Beat logo

Sing Me

Songs to get you through Quarantine!

By MarwahPublished 4 years ago 4 min read
1
All rights reserved to whoever owns this image.

Tuning out the world, while I humn silently to the Beetles on my playlist, I'm suddenly jarred awake from my reverie when my sister chucks a pillow at my head.

''What?'', I yell.

''Slow your music down. I can't concentrate!'', she says, while peering down at her book.

I look down at my phone guiltily. The wire had come dislodged from my phone, and I hadn't noticed. I needed new headphones, but with my weekly allowance that had to wait. I sighed.

Music was my whole world. It was my drug, it's lullabies more essential more to me than the need to eat.

The lyrics needed to mean something to me, relate to a part of my life, that feels incomplete without it. That is how I know I've found my favorite song.

Once it's my favorite, I can never go back. I cling to it as if it's an integral part of me.

2 years ago, I suddenly lost my hearing. It came back 2 weeks later, but those 2 weeks trapped with nothing but my thoughts and no music felt like a nightmare. I would do anything to keep my hearing.

When the gloomy times hit, and my quarantine feels like a never-ending stretch of nothing, I play ''Mercy'' by Shawn mendes.

He's my go-to artist for hyping my mood. Young enough to relate to, and diverse enough to never get bored. I adored his album ''Youth'' with Khalid. It was both inspiring and riveting. His dreamy eyes seems to look into my soul while he growls into his microphone. The diversity in the song was beautiful and phenomenal, putting light to people who have decided to conquer their niches no matter their disability, inspired me to create and never let my depression wins.

Growing up with fairytales, I always envisioned my life to be one. The reality was different. You fought for the things you wanted, with strength and courage. Despite trying my hardest, I would lose. I never let it get to me. Never let it beat me down. Throughout my journey music was my one constant.

I feel like ''Speechless'' by Naomi Scott, describes by feelings perfectly. When words aren't enough, and you long to speak out but can't. I listen to this song during my vulnerable moments of quarantine. Where family expectations and pressure to be somebody I'm not, overwhelms me, I can count on this song to pull me out of it.

I like my music full of strength and emotions. The lyrics needs to mean something to me, relate to a part of my life, that feels incomplete without it. I will listen to it for years to come, maybe until I'm old and my playlist is close to bursting. I'll continue to listen to this song and have my children listen to it as well.

''A whole new world'', By Zayn malik and Zhavia ward. A new favorite.

Zayn's dreamy eyes looks on as he sings this song. I'm lost in his voice.

I've always wanted to sing, to lull people into serenity with my voice. To stand on a stage and look down at them, lost in my spell, people who have forgotten their worries and now just dance to my songs.

I don't care if I'm not a good enough artist. It never stops me from singing. This is exactly how art should be, un-shackled by people's views of what is good enough.

Maybe it's my indian background, but I am never satisfied by songs in only one language. I enjoy Arjit Singh's soulful music, his voice is one of the best there is in the field. Full of life, and love and an aching vulnerability that makes me cry. I have never been in love, never felt that pull to another human being, but that's not the case for Arjit I'm sure.

Sufi music will always be a part of me. When Pakistan and india are not fighting, they sure can come together to make beautiful music, that brings our people together. It eradicates our differences, and makes us realise that if it were not politics and religion, we are the same people with different religions.

These were my playlists. I hope you like them, don't hesitate to like the heart button and let me know what parts you liked, and where I need to improve. Please check out my other blogs too! Love you all!

.........................

song reviews
1

About the Creator

Marwah

The universe has a message for you. Try again, bae. Reach without expecting nothing.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.