Beat logo

Solsbury Hill

A song of joyful memories

By Phil FlanneryPublished 3 months ago 4 min read
8
Photo by author

There are many songs through our long history of music, that speak to us in a very real way. Songs born from desperation and pain, or from the joy of being alive. These songs are timeless and become a part of the fabric of our lives.

An artist I love and visit regularly is Peter Gabriel. He seems to be able to translate into music and rhythm, what we all feel.

My wife and I have a song. 'Our Song', happens to be a Peter Gabriel song from his album 'So', his most successful. ‘In Your Eyes’, made famous by the movie Say Anything.

The final part of this song has the very distinctive voice of Youssou N’Dour, which is the perfect ending to a beautiful song. It sounds like he is singing a prayer to his love.

Peter Gabriel has developed a deep connection with his followers. Thoughtful, meaningful lyrics, always driven by amazing rhythms. A great supporter of other artists, often having them on his work or singing on theirs. He co-founded World of Music Arts and Dance (WOMAD). He started Real World Record label and is a loud voice in the struggle for human rights across the globe.

The song Solsbury Hill, from his first solo album after leaving Genesis, is special to me, because I was introduced to it by an older brother, way back when it came out in the 1977. We were living through strange times and this song sounded so hopeful.

We were both taken by the message of someone becoming aware. For me it is a message of awakening; the realisation that there is more to life than what’s presented to you; if you look up. Peter Gabriel says it's about letting go.

Recently I stumbled on a YouTube clip where someone has spliced together performances of Solsbury Hill captured through the history of the song and its creator. The joy on the faces of the musician and singers is unabashed, and a reflection of the joy the audience is radiating.

The song is timeless and this video is a perfect representation of why.

The song is 47 years old and has aged beautifully, much like its creator.

Authors note:

I hope you took the 4 minutes and 29 seconds to enjoy this video.

You will thank me.

I wish I had seen him live, the closest I've come to him is Phil Collins (3 times).

Thanks to Wikipedia for the facts.

***

I would now like to complain about the word limit for the Beat community. I can waffle on with the best of them and too often do, but sometimes, and I would suggest this is a perfect example, the music speaks for itself.

There are most likely other communities that don't need a 600 word minimum to explain something that another person has created.

My purpose today was simply to highlight the brilliance of an artist like Peter Gabriel, not to bore readers with an extended prattle from a bullshit artist like me. (I'm about 90 words short now).

I leave you with the words of the subject of my piece.

Climbing up on Solsbury Hill

I could see the city light

Wind was blowing, time stood still

Eagle flew out of the night

He was something to observe

Came in close, I heard a voice

Standing, stretching every nerve

Had to listen, had no choice

I did not believe the information

Just had to trust imagination

My heart going boom, boom, boom

"Son", he said, "grab your things, I've come to take you home"

To keep in silence I resigned

My friends would think I was a nut

Turning water into wine

Open doors would soon be shut

So I went from day to day

Though my life was in a rut

'Til I thought of what I'll say

Which connection I should cut

I was feeling part of the scenery

I walked right out of the machinery

My heart going boom, boom, boom

"Hey", he said, "grab your things, I've come to take you home"

(Hey, back home)

When illusion spin her net

I'm never where I want to be

And liberty she pirouette

When I think that I am free

Watched by empty silhouettes

Who close their eyes but still can see

No one taught them etiquette

I will show another me

Today I don't need a replacement

I'll tell them what the smile on my face meant

My heart going boom, boom, boom

"Hey", I said, "you can keep my things, they've come to take me home"

song reviews70s music
8

About the Creator

Phil Flannery

Damn it, I'm 61 now, which means I'm into my fourth year on Vocal, I have an interesting collection of stories. I love the Challenges and enter, when I can, but this has become a lovely hobby.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (7)

Sign in to comment
  • Novel Allen3 months ago

    Back when they made the Humor community, I asked for the word count to be flexible. You do not need 600 words to be funny. I totally agree, the communities need to be open to interpretation and only regulated in challenges. I get annoyed when I say what I wanna say and have to go say what I dont wanna say to make 600 words. Still, I enjoyed the walk down memory lane.

  • Unusual for its 7/4 time signature, but a favourite of mine. Excellent look back on a wonderful song

  • I've never heard of this song and I'm so glad you introduced it to me! So happy you provided the lyrics as well to reach 600 words!

  • Kendall Defoe 3 months ago

    One of my favourite songs...😎

  • This is one of my all-time favorites. One of those songs that just grabs you and holds on. Thanks for highlighting it. Enjoyed your thoughts on this iconic song.

  • L.C. Schäfer3 months ago

    "Singing a prayer to his love" - that's just what it's like! You described it perfectly.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.