Beat logo

Seven Songs of Solacement

The Fifties, a Great Decade

By Cleve Taylor Published 3 years ago 3 min read
5
Seven Songs of Solacement
Photo by Eric Krull on Unsplash

Seven Songs of Solacement

This was a very difficult piece to write because of all the self initiated interruptions. With every song I mentally placed on my good feelings list, I was compelled to find it online and listen to it, which in turn so mellowed me out that it was tempting to just listen to the music and put off writing until later. Even so, I was able to winnow down from hundreds of "possibles" a playlist of seven guaranteed to becalm me and take me to a place of good feelings and good memories.

I recognize that my selection predates just about everybody, but great music existed before any of us were born, and my playlist comes from the mid-fifties when the words to songs were clearly enunciated and many of the big bands were still active and backing popular singers. I daresay that many from my generation would find my playlist calming, though I admit I have no idea how a twenty-one year old might react to it.

"Moonlight in Vermont" immediately came to mind. I prefer Sarah Vaughan's recording with Count Basie's Orchestra providing the backup. However there is a great version by Ella Fitzgerald and Louis Armstrong and an excellent pressing by Frank Sinatra.

With "Blow me a kiss from across the room. Say I look nice when I'm not", Kitty Kalen's "Little Things Mean a Lot" was the second song on my playlist. Recorded and a huge hit in 1954, it has had staying power in my mind ever since.

"Autumn Leaves", Roger William's light fingered piano instrumental creates mental images of falling leaves and all the colors of fall. It takes only a few notes to bring a smile and induce a feeling that all is well with the world, when his song starts.

The Platters hit, "My Prayer", just one of several memorable hits by this talented group in 1956 and 1957, occupies a special place on my playlist. Another of their great hits, ,"The Great Pretender", could substitute for "My Prayer" should circumstances warrant.

Johnny Mathis had a long successful singing career. Early on he recorded "It's Not For Me to Say" which I have on my playlist. It just barely beats out his hit "Chances Are". Any of his recordings would be suitable as a mellowing out song.

"Many a tear has to fall, but it's all in the game. All in that wonderful game we know as love…". and so I introduce Tommy Edwards' "It's All in the Game", 1958 hit. He sounded a little like Nat King Cole, but not so much as to be considered an imitator. That tune has long been lodged in my mind and deservedly resides amongst my playlist of soothing songs.

My seventh song was written and recorded by the legendary Hank Williams and was one of his many great hits. Stories have it that he ran into Joni James. a pop star, at MGM Studios, and told her he had a song for her. Whether that story is true or not, Joni James recorded the pop version of "Your Cheating Heart" at MGM Studios, and it is this pop version that rests with the others of my Seven Songs of Solacement.

I don't have all these on a single thumb drive or CD, but one of our streaming services features hits of the fifties as well as golden oldies. So when I am abed and ready to sleep I select one of these channels and am immediately transported from today's irks and stresses by music suggesting a calmer and more peaceful time.

It is zen that I can fall asleep.

vintage
5

About the Creator

Cleve Taylor

Published author of three books: Ricky Pardue US Marshal, A Collection of Cleve's Short Stories and Poems, and Johnny Duwell and the Silver Coins, all available in paperback and e-books on Amazon. Over 160 Vocal.media stories and poems.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

Cleve Taylor is not accepting comments at the moment

Want to show your support? Become a pledged subscriber or send them a one-off tip.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.