Beat logo

Study and Listen

My Top Songs for a Study Session

By Bethany GordonPublished 4 years ago 10 min read
2

Lets hit the books! But do it with a beat. Ok.. studying is not my favorite term. Two years ago, I wrote my very first vocal article titled "Why I can't stand education anymore" which surprisingly has been my most read article to this date. But during that time, I hated studying so much. Only because I wasn't passionate enough about the courses that was I taking and simply didn't choose the right career path for me. Fast forward two years later, I'm finally doing a course that I love (french patisserie) that does require me to do a lot of studying around the topics given. I've been doing this course for three weeks now, which means I've done quite a few study sessions on my days off and I have to say I've noticed I'm more focused and empowered whilst studying if I have a good playlist with a mix of motivational songs that are followed by songs with a good beat that can be good distraction whilst taking a break. So I'm about to share with you my top songs to listen to before studying a session and during your study break. Don't get me wrong, all these songs listed below gets me in the mood to study throughout the day but there are three particular songs in both of the categories that I must listen to for a study session as they push me forward to get me to the final result and what I'm working towards in the end. So are you ready for my brain power playlist? I also highly recommend that you try listening to these songs during your study session if you have R&B/ hip-pop taste and our into the late 1990s and early 2000"s and some of these songs stated below are from these musical era's. They also might keep your going during your study days.

Before Your Study Session

Cinderella- The Cheetah Girls

Please don't judge me. Sometimes we need to go back to our childhood days and remember the very first songs we listened to back on Disney. It's funny how we come back to some songs when we're older and we actually start paying attention to lyrics. Two months ago, I came across this song "cinderella", on someone's Instagram story and I generally thought it sounded something that I definitely listen to before. Immediately I went straight to Youtube and typed in the first line of the lyrics "I don't want to be like cinderella" the first result that came up was Cheetah Girls cinderella. I knew it. I jammed out to this song all the time when I was an infant. But listening to this song now sounds ten times better than it did back 2007/2008. After listening to the song quite a few times after rediscovering tune, I started paying attention to more of the message behind the song. From here on out, I'm so grateful that this song has re-entered back into my life.

Chorus

I don’t wanna be like Cinderella,

Sitting in a dark, cold, dusty cellar,

Waiting for somebody to come and set me free

I don’t wanna be like someone waiting

For a handsome prince to come and save me

On I will survive

Unless somebody's on my side

Don't wanna be no, no, no one else.

I’d rather rescue myself.

This song gives me so much independence and encourages me to work hard for myself and to get what I want. Period. The song has an upbeat, cheezy tune as well that very much sounds like a Disney song, but anyone of any age can listen to this. "I'd rather rescue myself" gets me out of bed and sets me for the up for the hard-working day of studying. It gets me in the zone and actually helps me look forward to what I'm about to learn when I open the books.

One step at a time - Jordan Sparks

The title says it all. One step at a time. Another song from 2007, this beat will never get old. The lyrics are meant for those that are going through change, getting through obstacles, and those that are stepping into the real world after graduating. Jordan says there's no need to rush which is absolutely true. As much as I would love to rush through the content of my course I need to remember to take things step by step and enjoy what I'm learning. This song is a good reminder of the purpose of my study and why I'm here. That's why it goes perfectly into my before you study playlist as a good reset for my brain to get me focused and enjoy what I'm reading below.

Chorus

One step at a time

There's no need to rush

It's like learning to fly

Or falling in love

It's gonna happen and it's

Supposed to happen that we

Find the reasons why

One step at a time

Can't Us Hold Down- Christina Aguilera ft. Lil Kim

The Ultimate girl power anthem gets me in the mood for anything. The queen of vocals definitely earned a top spot of my before you study playlist for this song. Can't hold us down is all about double standards between men and women and Miss Aguilera clearly had enough of it back in 2002. As you probaly already guessed this song helps me see the bigger picture of things. Same as the previous two songs, it encoragues me to work hard and to fight my own battle despite me being a five foot small women with a baby face. As I'm set to enter an industry where its male dominated alongisde rare form of mixed ethnic groups that barely make it to the top, Can't hold us down is a song that pushes me to be better everyday and to face up to challenges and obstables that requires me to make it to the top. One of the obstacles that does require me to make it to the top is getting my patesserie book and learning from it. But nothing will be holding me down, not even studying. Not only is this song an empowering motivational song, it also has that core early 2000's hip-pop beat that throws you back to the days when music was good (Lets ignore the fact I was born in early 200o's).

