Beat logo

Songs That Helped Make High school Less Awful

and the lyrics that stood out

By Anna KerrPublished 3 years ago Updated 12 months ago 7 min read
2

Whoever said high school was the best four years of your life clearly didn't actually go to high school. Spending four years stuck with the same judgmental teens is not my idea of a fun time, as I am sure is the case with most others as well.

For me, high school couldn't end soon enough. I grew tired of the bullies who never went punished, the teachers who were on power trips, and the awkwardness of trying to find yourself and navigate the world under the watchful eye of peers and teachers alike.

To escape it all, I turned to music. So I came up with this playlist, of the top songs I used to turn to during high school, whenever it felt like the world didn't understand me. Most, if not all of these songs I still listen to today; they're the kind of songs that always stick with you.

Below is a link to my playlist, along with the lyrics that drew me into the song; I encourage you to check them out!

It was very hard to narrow down this playlist, and even still it ended up being twenty-two songs long.

Breath, Breaking Benjamin

So sacrifice yourself, and let me have what's left. I hope that I can find, the fire in your eyes...

Shouting this song at the top of my lungs is one of my grade nine memories. It's still one of those songs I turn to now, especially when I feel like letting off some steam.

Bring Me To Life - Evanescense

Save me from the nothing I've become...

This had to be on everyone's playlist, am I right? This song will never get old; it'll easier always crack the top twenty in all time favorite songs.

Me Against the World - Simple Plan

I'm a nightmare, a disaster, that's what they always said. I'm a lost cause, not a hero, but I'll make it on my own...

This one was for those days I felt like there was nobody on my side. High school was a time where everyone is trying to figure themselves out, and for me I felt like I was alone, with nobody along side me. As much as that may not have been true, this song became my anthem.

Nothing to Lose - Billy Talent

My parents had no clue, that I ate all my lunches alone in the bathroom..

This one rang too close to home for me, and it still does. There were days I was alone in the bathroom, eating my lunch so nobody could see how alone I was. My 'friends' had decided they didn't want me around anymore, and would run at any chance to get away from me. I remember the day I realized I was alone; they literally ran to get away to have lunch without me.

Rusted from the Rain - Billy Talent

You hung me like a picture, now I'm just a frame. I used to be a lap dog, now I'm just a stray. Shackled in a graveyard, left here to decay...

Billy Talent is one of those artists that never gets old. I'm patiently awaiting the release of their newest album, which is hopefully soon! The lyrics in this song I used to love singing, especially the above lyrics.

The Diary of Jane - Breaking Benjamin

There's a fine line between love and hate and I don't mind, just let me say that I like that, that I like that...

One of the early Breaking Benjamin songs that got me hooked on them (along with breath). Each song tells a story, and for some reason when I was younger, this was one of those songs I turned to during darker times.

Misery - Good Charlotte

Take a look around, don't you see it? See that you are the only real face in the room. No one here has a clue what you're feelin'. Don't feel bad, keep your sadness alive

Those lines in particular is what first drew me to the song. I always put on a smile, trying to hide what I felt inside. Nobody knew what was truly going on in my head.

Bleed it Out - Linkin Park

Mama, help me, I've been cursed. Death is rolling in every verse. Candy paint on this brand new hearse. Can't contain him, he knows he works..

In the End - Linkin Park

I tried so hard, and got so far. But in the end, it doesn't even matter. I has to fall to lose it all, but in the end, it doesn't even matter..

What I've Done - Linkin Park

I'll face myself. To cross out what I've become. Erase myself, and let go of what I've done..

Numb - Linkin Park

And I know, I may end up failing too. But I know, you were just like me with someone disappointed in you..

Linkin Park, as you can see, was a big part of my teen years. They just have a knack for hitting me right in the feels, with almost every song they write. When Chester passed, it was a sad reminder that depression affects everyone; it doesn't matter how well you think someone's doing, you don't know what's happening inside their head.

Famous Last Words - My Chemical Romance

I am not afraid to keep on living, I am not afraid to walk this world alone. Honey, if you stay you'll be forgiven. Nothing you can say will stop me going home..

My Chemical Romance had many good songs I listened to as a teen (such as I Don't Love You, and Teenagers), but this one was always a favorite.

Devour - Shinedown

Nobody, nobody wants to feel like this. Nobody, nobody wants to live like this. Nobody, nobody wants a war like this...

Second Chance - Shinedown

Tell my mother, tell my father I've done the best I can. To make them realize, this is my life; I hope they understand. I'm not angry, I'm just saying; sometimes goodbye is a second chance..

I remember when the album came out with these songs. The Album, the Sound of Madness, was a CD that often didn't leave my car. The songs Second Chance, and Devour were two of the ones I often played on repeat.

Better Off - Theory of a Deadman

I, don't care about anyone. You know that I'm better off...

This song made the cut because it is one of the first songs I listened to when I finally was able to listen to my own music, and not the music of my parents. It got me into the genre, and because of it, set my music tastes.

It's All Over - Three Days Grace

And now you're dead inside, still you wonder why it's all over..

Pain - Three Days Grace

This life, is filled with hurt when happiness doesn't work

Riot - Three Days Grace

If you feel so empty; so used up, so let down. If you feel so angry, just get up..

Animal I Have Become - Three Days Grace

Somebody help me through this nightmare. I can't control myself

One X - Three Days Grace

Do you think about, everything you've been through? You never thought you'd be so depressed. Are you wondering, is it life or death? Do you think that there's no one like you?

I Hate Everything About You - Three Days Grace

Only when I stop to think about it, I hate everything about you. Why do I love you?

Drown - Three Days Grace

If I needed someone to control me, if I needed someone to hold me down, I would change my direction, and save myself before I drown

Ah, Three Days Grace. Though I'm glad they are still making music, I'd be lying if I said I'm not disappointed lead singer Adam Gontier is no longer. They were a staple in my teen years, and they still are. Being the depressed teen that I was, songs like "One-X" made me feel like I wasn't alone. I Hate Everything About You, Riot, and Animal I Have Become were fun to scream into the nothingness whenever I felt angry. The song Never Too Late deserves an honorable mention, also; that was a song I listened to quite often.

So, there you have it. The 22 songs that got me through high school, when it felt never ending. These songs shaped the person I am today, and they're still all staples on my current playlists. Add them to your playlist, too! You won't regret it. If you want easy access to my playlist, you can find it on Apple Music, or by clicking the playlist at the beginning of the article.

Happy Listening! :)

playlist
2

About the Creator

Anna Kerr

| hockey fan | occasional writer | skyrim |

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.