Beat logo

Relax and heal to these

Zen playlist

By CosmicAliPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
Like
Relax and heal to these
Photo by Eric Nopanen on Unsplash

Whenever I want to wind down, I have a few choices in mind I like to listen to and it's always a random search in YouTube.

For meditation or focusing, I like to listen to water from nature sounds from a creek, to the ocean waves, to a waterfall, to the rain. Then add a little instrument with either a piano, guitar, humdrum, or some Indian or Chinese instrumental music as it's all so calming and brings in such peaceful feelings and visuals. Whether that's just a click on YouTube, or going out to nature with an instrument and creating that beautiful sound yourself, the results are both the same: blissful.

When I want to get into my art with drawing, painting or making something with my hands, a lo-fi beat is a nice way to get the creative juices flowing in and out. I also found that lo-fi beats mix really well with a rainy day as they both share the same sort of vibe.

When I want to feel my feelings in meditation, I jump right into songs with lyrics that express how I feel, usually a soulful, R&B or rap song that I know so well, with lyrics that make me cry or gets my heart pumping because it's so relatable, to feel at ease about the fact that I'm not the only one that feels this way, to find a song and be able to say "that is exactly how I feel or what I'm going through." Singing along to something I can relate to is such a healing and healthy thing for me to do, it can also be a type of active meditation to ground myself into releasing how I've been feeling through music.

When I want to escape into my daydreaming fantasies, I chose the instrumentals of my favourite fantasy movie soundtracks like:

Harry Potter and the Half Blood Prince has an eerie, creepy and intense sound so it's good for my creepy, weird, dark thoughts and feelings.

Pirates of the Carribbean Dead Man's Chest and At World's End has a mixture of gentle, intense, tribal and ancient sounding music which is great for the adventurous and heartwarming daydream.

Another great soundtrack that's not from a movie but a video game is Kingdom Hearts, it mostly just has one main soundtrack song and it is so beautiful, it taps me into my heart and makes me feel so blissful, like walking through nature, actively meditating while I walk around, hug the trees and ground myself in the sand. It is a repetitive song so it can get stuck it your head easily, but it's a song that's not going to get annoying being stuck in your head as the repeat will keep you at ease, kind of like breathing or swinging on a swing, it just goes back and forth so peacefully.

Recently I started getting into the classical pieces made by Mozart, Beethoven, Debussy and Bach, they were all such beautiful artists, and I can see so very clearly as to why all these artists have had their pieces put into movies and tv shows, as they can all turn actions into music (even music into action) like as if they had the music in the head and ears everywhere they went, changing their notes to go with what they were doing, so it's a great idea to listen to them if you're actively meditating doing day-to-day stuff.

Another choice of music to Zen out to, is music you can dance freely to, the mix between music and dancing is one of the most healing things you can do for yourself, be Zen in your own body by letting your body move in all ways that is needed, throw away your ego and tap into your body to dance it all out, to any music you feel like, whether it's calming, rhythmic, tribal, electronic, or any genre, let those juices move around your body, shake out anything that does not serve you well and heal yourself with it.

Next level choice of music, is creating your own! Get out your guitar, piano or any instrument you got and make something from the heart, feel the vibration of the instrument going through your hands, arms and to the heart, feel those goosebumps come up, or open up that music creating app and start creating what you've been feeling deep down that will bring out those goosebumps. Whether the results sound good or not, it just feels so good to make your own music. Not only am I suggesting you to make music only with the sound and the beat, but another great way to create and release is singing, if you're insecure about your voice, who gives a crap! It purely feels so good to let your voice out, whether it's a gentle, angelic sound, rhythmic rapping, or screaming like you're in a heavy metal band, it doesn't matter, you are not performing it, you are healing through your vocal system, even singing what you are currently doing or reading has the same effect. The more you sing, the more you will unblock your throat chakra. The more you create, the more you will unblock your crown, third eye and heart chakra. The more you listen to music, the more your ALL of your charkra's will open up.

So go get those musical juices flowing in this rhythmic rhythm of life, and tap into your heart to chose what you need to listen to the most.

playlist
Like

About the Creator

CosmicAli

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.