Beat logo

Sweet floral dream

LOOFAH LOVE

By AnDrea GuerreroPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like

Hey, so of course like everyone loves music. My father was a musician, but I was into sports so did not really pick it up. I wrote poetry in high school, but that was it. I wanted to learn the intro to la bamba and then I was done. I spent time in a church where the entire pastors family made music and were super impressive! After leaving the church and trying to find my own way. I headed out to Austin, Texas not really knowing that it is heavy in putting out musicians. I didnt really explore and while I was over there my father send me a guitar from Mexico. It wasn’t the best quality, but somehow he planted a seed to spark my interest. I actually barely even touched it. I let my musician friends mess around on it. Here I discovered my first girl crush even though nothing came of it, I left back to Houston for family reasons. I was in between jobs and I spent time on this farm called the last organic outpost. I heard about this place through word of mouth. So when I was not getting my hands dirty I was rediscovering my own city after 4 years in Austin and came across an art space named TXRX labs. I met this aspiring artist and professor. She became my first muse. I wanted more, she was not gay, but I felt we had a great chemistry. That day I felt so excited about meeting her that I picked up the guitar and started whaling on it and used my poetry skills to come up with a song. I swear I had no since of tuning or rhythm and I could not sing, but I came up with two songs and recorded them. Her art was in how music helps us remember better and I was invited to come to her show. So I had them recorded on a usb and when the time came, I told her that I didnt know really what I was doing, but that I felt extremely inspired to do this. She would later that night contact me and tell me that I should continue to keep making music and I never stopped. Being a urban farmer I had planted these loofahs for the first time on my gate, but they over grew onto the neighbors fence. My father and I had managed it, but they were so happy they flourished down the fence and into a tree. I let them know that they are more than welcome to partake. Loofahs when ready to eat , are like a cucumber and squash and when left on the vine they turn into sponges. They come with this yellow vibrant flower and it created such a beautiful landscape. I went away for the weekend and cameback to half the the vine being dead. After inspecting, they were cut at the base of the vine in 3 different places. I rushed over and ask the neighbors who did this. They were renters and said the landlord did it. I never met this person and I got their numbers to call and paced back and forth thinking of what I was going to say. I was so furious that I told my muse about it and after I shedded some tears. She told me to plant some more. This inspired a song. I told my father that we were not going to take down the dead vine, that they could do it themselves and to let it serve as a reminder that every time they see it , it is the ugliness that comes out of them . It took awhile to take it down and I never did make the call. This is the story I tell when asked about the flowers on my left sleeve and I believe it is my muses’s favorite song.

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.