Beat logo

Rex Orange County has the uncapped ability to paint an emotional rollercoaster and it's his version of a song.

He's a little magical and pretty relatable.

By Peter MasonPublished 4 years ago 2 min read
Like
Rex's Pony tour. (me)

The original capture of his musical prowess for me was his album, Apricot Princess. The low-driven approach that softly tingles your heartstrings has worked the many times I need a song. Sometimes it's just a happy song, a relaxing song, one for studying, and one for being more emotional. I don't always choose his music, but it might just reappear on my queue. Before I know it, I'm enticed by the gentle caressing nature of his music alone. But this song storyline and wording has this ability to make me remember things that I wasn't thinking about and cause me to get emotional. And for that reason, it can provide something new to me each time I listen.

He makes looking out the window a little more relatable and pleasant. As if he knows how it feels. It's like he is holding out a guiding hand rather than holding our hand.

Select songs by Rex Orange County somehow avoid the routine nature and lifespan that most songs live out. Those nice, new songs begin to peak and then fall into the songs of that decade, replaced by current ones. Then in-between those successes and the songs that don't really ever get off the ground, there's a spot for longer-lasting songs. And some of his music fits in there, and I personally can connect to. His music is relatable with stories and emotions that most of us are going to feel when we meet a special someone. And it doesn't go to plan. Or if life takes us on a different highway than the one we wanted to travel on. He makes looking out the window a little more relatable and pleasant. As if he knows how it feels. It's like he is holding out a guiding hand rather than holding our hand.

Wonderfully spontaneous. (me)

I've been thriving off his music for about 3 years now. When the chance to go to his concert came around, I pretty much didn't blink an eye. I didn't plan it like most do, a year or so in advance. But that's okay. You don't have to act as everyone else does. Things happen, life happens. So, when I found out on the day of his second last concert, I took the opportunity to purchase last-minute tickets and arrive 5 mins before he started. For me, it felt additionally unique, I've been patient in waiting for the right possibility to happen, just because nothing fell into place. When this chance came around, of course I'd try, and I got discounted tickets because people had to cancel, I guess. I probably have Spotify advertising to thank for this reminder as well.

Guitar solo. (me)

Cool cool cool cool. Anyway I was so so surprised at the atmosphere of the evening and the talent Mr Rex has. I called myself a fan, but I had no idea that he was so skilled at his art. He is an artist for me that can iterate yet retain his style upon his past work and create mental masterpieces between my ears. A genius in short supply. Thank you, sir. He can blend his dexterity with his music nouse and combine them on both the piano and guitar for spine-tingling, several minute masterpieces. It also feels warm as part of a crowd where absolutely anyone belongs. He is cherished, and we love his talent, humility and shyness. And if that's not a magical effect, then it's a close as we'll get.

bands
Like

About the Creator

Peter Mason

Business enquiries:

[email protected]

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.