Beat logo

Songs to send off your 2021 self into the abyss

a playlist for your former selves.

By mokradi_ Published 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
Beach House, Space Song

I have been struggling with the 2022 New Year messages to welcome our 'breakthrough' self. I see motivational visuals which portray the cleansing of 2022 self from past habits and prejudices which make my 2021 self a little fearful.

With the pandemic, I felt my 2021 Self never really did have much, what do I say? Intensity? Experience? Time? (perhaps all these)

to really come into its own.

Now, 2021 has gone.

But my 2021 self still lingers on. My heart is still broken. My health still black and white. My mind in disarray.

People are still homeless on the streets.

Is it healthy or unhealthy to shelter your 2021 self from its fate?

What about about my 2022 self? It seems like it's time for them to enter but am I ready?

Anyways, here is a playlist I made while we three decide on the emotions for this first week of this new year.

Wishing my Vocal Community a peaceful start to 2022 <3

Beach House // Space Song

It was late at night

You held on tight

From an empty seat

A flash of light

It will take a while

To make you smile

Somewhere in these eyes

I'm on your side.

Julio Iglesias // La Mer

Mozart Lacrimosa // but humanity has ended

The Kinks // Waterloo Sunset

Chilly chilly is the evening time, Waterloo sunset's fine

Terry meets Julie, Waterloo Station, every Friday night

But I am so lazy, don't want to wander, I stay at home at night.

Interstellar // S.T.A.Y 1 hour Loop

America// A Horse with No Name

After two days in the desert sun

My skin began to turn red

After three days in the desert fun

I was looking at a river bed

And the story it told of a river that flowed

Made me sad to think it was dead.

Joji // Ew

Patrick Watson // Je te laisserai des mots

Gill Scott Heron // We almost lost Detroit

And how would we ever get over

Losing our minds?

Just 30 miles from Detroit

They built a giant power station

And It ticks each night as the city sleeps

Or maybe seconds from annihilation, yeah

But no one stopped to think about the people

Or just how they would survive.

Antonio Vivaldi // Winter

Kid Cudi // Trippy

Everyone is looking for love, deep love

A lifetime of deep love, you know?

I'm looking for a shallow half hour, you know?

Don't you have luck with women?

I never had luck with women

I'm no ladies man, I know that, Johnny

And I never got girls when I was a kid in show business either, you know?

One girl told me, "Come on over, there's nobody home"

I went over, there was nobody home!

Brent Faiyaz // 16 Missed Calls

Erik Satie // Gymnopédie No. 1

Kanye West // Ghost Town but it will make you ascend to the fourth dimension

5.00 to 6.00

Mac Miller // Self Care

Yeah, I been reading them signs

I been losin' my, I been losin' my, I been losin' my mind, yeah

Get the fuck out the way, must be this high to play

It must be nice up above the lights, and what a lovely life that I made

I know that feelin' like it's in my family tree, yeah

That Mercedes drove me crazy, I was speedin'

Somebody save me from myself, yeah

Tell them they can take that bullshit elsewhere

Self care, we gonna be goooood.

Kodak Black //Tunnel Vision

Lil' Kodak, they don't like to see you winnin'

They wanna see you in the penitentiary

Bob Dylan // The Times They Are A-Changin'

The slow one now

Will later be fast

As the present now

Will later be past

Ei Poth Jodi Na Ses Hoy // What if the road never ended?

song reviewspop culture
Like

About the Creator

mokradi_

Pari (he/they)

A BIPOC settler in Coast Salish Territories of so-called 'Canada'.

On the road to reconciling the worlds within while reclaiming my journey, one story at a time.

#multiculturalstories

#transgenerationalmemories

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.