Beat logo

Sway to the Beat

The My Time

By Ambreen AhmadPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
2
Forget the Worries, even if it is for an hour

I feel life pulsating in me as I start running slowly on the track. In the dark of the night with no soul in sight, as my pace increases, I absorb the music; my mind starts blocking the dire and depressing thoughts that were built during the day. I spread my wings with every lapse I finish……I feel as if I am flying and escaping from the reality of life.

Every day my mind is filled with fear of the unknown; the extent of the ruthless virus attacking our world; the number of lives being affected; the cries and wails of families losing their loved ones; the thought of our helplessness against the forces of life.

Staying bound within the walls of our abode, facing loneliness and unable to socialize with our friends and family; it seems heartbreaking not to be able to do a simple handshake or a comforting hug. Standing in long lines outside the grocery shop, making sure we are following social distancing; having the look of doubt and fear if someone strolls by too close; we are encaged within our isolated world.

Despite this all, life is going on. It is we who has to decide how to spend our time; how to find solace in our life during these times. We have to smile and calm our nerves so that we survive this isolation. We have to find ways to pull through these tough times, so that in the end, we can emerge stronger and saner.

Before this Social Distancing factor, for me, the My Time was my hours at the gym. That was an outlet to the whole day’s stress and doubts; all the negativity of the day seemed to disappear as I gathered all my strength and exercised to extract anxiety out of my system. At that time, in spite of the fatigue of the day, the beat of the music, my playlist kept me going. It motivated me to sweat for the betterment of my body and soul.

Nevertheless, when this pandemic hit us and we were forced to stay indoors, for a moment I was heartbroken on how to escape from the insanity; how to capture the freedom of ‘My Moments’. I could not let go of my sanity and happiness of those moments because of this isolation; there had to be a way out. There had to be a way where I could without breaking the rules find my solace and peace.

No sooner, I decided to resume my physical activity on a track just next to my residence. I put on my runners and active wear, set my playlist and stepped into the dark night towards 'My Time'. No sooner I put on my playlist, the serene thoughts started enveloping my enslaved mind. The beat of the music transformed my dull and dismal thoughts to jovial emotions; my body seemed to sway and elate to the tempo of the notes.

It is amazing how music regulates our emotions and brings positive energy to our soul. When I listen to this playlist I seem to escape from disturbing thoughts, stressful emotions; even though it is for an hour or two. Those moments are worth capturing.

While I am sitting at home trying to kill time and indulging in activities to pass the day, I look forward to later evening when I would listen to my music and transform into another world. It is just like a key to the door of solace and contentment for me. This music makes me sway to the beat and dance simply for delight.

The playlist is a mixture of different compositions from famous artists like Sal Houdini, Selena Gomez, Ozuna, Cardi B, Maroon Five, Little Mix, Benee, Michael Buble, Enrique Iglesias, and Charlie Puth. Besides this playlist i usually listen to the mix of songs in the link provided at the top. I hope everyone enjoys it as much as I do.

playlist
2

About the Creator

Ambreen Ahmad

I always loved writing; what started as writing diaries to writing poems...now I feel life has given me a chance to express my thoughts to everyone. Perhaps, my writing could touch the audience a life lesson in a positive way.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.