same. A day of mourning in which nobody really feels like they can ever be happy again. Nobody really knows what to say or do because the world has just lost one of its greatest artists and entertainers.

What we're going to see here is my top ten books about Michael Jackson that I share with you on the anniversary of his death.

10. The King of Style: Dressing Michael Jackson by Michael Bush

9. Michael Jackson's Dangerous (33 1/3 Record Series) by Susan Fast

8. Michael Jackson: All the Songs - The Story Behind Every Track by Richard Lecocq

7. Michael Jackson: Legend, Hero, Icon by Aldis James

6. You Are Not Alone by Jermaine Jackson

5. Remembering the Time: Protecting Michael Jackson in His Final Days by Bill Whitfield

4. Michael Jackson: The Magic, The Madness, The Whole Story by J Randy Taraborrelli

3. Man in the Music: The Creative Life and Work of Michael Jackson by Joseph Vogel

2. Moonwalk by Michael Jackson

1. Dancing the Dream by Michael Jackson

On this day, we make sure that we remember that a great entertainer and an amazing human being passed away and is now in Heaven, rocking out with the other great musicians who have too, been lost too young. Like Elvis, Jimi Hendrix and Freddie Mercury.

book reviews
2

About the Creator

Annie Kapur

200K+ Reads on Vocal.

English Lecturer

🎓Literature & Writing (B.A)

🎓Film & Writing (M.A)

🎓Secondary English Education (PgDipEd) (QTS)

đź“ŤBirmingham, UK

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.