Beat logo

Songs for My Children

A Spotify playlist for my son and daughter

By Chloe Rose Violet 🌹Published about a year ago • 7 min read
1
Songs for My Children
Photo by Allen Taylor on Unsplash

Ever since my son was just tiny, I have had a playlist of songs stored on my phone. I created it when I first started throwing his room together in our tiny little condo. A few of them were just to sing to him. That was something I always loved to do for my children, even if they find it annoying now that they are getting older. Other songs are ones that just remind me of them.

Here is my small playlist for my son and daughter as is right now filled with some of our favourites. I hope you enjoy this playlist.

Never Grow Up by Taylor Swift

Oh, darlin', don't you ever grow up . Don't you ever grow up . Just stay this little.

I always was a fan of this sweet little loving song by Taylor Swift. Along with the song Mean, this is one song that I knew and loved growing up with over the years. When I have seen my son's sweet face for the first time, I just thought of this song and how much it meant to me. That's part of why it's first on this list.

Yellow by Coldplay

I came along . I wrote a song for you . And all the things you do

An ex-boyfriend of mine sang me this song years ago. This beautiful ballad, was meant for my children. I know that. (The man who sang me the song, isn't the father of my children for the record.) But he is important to me. In a lot of different ways.

Can't Help Falling in Love by Haley Reinhart

Take my hand . Take my whole life too . For I can't help falling in love with you.

This Elvis Presley cover is simply beautiful. I love both artists versions of this song.

Somewhere Only We Know by Lily Allen

And if you have a minute, why don't we go . Talk about it somewhere only we know? This could be the end of everything . So, why don't we go, somewhere only we know.

I love this song. I had to include this cover in the playlist because of how beautiful Lily Allen makes it sound. This song makes me think of my children because I had them at a young age. Not everybody knows what it has been like. It's a beautiful song.

Iris by The Goo Goo Dolls

And I don't want the world to see me . 'Cause I don't think that they'd understand . When everything's made to be broken . I just want you to know who I am.

This song is simply so beautiful. I loved singing this one to my kids.

arms by Christina Perri

Say I love you when you’re not listening

This song reminds me of my children. That’s all I can really say. Even though it’s a love song the words remind me of how I feel about parenting. I feel like as a parent there are many times where you tell your children you love them even when they aren't listening. I know its a love song but it is one of my favourites.

I'll Be by Edwin McCain

The strands in your eyes that color them wonderful . Stop me and steal my breath . And emeralds from mountains thrust toward the sky , never revealing their depth

This is one of my favourite romance songs. I love singing it around the house. That's why I included it in this playlist.

Vincent by Ellie Goulding

Starry, starry night. Flaming flowers that brightly blaze. Swirling clouds in a violet haze. Reflect in Vincent's eyes of china blue.

I found this song while setting up my son's nursery in my first condo and I fell head over heels instantly for it. Give it a listen. It's utterly gorgeous.

Hallelujah by Theroy of a Deadman

Now I've heard there was a secret chord. That David played, and it pleased the Lord. But you don't really care for music, do you? It goes like this, the fourth, the fifth. The minor falls, the major lifts. The baffled king composing Hallelujah.

This cover by Theory is utterly enchanting. I’d recommend giving it a listen.

A Thousand Years by Christina Perri

I’ll love you for a thousand years. I’ll love you for a thousand more.

My daughter loves hearing me sing this song before bedtime. It’s one of her favourites and mine.

Lost Boy by Ruth B.

He came to me with the sweetest smile . Told me he wanted to talk for a while . He said, "Peter Pan, that's what they call me I promise that you'll never be lonely"

This beautiful sad song reminds me of my younger days. I love singing this one in the car with them.

Somewhere in Neverland by All Time Low

Wendy come and run away with me.

This classic pop-punk song reminds me of my children. I loved the lullaby version of the song when my son was a baby.

I Won't Give Up by Jason Mraz

I won’t give up, on us. Even when the skies get rough. I’m giving you all my love. I’m still looking up.

This beautiful song was made for my family I swear. It usually makes me cry.

Chasing Cars by Snow Patrol

If I lay here . If I just lay here . Would you lie with me and just forget the world?

I found this song in high school. I love singing it to my children before bedtime.

Your Song by Lady Gaga

And you can tell everybody this is your song . It may be quite simple, but now that it's done , I hope you don't mind . I hope you don't mind that I put down in words ... How wonderful life is, now you're in the world

This is another one of my favourite songs to sing to my children. As you can tell I’m a big fan of covers. Nothing against Elton John but I have such a soft spot in my heart for the way Lady Gaga puts a spin on his gorgeous song.

The Scientist by Coldplay

I was just guessing at numbers and figures . Pulling the puzzles apart . Questions of science, science and progress . Do not speak as loud as my heart . But tell me you love me, come back and haunt me . Oh and I rush to the start.

I was tempted to throw the Glee cover of this song in this playlist but I couldn’t. Coldplay is truly powerful. Nobody said parenting would be this hard. This song makes me think of them.

Three by Lily Allen

Please, don't go . Stay here with me . It's not my fault . I'm only three

This song makes me cry. On bad days I throw this song on to remind myself that my children are just babies still and even if life might be falling apart around me, I need to protect them from the harsh reality of our lives. It truly changed my perspective on raising my babies. Give it a listen, I promise you won’t regret it.

Dear Daughter by Halestorm

These are words , that every girl should have a chance to hear . There will be love . There will be pain . There will be hope . There will be fear . And through it all year after year stand or fall I will be right here for you

I have loved this song for a long time. I hope that my daughter grows up to move mountains.

Jamming by Bob Marley

We're jammin' , jammin'

This song my son used to kick his little legs to while he was still hiding inside me. He recognized it when he came out of me as just a little newborn. I love jamming with the kids with this song playing.

I hope you enjoy this playlist of songs for my children as much as I did creating it. Leave a comment down below what’s your favourite song to sing to your child?

playlist
1

About the Creator

Chloe Rose Violet 🌹

Writing from the heart about love, life, music, mental health, and everything else in between. 💀🥰

•Follow me on Threads @rosefearless

•Like my new Facebook page ROSEFEARLESS

Purchase my affirmation cards here!

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • sleepy draftsabout a year ago

    There is so much love in this beautiful playlist! It was wonderful to read the stories accompanying each song. đź’›

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.