Beat logo

STAYC ASAP Comeback Review

STAYC Staydom Ep Review

By ShinxPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
Like

Stayc made their first comeback with ASAP along with three other tracks, So What, Love Fool, and So Bad (TAK Remix). This comeback was highly anticipated because Stayc debut So Bad did very well, and they are the first group managed under High Up Entertainment, created by the famous producing duo Black Eyed Pilseung. So South Korea and international fans were very excited to hear they would make a comeback, and they did with ASAP.

ASAP - The First Comeback

Unlike So Bad that had a more elegant, rich, and sparkling concept similar to Apink’s I’m So Sick, this time they came with a more youthful and colorful concept. Both ASAP and So Bad are feminine concepts, but So Bad in my opinion was a bit more of a mature feminie like style of young ladies while ASAP is more reminiscent of highschool girls just having fun. It didn’t stray too far away from the original concept of So Bad, but just made it more fresh and sweeter.

Also I feel like the girls seem more natural in this new concept in ASAP because it has that high school freshness to it, and all the girls are around high school age. The oldest, Sumin, was born in 2001 while the younger, J, was born in 2004, so they fit nicely into this concept

Again, ASAP still retains that feminie and sweet element that made Stayc popular when they debuted with So Bad, and actually I love ASAP. I love ASAP so much, it is bubbly, full of saccharine, feminie and cute, really playful, and is a great song. In my opinion it is better than So Bad. I did like So Bad, but it took me a few listens to fall in love with the song, while with ASAP it was love at first listen for me.

Every part is so simple yet sweet and fun. My favorite parts are probably the chorus because it is a two part chorus, the intro where they say their iconic line ‘Stayc girls, it’s going down,” and J’s part. I love all every girls part in this song, they all get a chance to shine, but J just took my ears away with her deep voice beginning the song. She immediately hooks you in at the first line. Then her little singing-rap part in the second verse also stuck out to me. Her second part is so confident and adds a little spice into the song, and I just love that High Up is letting J sing in her deep voice. For girl groups, many of them are forced to sing in one register or in a higher pitch, but J gets to sing comfortably and use her amazing deep vocals.

Speaking of which, I love Stayc’s vocals. Now they aren’t mind blowing or anything, but it sounds like the girls feel very comfortable when singing and it is so heartfelt. Especially in the chorus, they have this sense of earnesty in their voice that makes the song feel much more colorful, sincere, and light hearted. ASAP is all around a great song and I love it. Definitely a 10/10

Staydom - So What, Love Fool, So Bad (TAK Remix)

Just a little pet peeve I have, but can Kpop companies stop giving us remixes and just give us a new song? Like maybe it is just me, but it just irritates me. Such as when we got a Ddu-du Ddu-du remix on the Kill This Love EP from Blackpink, or on the IT’z ICY Ep by Itzy where we got a remix for Dalla Dalla and Want It, no one wanted those remixes and I am pretty sure fans would prefer a new song instead of a remix. It also applies here, I think fans would rather have a new song instead of a remix to So Bad. I know that they performed this remix on a music show, and it got some attention, but I think it should’ve been released as a single and then on the Staydom EP we got another song. The remix is kind of cool, and I kind of like it, but it also doesn’t have that spark that made the original as incredible as it was.

With the other two tracks, So What and Love Fool, they are amazing. The girls' vocals are shining on these tracks. Both songs are so sweet, youthful, refreshing, and overall nice tunes that fit the season of spring. Again we also hear their sincerity in their voices, and these songs are so comforting yet fun and sweet.

Overall this was a great comeback, and Stayc is really stealing my heart, and this is only their first comeback. They are releasing amazing songs so early in their careers, it just makes me so hopeful for their musical direction and their future.

song reviewsalbum reviews
Like

About the Creator

Shinx

I write what I want to write

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.