Beat logo

Shivers All Over

A Halloween Playlist

By Jennifer RegisPublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 4 min read
Like
Shivers All Over
Photo by Charles Deluvio on Unsplash

The tension of a psychological thriller.

The anxiety of a true crime documentary.

The full body aghskjilkghjks of nails on a chalkboard (if you know, then you know).

Something’s not right. You don’t feel safe but you don’t know why…yet.

Set the audio mood for that oh so creepy feeling.

Oogie Boogie’s Song from The Nightmare Before Christmas

I had to start with one of my favorites. It's the neon blacklight effect combine with a song that is both playful and ominous for me. Entertaining and eternally catchy, Oogie Boogie's Song highlights that he is the baddie that does it just for the thrill of it.

This is Halloween from The Nightmare Before Christmas

Another entry from The Nighmare Before Christmas, This is Halloween is one of the very few songs of celebration (only one I can think of anyway) in minor key. We are dark and scary and we love that for us.

Bottom of the River by Delta Rae

You are the progeny of a witch/goddess/supernatural being and you are about to be sacrificed. Sure, she's doing it to "protect" you from the murderous towns people, but it's definitely giving "if mama can't have you, no else can" vibes, no?

Come Little Children by Sarah Jessica Parker (from Hocus Pocus)

This song is so hypnotic, seductive even, but then you remember the Sanderson sisters are here to eat your children.

Werewolves of London by Warren Zevon

This song has no right to slap like it does, but here we are. The juxtaposition of a casual pop-y piano melody with lines like, "a little old lady got mutilated late last night" never made me think Warren Zevon might be a serial killer, not even once.

I Put A Spell On You by Nina Simone

There are many covers of this song, but the version by Nina Simone is my favorite because it starts of with that eerie calm. There is no scarier thing in the world than a woman scorned who's give a damn is busted.

Symphonie Fantastique, Op.14 - 5. Dream of A Witches' Sabbath by Berlioz

Rumor has it that this piece created so much anxiety in the audience, that Belioz was run out of town, chased by angry people with pitchforks. Now that takes some skill.

The Carnival from Sleeping With The Enemy

If you haven't seen Sleeping With The Enemy, I won't ruin the premise for you here. Suffice it to say, I was probably way too young to watch this movie when I did. I heard this music in my sleep for weeks after.

Moonlight Sonata by Beethoven

This movement is just a whole mood, you know. Dark, mysterious, maybe even a little melancholy. If you could represent the process of shadow work in musical terms, it might be this. Or a vampire's theme song.

Theme from Jaws by John Williams

If a panic attack had a theme song, I imagine it would be written by John Williams.

Theme from Halloween by John Carpenter

This was the movie that made me realize that the anticipation of the threat was way scarier than the actual threat. Composed and performed by John Carpenter? Well, he's just showing off now

I’m So Afraid by Fleetwood Mac

I'm very particular about which version of this song you choose. The original studio version is meh, at best. But this version from The Dance?The organ. The drums. The guitar solo. It's all so gothic and epic.

Necromancer by Gnarls Barkley

This song is creepy is hell, but the dark symbolism and that funky beat? Chef's kiss

Heathens by Twenty One Pilots

Sometimes, you just need a dark banger at your party. I recommend the 8D version if you've got a good sound system.

Tubular Bells (Theme from The Exorcist)

Fun fact: this song was not written specfically for The Exorcist. Which just goes to show any song can sound scary when you put it in the right context.

Little Red Riding Hood by Sam the Sham and The Pharaohs

This song screams "I'm creepy." "You're everything a big, bad wolf could want?" Run, Red! Run!

Hanging Tree by Jennifer Lawrence (from Mockingjay Part 1)

This song invades your brain. It sticks. It's easy to hum. The Southern Gothic feel. Such good tingles from this one.

O Death from O Brother Where Art Thou

Out of context of the movie, this song is chilling. Ralph Stanley's aged voice and demeanor truly embodied the weight of this song. Not one for the party playlist, but if you want to go that dark place this will take you there.

The Siren Song from O Brother Where Art Thou

Another siren call. The theramin in the background ups the tingle factor for me. I would definitely drown.

Toxic Love by Tim Curry (from Fern Gully)

Tim Curry is to blame for all my sexual confusion about villians. And he was just sludge and smoke in this one. I seriously feel like I should send him my therapy bills.

How Soon Is Now by The Smiths

I feel like every Millenial has been conditioned to associate this song with the supernatural. For me, it was The Craft and Charmed. What about you?

Control by Halsey

My sister introduced me to this one. I definitely get dark feminine energy vibes from this one. This would fit in nicely on a "Songs that make you feel like a villian and you like it" playlist as well.

I've created a Spotify playlist with all of the songs listed here (link here: https://open.spotify.com/playlist/7ifWFtXoUWxA4mkJKHUyC0?si=753e253cbc0d465d ). Let me know if they create that vibe for you too.

Happy Halloween.

playlist
Like

About the Creator

Jennifer Regis

Former veterinarian resurrected as a writer/digital artist. My inner child wanted a job I guess. Also, my personality is multiple neurodivergencies in a trench coat, but I'm good at trivia so there's that

IG: @ patronsaintoffractiousanimals

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.