Beat logo

Songs for Grandma

Some of the most important songs to me

By Rene PetersPublished 4 months ago 3 min read
7
Songs for Grandma
Photo by 愚木混株 cdd20 on Unsplash

This was inspired by prompt 4 here...

All of the following songs are reminders of my grandma. I'm going to explain why for each of them.

Humble and Kind - Tim McGraw

Humble and Kind was my grandma's favorite song as soon as she heard it. Every time it was on the radio, she would sing it and talk about how much she loved it. I'm not surprised given how selfless and caring she was. It didn't matter if she knew you or not, she helped everyone however she was able to. She had the most pure soul a person could possibly have.

Most People Are Good - Luke Bryan

My mom had me listen to this song one time. I'm like my grandma... Lyrics matter more than the music itself. As soon as I heard it, I knew I needed to introduce her to the song. The next time I went to her house for my normal weekend there, I had her listen to it. I put on the lyrics version, knowing that would be better for her than just the video. With every line, especially of the chorus, she continued to say "Yes" and "I agree." I told her that I found out about the song because Mom wanted me to listen to it and I immediately thought of her. I could tell by her expression that me thinking of her made her feel special. To me, that's a good thing though because she was, and continues to be, extremely special.

Loved Me That Way - Lauren Duski

I found out about this song from my best friend. She has known about my grandma since we met, including how special she has always been to me. I relate to it so much since it is about her grandparents and my grandma is who I've been grieving the loss of for five and a half years. The song helps remind me that there are so many great memories of her, that all the time we were able to spend together was amazing.

You Should Be Here - Cole Swindell

The name alone is so true. If pancreatic cancer didn't take her from us, she would only be 70. Before her cancer diagnosis, she was very healthy. She ate fairly healthy and loved going for walks daily, even though she had a job where she was standing and moving around a lot. She is the reason there used to be any exercise that I genuinely enjoyed. She was the single person I trusted to talk to without judgement. I had a therapist that I didn't even trust at that point. My mom says everything happens for a reason but why would the best person in so many people's lives be gone when she was only 64?

Watching You - Rodney Atkins

She is the only person I have ever wanted to be just like. I want to have her strength, intelligence, and selflessness. She was a fighter but not for herself... It was for her family. The doctors told her with chemotherapy she had 6-12 months and she was with us for 4.5 years. It didn't matter to her how she felt. She kept going for us. She could feel like complete garbage but if any of her kids or grandchildren had something that was important to them, she was there.

My Wish - Rascal Flatts

My Wish reminds me of her because she sent essentially the meaning of the song to us in her own words. She always had more faith in us than we had in ourselves. She always knew that we could accomplish anything. Her positive thoughts were always shared with family and friends. She always wanted us to know that she would be supportive of whatever we chose to do with life.

song reviewsplaylistlist
7

About the Creator

Rene Peters

I write what I know, usually in the form of poetry. I tend to lean towards mental health, epilepsy, and loss/grieving.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (6)

Sign in to comment
  • Angie the Archivist 📚🪶4 months ago

    This is such a beautiful tribute to your Grandma and the songs you shared together... such a blessing to have had her in your life! So sad about her cancer, but amazing she lasted so long after treatment, she surely was a 'fighter'!

  • I don't know any of these songs 😅 Your grandma seemed like a very wonderful person! 🥰🥰🥰

  • Mother Combs4 months ago

    You're GMA would love this playlist, IK. It's a great one. <3

  • Judey Kalchik 4 months ago

    Thank you for sharing these songs and what they mean to you. I know you’ve helped others through their grief by doing so.

  • Test4 months ago

    Renee, I am so glad you did this. Just beauiful. I have tears streaming down my face x A lovely tribute to your grandma 🤍🤍🤍

  • Babs Iverson4 months ago

    Beautiful story!!! Loved it!!!❤️❤️💕

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.