Beat logo

Somebody Else 1975 cover

SHANNON KING

By Shannon KingPublished 3 years ago 8 min read
Like
Disclaimer: I do not own nor did I create any of the instrumental/musical background or compose the melody or lyrics of this song. Credit is attributed to the original publisher/author/artists and the only part of this creation I own is the voice singing the song to a karaoke version that was available via youtube.com and the video compilation. The correct references are also notated for the biographies on the songs and artists. Thank you!

LYRICS

So I heard you found somebody else

And at first, I thought it was a lie

I took all my things that make sounds

The rest I can do without

I don't want your body

But I hate to think about you with somebody else

Our love has gone cold

You're intertwining your soul with somebody else

I'm looking through you while you're looking through your phone

And then leaving with somebody else

No, I don't want your body

But I'm picturing your body with somebody else

I don't want your body, I don't want your body

I don't want your body, I don't want your body

I don't want your body, I don't want your body

I don't want your body, I don't want your body

Come on baby

This ain't the last time that I'll see your face

Come on baby

You said you'd find someone to take my place

Oh I just don't believe that you have got it in you cause

We are just gonna keep "doin' it" and everytime

I start to believe in anything you're saying

I'm reminded that I should be getting over it

I don't want your body

But I hate to think about you with somebody else

Our love has gone cold

You're intertwining your soul with somebody else

I'm looking through you while you're looking through your phone

And then leaving with somebody else

No, I don't want your body

But I'm picturing your body with somebody else

I don't want your body, I don't want your body

I don't want your body, I don't want your body

I don't want your body, I don't want your body

I don't want your body, I don't want your body

Get someone you love?

Get someone you need?

Fuck that, get money

I can't give you my soul, 'cause we're never alone

Get someone you love?

Get someone you need?

Fuck that, get money

I can't give you my soul, 'cause we're never alone

Get someone you love?

Get someone you need?

Fuck that, get money

I can't give you my soul, 'cause we're never alone

Get someone you love?

Get someone you need?

Fuck that, get money

I can't give you my soul, 'cause we're never alone

I don't want your body

But I hate to think about you with somebody else

Our love has gone cold

You're intertwining your soul with somebody else

I'm looking through you while you're looking through your phone

And then leaving with somebody else

No, I don't want your body

But I'm picturing your body with somebody else

(https://www.azlyrics.com/lyrics/1975/somebodyelse.html)

About 1975: "The 1975 are an English pop rock band formed in 2002 in Wilmslow, Cheshire.[1][2] Now based in Manchester,[3] the band consists of lead vocalist, producer, lyricist and rhythm guitarist Matty Healy,[4] lead guitarist Adam Hann, bassist Ross MacDonald, and drummer/producer George Daniel.[5]

The band's origins trace to their attendance at secondary school and playing together as teenagers.[6] Gigs, organized by a council worker, led the band to sign with Dirty Hit and Polydor Records. The band opened for several major acts and released a series of extended plays (Facedown, Sex, Music for Cars, IV) throughout 2012 before releasing their self-titled debut album (2013), which included the popular singles "Sex", "Chocolate", and "Robbers" and reached number one in the United Kingdom.

Their second album, I Like It When You Sleep, for You Are So Beautiful yet So Unaware of It (2016), reached No. 1 in the US, UK, Canada, Australia and New Zealand.[7] Following the touring cycle for the record, the band announced their third album under the working title of Music for Cars, before going on hiatus again throughout 2017.

Returning in 2018, the band announced that the album had evolved into their third campaign cycle, consisting of their third and fourth studio albums. The first, A Brief Inquiry into Online Relationships (2018), was released to widespread critical acclaim,[8] and became their third No. 1 album in the UK. The second, Notes on a Conditional Form, was released in May 2020 and became their fourth consecutive No. 1 album in the UK.

The 1975 has garnered acclaim for their relevant lyricism and exploration of an eclectic range of genres such as pop rock, synth-pop, R&B, electropop, new wave forms of electronic music (such as UK garage, 2-step and ambient),[9][10] [11][12] and forms of rock music (such as shoegaze, post-punk and post-rock),[13][14][15][16] as well as elements of jazz, soul and gospel.[17][18][19][20]

2002–2011: Formation

Matty Healy, the son of actors Denise Welch and Tim Healy, grew up in Newcastle and Cheshire.[21][22] He met Ross MacDonald, Adam Hann and George Daniel at Wilmslow High School in Wilmslow in 2002; as teenagers they played together.[23][1] The band formed when the local council worker organised numerous gigs for teens. Matty Healy found Hann who "came up to [him] and said he wanted to play one of these shows."[24] The band began playing covers until they "eventually wrote a song", according to Healy. "We started from then and we've been making music together since we were about 15."[24] After Hann invited the members to form a band, they passed their early days covering punk songs in a local club.[3] Healy was originally the drummer but took over vocals after the previous singer left to start another band. George Daniel was recruited as the new drummer to complete the final line-up.

