Beat logo

READY TO RUMBLE

WoRkOut With ME

By Rachel KPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Top Story - November 2020
14
READY TO RUMBLE
Photo by sporlab on Unsplash

I have found it. This is the perfect running playlist for my millennial/gen Z babies. It contains all the pop/rap hits from 2010-the present. It can't get much better than this and I am here to tell you why.

The first song on the playlist "Over" by Drake takes me back to those days when I really questioned what I was doing. Funnily enough, this questioning is far from over and just keeps coming. Thanks COVID. I feel like my life is a whole bunch of questions masked by a put-together facade I like to put on. For instance, do I enjoy running because it is fun or do I enjoy running because the physical pain distracts me? May the world never know.

The second song... oh, it's definitely a favorite of mine. I was in high-school when it came out and man, the beat gets to you as you're running down the street. "I'm Different" by 2 Chainz really makes me feel like I can take on the world. Middle finger up to my competition as I pass the guy on my right. You got this... just keep going. JUST KEEP GOING.

You know, I started from the bottom. I was not always a good runner. People think that I was naturally talented and say I never struggled, wasn't hungry, yeah, I doubt it. That is just not the case. In fact, I didn't start running until high school and I definitely had a rough start.

The first day of practice was a complete disaster. How was I supposed to know that you're not supposed to eat milk and cereal before running (especially if you're on the verge of complete and total lactose intolerance)? When I showed up, I was by far the smallest (5'0 and 85 lbs) girl there. I was was not prepared for what the coach had in store for that day.

On the agenda was 8 200's, or 8 half-laps of a track. To a non-trackie this may seem easy, or at least not as challenging as running 7 miles. Let me tell you though, when you're supposed to run it in less than 30 seconds, you might hate life. I know I did.

On the first set, I knew I was in for it. I came in dead last out of my group. By the fifth set, I had fallen so far behind, not to mention completely out of breath, that I didn't know how I was going to stay on this team. I kept pushing through and well... sometimes the struggle is real. I was on my seventh set when my stomach really said: there's vomit on his sweater already, mom's spaghetti. I hadn't vomited in years, but right as I crossed the line, I bee-lined to the bushes. Everything I ate that morning came up. EVERYTHING. I was so embarrassed.

The coach came over and sat me down. He patted me on the back and said "welcome to track". Now I get those goosebumps every time I think about this memory because it reminds me of where I came from. I stuck with running, pushing myself even when it was hard. I braved the heat of Texas summers and the freezing cold of Boston winters. No matter where I was, I found myself runnin'. Wow.

Now, six years later I haven' stopped. I may not be a trackie anymore, but I have found a comparable love for distance running where music is essential.

This playlist is full of so many good beats that I feel like I'm dancing while I'm running. That sounds odd. What I mean to say is that the beats serve as a great tempo for when you're trying to put in the miles. I have found it difficult to keep the same pace for my long runs and when I listen to music, it perks me up when I start to slow. It also perks me up WHEN I GET BORED. There. I said it. I do get bored running.

If you ask any runner, they're lying if they say they don't lose interest after a period of time. I know you had enough. For me, it depends on the day. Sometimes it's at the 2 mile mark and sometimes it's at the 5 mile mark. Whenever it is, it does happen and that's when I start really turning up the volume. So, if you're in the market for some new music in your life check out this playlist. I promise you won't regret it!

rap
14

About the Creator

Rachel K

Hey y'all! Wecome to my page of quite literally whatever comes to my mind. I am a senior at Tufts Unversity majoring in STEM. Unfortunatley, that doesn't give me a bunch of room for creative writing! Just trying to bring light to the world!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.