Beat logo

Stayc Debut Review

Stayc “So Bad” and “Like This” review

By ShinxPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like

Highup debuted their new girl group Stayc on November 12th, and when they were first announced I was so excited.

Stayc has popular actress Sieun in the group, and is managed by Black Eye Pilseung who are famous producers who made music for other girl groups like Apink and Twice.

I’m so excited about Stayc! Ever since the news came that Stayc was Black Eye Pilseung group and there teaser were released, I was so intrigued. My expectations were a little high, but Stayc went above and beyond. So i want to talk about their title track “So Bad” and their other single “Like This”

So let’s go!

Track 1: So Bad

“So Bad” instantly reminded me of Apink’s “Eung Eung” and April’s “Oh My Mistake” with that 80s sound and hints of synth wave mixed with femininity and beauty. I love Stayc vocals on this song. They have such colorful vocals that are so strong and pretty. They sing with so much heart and makes this song feel almost nostalgic in a way. One girl that really caught my ears was J with her deep voice, her voice is great on this track and the other girls have higher registers so it’s nice to have that juxtaposition with J’s deep voice. Also apparently she’s like 16 and already has such a deep voice, meaning that it might get deeper in the future...amazing. Another thing I love about this song is how vocal heavy it is. There’s no rapping at all which is great because there’s no need for a rap portion. I feel like many Kpop groups try to wedge a rap part in a song when there’s no room. So I’m happy they didn’t add any unnecessary rap parts and focused on vocals. This chorus is also astounding and overflowing with emotion. “So Bad” is an amazing debut and definitely one of the best Kpop songs of 2020.

10/10

Track 2: Like This

Onto “Like This”. It’s such a pretty song. “Like This” is giving me a glamorous yet fun feeling like “So Bad”. My favorite part is the chorus and the high notes at the end. Stayc vocals are just so pretty and pure, it just sound like they are singing from the heart. It’s such a pretty song that’s so bubbly yet sophisticated. I also enjoy the second verse a lot with their little rap portion. Now there rapping isn’t really strong, and it’s more like sing talking, but I think it adds more flavor to the song and makes it pop. “Like This” is a colorful track with so much charisma and heart in it. I hope they get to promote “Like This” because I bet the choreography is amazing. Overall I love this song and it’s so good.

9/10

Stayc debut was phenomenal. I said this previously, but my expectations for Stayc were a bit high but they exceeded them. Stayc debut was incredible and dazzling. It’s too early to say, but I can see Stayc dominating the charts in the future and becoming one of my favorite girl groups. I love everything about Stayc. From the beautiful and feminine concept to the song to their vocals to their choreography, Stayc is a full package. Stayc is overflowing with potential, and I can’t wait to see what they do in the future.

Thank you for reading. I appreciate every read and tip I receive! If you enjoyed this check out my other Kpop reviews like E’Last and Loona.

Hope you’re having a good day, and if not I hope it becomes a better one.

Bye-Bye!

album reviews
Like

About the Creator

Shinx

I write what I want to write

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.