The band formerly performed under the names Me and You Versus Them, Forever Drawing Six,[26] Talkhouse,[27] the Slowdown,[28] Bigsleep,[29] and Drive Like I Do,[30] before settling on "the 1975". Healy recounts that the name was inspired by deranged and "mental" scribblings found on the backpage of the book On The Road by Jack Kerouac that were dated to "1 June, The 1975". This would become a prominent day of the band.[5][31]

The band's self-titled debut album was recorded with Arctic Monkeys collaborator Mike Crossey.[32] Between Autumn 2012 and Spring 2013, during which time the album was recorded, the band released four EPs. They toured to support and build momentum for the album, including numerous gigs and special appearances with other artists.

The album received positive reviews from critics, and topped the UK Albums Chart on 8 September.[33] As of March 2016, it had sold 410,981 copies in the UK,[34] and 390,000 copies in the US.[35]

The release of the band's first EP, titled Facedown, in August 2012 saw the band's first UK airplay on national radio with lead track "The City", which was also featured as part of a BBC Introducing show with Huw Stephens on BBC Radio 1.[23] The 1975 once again garnered national radio attention in late 2012, with BBC Radio 1 DJ Zane Lowe championing their single "Sex" from the eponymous EP, which was released on 19 November.[36] They embarked on a United Kingdom and Ireland tour extended into early 2013, before beginning a US tour in Spring 2014.[36] Upon the release of Music for Cars on 4 March 2013, the 1975 found mainstream chart success with "Chocolate", reaching number 19 in the UK Singles Chart. On 20 May 2013 the band released IV, which included a new version of "The City". The track charted in UK and received airplay in several other countries.

The 1975 toured extensively to support releases and to build hype before releasing their debut. The band supported Muse on the second leg of The 2nd Law World Tour at the Emirates Stadium in London on 26 May 2013.[37] They also toured with the Neighbourhood in the United States in June 2013,[38] and supported the Rolling Stones in Hyde Park on 13 July.[39] In August, the band performed on the Festival Republic Stage at 2013 Reading and Leeds Festivals.[40]

In a feature article, Elliot Mitchell of When the Gramophone Rings wrote that releasing a string of EPs before the debut album was "a move that he deemed necessary to provide context to the band's broad sound, rather than just building up with singles alone." Matthew Healy said, "We wouldn't have been able to release the album without putting out the EP's first, as we wanted to make sure we could express ourselves properly before dropping this long, ambitious debut record on people."[40]

Dublin Tour 2016

Their self-titled debut, The 1975, was released on 2 September 2013, co-produced by Mike Crossey, known for his work with Arctic Monkeys and Foals.[36] The 1975 were selling out shows even before the debut of their full length as Healy recalls in an interview with Larry Heath of The AU Review.[41] The lead single is a re-worked "Sex", which was released on 26 August 2013.[42] The song premiered on Zane Lowe's BBC Radio 1 show on 8 July 2013,[43] and a music video premiered on YouTube on 26 July. The 1975 debuted at number one on the UK Albums Chart.

Matthew Healy at Southside Festival 2014

The 1975 toured in the UK in September 2013, among others performing in Kingston upon Hull as headliners at Freedom Festival, a celebration of the city's shortlisting for 2017 UK City of Culture designation,[44] and at iTunes Festival on 8 September as an opening act for indie electronic quartet Bastille. The band undertook a North American tour in October, a European for November, and in January 2014 the band performed in New Zealand and Australia.[45] In September 2013, the band performed three sold-out shows at London's Shepherd's Bush Empire.[46] In April 2014, the band performed for the first time in a major American music and arts festival: Coachella.[47] The band played at Royal Albert Hall the same month.[48] In May, the band's recorded output was distributed digitally while they were touring North America. Healy noted that the band had recording scheduled in Q2 2015.[49]" (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_1975).

bands
Like

About the Creator

Shannon King

Born in St. Augustine, Fl, Shannon has a Master of Arts Degree in Applied Behavior Analysis from USF. She is currently pursuing a career in music, singing and writing with a focus in poetry, biographies, and inspirational messages.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.