Beat logo

Some Songs I Love

A Soundtrack for Life

By Rebecca PattonPublished 11 months ago 4 min read
Like
Some Songs I Love
Photo by Brett Jordan on Unsplash

Livin’ on a Prayer by Bon Jovi: Not long after I got my driver’s license, I remember listening to this song on the radio on the way to school. This song always managed to put a smile on my face and filled me with energy and liveliness. It also has a good message about hope and perseverance. How can this song not be one of my favorites?

Uptown Girl by Billy Joel: I was reading a book about a boy going to a new school only to find out that the teachers and most of the students were vampires. And the only reason why he was there was because they needed a human to be on their water polo team since they were afraid of water. While the concept is perhaps a bit silly, the book was awfully fun to read. I won’t spoil what happens, but I remember listening to music on the computer while reading this and during an inspirational part, this song came on. The song somehow made the story even more uplifting and exciting, and it made me feel confident that the characters were going to accomplish their goal. I will always appreciate and love this song for making this book even better for me.

Silhouettes by Herman’s Hermits: I believe one of my brothers had made a new CD for my parents and we were listening to it on the way back from the library. I was reading a fairy tale book in the backseat when this song came on. The song’s upbeat tune seemed to emphasize the whimsical and positive nature of the fairy tale. Also, it is just a good song.

Welcome to the Black Parade by My Chemical Romance: I was in my high school band and one year, our band director gave us a CD of some of the songs we were going to play in marching band. One of the songs on that CD was, you guessed it, this song. It was just the instrumental version of course but even though I didn’t know the lyrics or even the song's meaning, I just loved how beautifully empowering the beginning notes were. Then I found the original version and now I am even more in love with this powerful song.

Pachelbel’s Canon: I believe the first time I listened to this peaceful song was on a Christmas CD funnily enough. I always liked dancing and I remember happily to this simple, yet beautiful piece of music. No wonder it’s often played at weddings!

The Last Stand by Sabaton: I don’t remember where I was or what I was doing when I first heard this song, but one thing I know for sure is that this piece of music introduced me to Sabaton. For those who don’t know, Sabaton is a Swedish band that sings about war history. This particular song is about how the Swedish Guard defended and saved the Pope in 1527 from a large band of mercenaries. I have always liked history, so I can appreciate it when I can learn something in such a fun, head-bopping way!

Everytime We Touch by Cascada: I don’t remember the first time I listened to this song either, but it is a fun, upbeat song that I always had fun dancing to when I went to organized dances as a teen.

Somewhere Out There by Linda Rondstadt and James Ingram: I have associated this song with An American Tail, a movie I loved watching while growing up. Thanks to my parents, I also grew up listening to Linda Rondstadt, which adds even more nostalgia to the song. I don’t know what else I can say about this song other than it makes me feel hopeful and I like its message of hope, love, and family.

You’re a Good Man, Charlie Brown by Lyricists Clark Gesner and Andrew Lippa: I may have a bit of a strange relationship with this song. This is from the musical, You’re a Good Man, Charlie Brown and my school district’s drama club (I say school district because our drama club had members from both high school and middle school due to a small student population) was going to perform this one year. I had finally landed a role (it was a small role and it was only because people dropped out, but still) when we performed The Jungle Book the year before so I thought our drama club teacher would finally give me a part, despite me not being the best singer or the clearest speaker (speech problems). But alas, I was put in the chorus which, wouldn’t have been so bad if some of the other chorus members were around my age. However, I was the only tenth grader while everyone else was either a fourth or a fifth grader. I eventually dropped out myself (probably much to my mom’s relief) but it was after we were all given CDs of the soundtrack. And while I wasn’t the best fan of the musical at the time (don’t worry theater fans, I like it now), I did like this opening number, due to its optimistic and inspiring nature. Also, Charlie Brown is kind of relatable now that I’m older.

playlistmetalconcertclassicalbandsart90s music80s music70s music60s music
Like

About the Creator

Rebecca Patton

Ever since I discovered Roald Dahl, I wanted to be an author who would delight and move her readers through her stories and characters. I have also written my debut novel, "Of Demons and Deception."

IG: https://www.instagram.com/rspatton10/

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.