Beat logo

Symphony of the Soul

Behind The Beat Challenge

By Cara Simone SparksPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
3

It had been the worst day of my life. It seemed no one wanted to hire me. I sent my resume to every business on the block and did my daily rounds of the show my face to the hiring managers. It became a job to find a job and I was exhausted. I sent in over fifty applications and it was the same response every time.

"No!"

Like most people on the job hunt, I felt a little defeated. There was no explanation but bad luck. It made me feel like a failure because another day had passed and I was still at the bottom of that corporate ladder I wanted to climb. I kicked off my thirty dollars Steve Madden black pumps from Ross and slid down onto the couch I found at the thrift store. I rubbed my tired manicured feet into the beige carpet and poured myself a glass of red wine. I unbuttoned my blouse and walked over to my unorganized bookshelf. I skimmed the titles of my hand-picked curation of music. Butterflies of excitement filled my stomach at the touch of each record. I had to choose the right song to convey the overwhelmed feeling of the day. I needed a magical beat to nurture my melancholy spirit.

I cracked each side of my neck to relieve the stress of the day. Suddenly, the perfect title of peace appeared between my fingers. I dust off the vinyl record and carefully slid it out its skin. The smooth and ridges lines ingrained on the disc took me back to the time I wished I grew up in.

The record spun in circles beneath the needle. The notes flickered into action. The Italian herbs lingered off my spaghetti as the familiar jazzy lyrics echoed through my living room.

"Girl put your records on, tell me your favorite song...

You go ahead, let your hair down

Sapphire and faded jeans...

I hope you get your dreams...

Just go ahead, let your hair down...

You're gonna find yourself somewhere, somehow..."

The soft medley of Corrine Bailey Rae articulated my mind in one stanza. It had been the perfect piece of advice to a young go-getter. I grinned at the thoughts of tomorrow's motivational plan revealing itself to me. I felt as if I could take on anything. I was ready to try again because of a beautiful song.

Music changed my life that day. It was a moment of musical epiphany. Suddenly, I was no longer the young lady who asked for the job. I became an independent woman who created a career through entrepreneurship and passion. I wanted to be fearless like the singer behind the mic. I wanted to inspire people to dream through my words. Music created the professional writer in me. It brought out my imagination through strategic wordplay.

I followed my dreams because of that fateful day with Corrine Bailey Rae. My first book The Time Traveler's Daughter will be published this Fall because of the inspiration and influence it has brought to my life. Music will forever have a place in my heart. The song Put Your Records On means more to me today than when I first heard it on the radio. I love music because it transcends past race or gender. It is universal. I will always remember whenever goals have not been crushed, life comes with a storm of problems, or if it is the greatest day of my life  "Girl, put your records on!"

I love you, music. Thank you for being the symphony to my soul.

humanity
3

About the Creator

Cara Simone Sparks

I am a self-published author, military wife, and first-time mother. I hope you enjoy my many stories! 💋

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.