Chorus

This is for my girls all around the world

Who have come across a man that don't respect your worth

Thinkin' all women should be seen and not heard

So what do we do girls, shout out loud

Lettin 'em know were gonna stand our ground

So lift your hands high and wave 'em proud

Take a deep breath and say it loud

Never can, never will

Can't hold us down

Nobody can hold us down

Never can, never will

During your study break

As you've figured out my top 3 songs that I must play before studying are very female dominated, motivational songs that require me to get going with the books so I gain as much knowledge as possible. But my playlist during my study break needs me to be another world thats just not reality. Don't get me wong I love my reality but its nice just to play a few throwback tunes and not to worry about a book, a pen, your parents , your lecturer or even chores around the house. This next playlist is about escaping into a world that allows you to take your mind off of things and put it at ease.

Its Like that - Mariah Carey

So I said songs that allow you to escape during your study break. Well Mariah Carey knew I would be listening to this tune in 2020 when she recorded it back in 2004 (releaesd in 2005). So I normally have my long study sessions on saturdays from 10- 3 pm. After that time I look forward to a night out with my "girl squad" that I'm really excitied about all week. Mariah gets me in the mood for the night to come with this heavy R&B tune that gets you up from the chair makes your hips sway from side to side. It's one of those beats you can't ignore dancing to, you just have to automatically stop what your doing and get your head moving to beat. Not only is this beat one of the best beats of the 2000's, but the lyrics helps take your mind off things. Mariah clearly states in the chorus "No stress, no fights I'm leaving it all behind". I cannot agree anymore. Thats's exacly how I feel on most days. It's just like that. If you have not listened to this song, I highy recommend searching it up and playing it a couple of times. After listening the song, then I would recommend lisetning to the album that it was relaesed on "The the emancipation of mimi". You won't regret it.

Chorus

Cause it's my night

No stress, no fights

I'm leavin' it all behind

No tears, no time to cry

Just makin' the most of life

Everybody is livin' it up

All the fellas keep lookin' at us ('cause)

Me and my girls on the floor like what

While the DJ keeps on spinnin' the cut

It's like that y'all (that y'all), that y'all (that y'all)

It's like da da da da, I like that y'all (that y'all)

It's like that y'all (that y'all), that y'all (that y'all)

It's like da da da da, I like that y'all (that y'all)

Glam - Christina Aguilera

So the queen returns further down my playlist but theres something about this song that is one of my favoruite Christina Aguilera song's. It's called Glam. Everything about this song screams fun, glamourous, exciting and fabulous. The song is just simply about getting glam. The electro pop upbeat song gives you that extra push throughout the day with the soft voice of Miss aguliera that gradually strengthens thoughout the song perfectly. Glam is one of those songs you listen when choosing an outfit or gettng ready with you bestfriends for a party. Just like in the movies. Listening to '"Its like that" to "Glam" are perfect combination songs that sets you up for the evening ahead. After listening to these songs you already have forgotten what you next assigment is for your course work.

Chorus

Let's get glam, don't let the clothes wear you

Let's get glam, it's all in how you move

Let's get glam, don't let the clothes wear you

Let's get glam, it's all in attitude

Now snap, now snap

Bood'up - Ella Mai

Theres nothing more sweet than a song with a sweet R&B melody that gets you in the mood for some romance. I can't believe that this song has been out for two years and I only just discovered this incredible masterpiece. The song is a modern day R&B track with 90's sound influence that Ella Mai decided to incoporate to the song. The lyrics will always get you thinking of your man cush that you being been dreaming about forever but you know in reality will never happen. Not only does this song allow you to daydream about your MC, but it also has a chill R&B tune that can easily take away your stress and will you to help to relax and appreciate the rhythm of the track.

Chorus

Ooh, no I'll never get over you until I find something new

That get me high like you do, yeah yeah

Ooh, no I'll never get over you until I find something new

That get me high like you do

Listen my to heart go ba-dum, boo'd up

Biddy-da-dum, boo'd up

Hear my heart go ba-dum, boo'd up

Biddy-da-dum it just won't stop, it go

Ba-dum, boo'd up

Biddy-da-dum, boo'd up

Hear my heart go ba-dum, boo'd up

Biddy-da-dum, it just won't stop, it go

So, you've read now you listen. If you've noticed that some how we have a similar music taste and your student with stack piles of studying to do, then I would highly recommend you take to listen to all six songs described above and the other songs before and during your study sessions. Listening to tracks that motivate me and empower me definitely helps with my concentration by far whilst taking my mind off of tracks that I just can't stop listening to. These songs are really good ways to take pause and rewind during your mini break. Remember to eat snacks and drink plenty of water whilst your studying. I hope everyone gets passes!

playlist
2

About the Creator

Bethany Gordon

Fun, quirky articles to keep you entertained. Instagram: hellobethanygordon

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.