Beat logo

Songs to Make You Happy Cry

5 Musical Theatre Songs That Will Change Your Life

By Emma LaurensPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
2

One of the most important things my teenage years taught me is that anyone and everyone can use some encouragement now and then, a reassurance that they are good enough and everything will be okay. I found that encouragement and reassurance in songs from musical theatre.

Musical theatre is a genre unlike any other. It is unparalleled in passion and emotion. Musical theatre is a celebration of humanity. Even during its most tragic ballads, it retains a boundless optimism for what humanity can become.

The following songs are ones that reminded me that I am good enough and everything will be okay. In times like these, we can all use that same reassurance.

“You Are Not Alone” from Dear Evan Hansen

“Defying Gravity” from Wicked

“My Shot” from Hamilton

“Don’t Rain on My Parade” from Funny Girl

“Dancing Queen” from Mamma Mia!

But now, the important question: why are these songs so important to me?

Throughout my life, I have aimed for perfection just to be good enough for other people. Starting in sixth grade, that quest became more specific: I aimed to build the perfect resume to be the perfect college applicant in order to be accepted by a great four-year university. This quest consumed five years of my teenage life as I took the most challenging classes, worked for the highest grades, joined various extracurriculars, earned leadership positions, and won awards, all for the sake of being good enough for others.

I thought my perfectionist tendencies were an asset. However, time showed me that this perfectionism was fueled by anxiety and caused me undue stress. It did not move me to perfection; perfection is unattainable. Instead, it perpetuated low self-esteem, negative self-talk, and harsh self-criticism.

I learned the difference between objective success, external achievements that tend to impress other people, and subjective success. Subjective success is simply pursuing your passions--disregarding what other people think--and is key to personal fulfillment.

I was an objectively successful high school student.

I burned out.

At the end of my sophomore year of high school, I recognized that because I had spent so much time and energy trying to be perfect for other people, I had never figured out who I was and who I wanted to be. I had tried to play roles and fit into molds, denying my artistic passions in favor of pursuing whatever was “practical,” and ended up stressed and lost because of it.

My greatest challenge was my own insecurity, my core belief that I was not good enough. I started to overcome this when I chose to empower myself. I decided to take back my highschool experience--and my life--by pursuing what made me happy.

The first step was joining my high school’s theatre program.

When I joined theatre, I started setting myself free. I began to listen to myself, to value myself, and take care of myself. I found a community, made so many happy memories, and started learning to love the one person who will always be in my life: me.

The songs I have shared with you were the ones that I turned to throughout my angst-filled high school experience. These songs were my pep-talk, mantra, and refuge whenever I felt lost.

One of the most important things high school taught me is that anyone and everyone can use some encouragement now and then, a reassurance that they are good enough and everything will be okay. These songs did exactly that for me. I hope they do the same for you.

song reviews
2

About the Creator

Emma Laurens

Emma Laurens is a college student and aspiring writer. Her main interests are creative writing, theatre, film, music, and adventure.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.