Beat logo

Stripped

Album review

By Chloe GilholyPublished 4 years ago 5 min read
2

Christina Aguilera is woman who I admire very much. She's an established pop singer from America who's also known for being a bit naughty. I hope people still remember her. Christina is truly a beautiful and talented woman. No one can take that away from her and she tells us this on Stripped. In this album she works with the likes of Linda Perry, Alicia Keys, Lil Kim and Redman. Stripped is her fourth studio album, though most people consider it her second because they exclude her Christmas and Spanish album. It was released in October 2002 under the label RCA.

As much as I would love to write that there are no disadvantages, there are some flaws on this album. I think it's the flaws in the trashy image that help make the album unique in my eyes. While I embrace this album, I don't think this album will suit everyone. I think people might also be put off by how personal the album is because it might prove to be a bit too much. I’m Okay is a fine example of that. Her vocal ranges that are sometimes known as screaming may be too much as all. But it's an album that no one will forget in a long time. I don’t think she’s been able to top this album in later releases.

The interludes and stripped intro put me straight into the mood of the album. The choices of singles were fantastic. Dirrty, Can't Hold Us Down, Fighter, Beautiful and The Voice Within are epic tracks because they're so deep and uplifting and so thought provoking. The variety in the album helps make me as a listener, quite satisfied with its admirable balance of anthems, hits and ballads.

I'm Okay nearly made me cry at the first listen. Soar and Make Over are also stand out tracks. All the songs are amazing in their own way. This is more than just a pop album or a collection of twenty tracks. It's a story. It's Christina bearing her soul bare to the masses, fighting against her struggles and embracing her strengths. It's so personal to the point I felt as if I was listening to an audio book.

My favourite track from the album is Fighter and it remains of my favourite songs from her. I love the distorted orchestras and guitars on it. Her voice is powerful and I think it works exceptionally well within the sub genres of rock. I love the attitude of this song. Another track worth a good mention is Infatuation. I love the Latin vibes and guitars in this one because it's ridiculously catchy at best.

Get Mine, Get Yours is the most cheekiest track of the album. Saucy lyrics, sweet vocals and pretty much promotes sex without love. At first I thought it sounded a bit out of place on the album, but it's catchy and completely innocent compared to Dirrty which is pure R&B filth.

Christina made a lot of risks taking over complete creative control and ditching her innocent Disney girl image, but I think the risks where worth it because it helped create my favourite album of all time.

If I could only listen to one album, it would be this one. This is my favourite album and was one of the first albums I was truly excited for. I love her creativity and bravery and I have all her albums and I think she is one of the best mainstream artists of all time. Her debut album, Back To Basics, Bionic, My kind Of Christmas, Mi Reflecto and Just Be free, they are all pretty good, but this, in my opinion is truly her best. This is an album I would strongly recommend. This is Christina Aguilera's masterpiece.

1) Stripped Intro - "Allow me to introduce myself, want you to come a little closer. I'd like you to get to know me a little better. Meet the real me." 5/5

2 )Can't Hold Us Down (featuring Lil' Kim) - "When a female fires back suddenly big talker don't know how to act." 5/5

3 )Walk Away - "Every breathe I take leads to one mistake." - 5/5

4 )Fighter - "Thanks for making me a fighter." -5/5

5) Primer Amor Interlude - 5/5

6) Infatuation - "Mama used to warn me to beware those Latin lovers." 5/5

7) Loves Embrace Interlude - "You make me wanna fly." 5/5

8) Loving Me 4 Me - "Stripped of all make up, no need for fancy clothes." 5/5

9 ) Impossible - "This is not a circus don't you take me for a clown." 5/5

10) Underappreciated - "I'm feeling underappreciated for all the time and effort I have put in this commitment." 5/5

11) Beautiful - "Words can't bring me down." 5/5

12) Make Over - "I just want to get away, saving all your bullshit for another day." 5/5

13) Cruz - "Celebrating a fantasy come true. Packing all my bags finally on the move." 5/5

14 ) Soar - "The boy who wonders, is he good enough for them keep trying to please them all but he just never seems to fit in." 5/5

15) Get Mine, Get Yours - "Gotta hit that spot just right

Work me like a 9 to 5." - 5/5

16) Dirrty - "Sweating till my clothes come off." 5/5

17) Stripped Pt. 2 - "Sorry I'm not a virgin. Sorry I'm not a slut." 5/5

18) The Voice Within - "When there's no one else, look inside yourself like your oldest friend just trust the voice within." 5/5

19) I'm OK - "Bruises fade father, but the pain remains the same." 5/5

20) Keep On Singin' My Song - "Say goodbye to all the tears I've cried." 5/5

album reviews
2

About the Creator

Chloe Gilholy

Former healthcare worker and lab worker from Oxfordshire. Author of ten books including Drinking Poetry and Game of Mass Destruction. Travelled to over 20 countries.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.