Beat logo

Remember to Breathe: "Knock Yourself Out" Review

New single from solo project Remember to Breathe based in Sioux Falls, SD—let's take a look!

By Mackenzie CoberleyPublished 5 years ago 3 min read
Like

Adel Toay started a pop-punk project called Remember To Breathe based out of Sioux Falls, South Dakota. This project has had influences from some of the greats such as Blink-182 and Yellowcard, as well as the early 2000s pop punk and 90s emo music. They signed with Loud, Broke, & Dumb Records for their debut album Lessons on Getting Out and Growing Up which released on October 28, 2016. They have toured through the Midwest and opened up for notable rising acts such as Remo Drive, Belmont, Household, and many more. As an up and coming Midwest pop punk project, I suggest that you keep an eye out for them as there is a definite future ahead! They released their new single "Knock Yourself Out" on March 8, 2019.

"Knock Yourself Out"

Starting out with your classic pop-punk jam, this single definitely caught my attention. I am proud to say the least that, that we are seeing more and more pop-punk bands coming out of the Midwest. This single sticks true to pop punk routes and sounds. Embracing the culture of accepting who you are and ignoring those around you and who they expect you to be. The chorus of the song is that moment you realize you want to just be you, and if someone says otherwise, they can "knock themselves out." This new single stays up beat throughout the entire song and will have your head bobbing all day long. I enjoyed listening to this song and I have high expectations for what is to come. If you are pop punk kid at heart, this is a song for you. Below you will find the visuals for this song as well!

I wanted you all to know more about this band and what they have in store so I asked them a few questions as well to make sure their story and brand is told to you all!

Music With Mack: Tell me what this song means to you:

Remember to Breathe: "Knock Yourself Out" is really an anthem about accepting who you are and being okay it with it. IT’S GOING TO BE OKAY.

What are your future goals for Remember To Breathe?

Keep writing songs that I swear my dog likes!

What made you want to start this project?

Remember to Breathe started as a sad songwriting hail to Dashboard Confessional when I was 16 and grew into a full band project.

Where are you based out of?

I’m based out of Sioux Falls, South Dakota.

What can be expected after this single is released?

Coming in the next few months I’ll be touring the Midwest and releasing more singles!

Anything else you might want mentioned in the review before it goes out:

Follow me on Insta and see the shenanigans my dog and lizard get into! @adeltoay

Remember to follow Remember To Breathe on their social media platforms and make sure to keep your eye out for their upcoming tours in the Midwest.

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/REMEMBERTOBREATHE/

Twitter: https://twitter.com/rtbreathe

Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/rtbreathe/

YouTube: http://remembertobreathe.band/YouTube

https://www.remembertobreathemusic.com

If you have any other suggestions for me, let me know! Hope you enjoyed some or all these songs. Make sure to support your local music scene ALWAYS and let the world know your favorite music. Let me know what music you want me to review next!

Keep checking back for more music updates and reviews on new music, up and coming bands, and so much more! Email me at [email protected] if you want me to check your music and band! I am now taking submissions and your band could be reviewed next!

song reviews
Like

About the Creator

Mackenzie Coberley

This is my life! Just trying to write what makes me happy

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.