Beat logo

Soundtrack to Me

My Life in a Movie Soundtrack

By Kent BrindleyPublished 11 months ago 4 min read
Like
Soundtrack to Me
Photo by GR Stocks on Unsplash

(Set the scene. A dream sequence between myself and [Modern Crush] unfolds. We hear dramatic, romantic background music moving into...)

BENJAMIN ORR- STAY THE NIGHT.

(We almost touch when...alarm clock rings. We move into...)

WHAM!- WAKE ME UP (BEFORE YOU GO-GO) or MAROON 5- WAKE-UP CALL

(Pour some cereal and pour over the news just before leaving my apartment...)

TOM PETTY- THE APARTMENT SONG

(On my way to the busstop, I try courteously waving at passerby, only to be ignored by most or barely acknowledged by a few...)

TOM PETTY- I WON'T BACK DOWN or EVEN THE LOSERS

(Aboard the bus and on my way to work...)

HUEY LEWIS- WORKIN FOR A LIVING or ALABAMA- I'M IN A HURRY.

(Arrive at the office to a lot of hustle-and-bustle from coworkers...)

DOLLY PARTON- 9 TO 5.

(I see the company secretary, the woman of my dreams...)

MUSICAL PRELUDE TO EITHER REO SPEEDWAGON-CAN'T FIGHT THIS FEELING or VAN HALEN-LOVE WALKS IN.

(I'm snapped out of my daydream to be informed that the boss wants to see me. I comply out of confusion and head for the head office just as the secretary openly flirts with my company rival).

(Within the boss's office, I am unceremoniously let go. I have to leave amidst the walk of shame and board a bus from the office back to the original busstop. It starts to rain and I am all but ignored on my bus trip back home).

SPRINGSTEEN-DOWNBOUND TRAIN

(I arrive back at home eventually, now soaked from my walk, and, after a few moments, I open my computer to get into writing my next dream novella).

POSSIBLY THEME FROM "MURDER SHE WROTE" AS I BEGIN TO TYPE INTO MY FIRST MASTERPIECE.

(Naturally, my family phones and begins to shoehorn into my life. I openly admit to having lost my job; they deposit unsolicited advice/woes/doom-and-gloom on my ears)

SISTER SLEDGE-WE ARE FAMILY/HELP-THE BEATLES.

(The phone call montage cuts to me arriving at my favorite watering hole for the evening).

"CHEERS" THEME.

(I spy my local favorite beauty from across the way at the bar...)

ONCE AGAIN, EITHER "CAN'T FIGHT THIS FEELING" OR "LOVE WALKS IN;" WHICHEVER ONE I PICKED BEFORE.

(I square my shoulders and begin to approach...)

HUEY LEWIS- DO YOU BELIEVE IN LOVE?

(...I'm cut off as my old office rival swerves in front of me and deposits the offer of a drink in front of her. I start to turn away to head out the door in defeat once more when I feel the need to pause. The lady, the woman of my dreams, rejects the offer of the drink from him. I feel the need to step up to her defense).

ALICE COOPER-NO MORE MR. NICE GUY

(I am immediately recognized and soundly ridiculed in front of the entire bar for having lost my job earlier that day. However, the woman, who has every right to join in the ridicule, does not. I continue to step to her defense by interposing myself between her and my rival, the man whom she just rejected)

PETER FRAMPTON- ROUGH BOYS (As we duke it out before the crowd of raucous bargoers. Finally, I leave with the woman of my dreams).

(Fade to the next morning, my apartment. She and I are snuggled together on the couch as the next sun rises).

HUEY LEWIS- HAPPY TO BE STUCK WITH YOU

(I enjoy a breakfast with her. She, however, seems distant and finally says something about having made a mistake to have left with me like that...)

HUEY- IF THIS IS IT

(She leaves my place to sort her mind out. I have nothing to do but to dejectedly return to my writing).

(A montage passes as I write, search for more work, return to the bar, go out with friends, resume writing, watch television, etc. Finally, I receive another phone call. It's my mother with news about my father's health. It's time for me to put the job search, let alone the writing, on pause...)

OZZY OSBORNE-MAMA, I'M COMING HOME (SPRINGSTEEN-MY HOMETOWN as the plane lands).

("...MY HOMETOWN" resumes as I explore my hometown on my way back home to the family to say a final goodbye.)

(My father is gone and there has been time to grieve. There is nothing else to do but to return to New York and resume my writing and return to the job search. A few days after arriving home, I receive the phone call from Guess-Who?)

WHICHEVER INSTRUMENTAL TRACK WAS CONNECTED TO HER ARRIVAL IN MY LIFE BEGINS PLAYING AGAIN AND EVENTUALLY LEADS TO LYRICS

(We reconcile at the bar and, the next day, she and I both head out once more as I search for my next job).

HUEY LEWIS-THE POWER OF LOVE/WORKING FOR A LIVING

(End).

playlist
Like

About the Creator

Kent Brindley

Smalltown guy from Southwest Michigan

Lifelong aspiring author here; complete with a few self-published works always looking for more.

https://www.instagram.com/kmoney_gv08/

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.