Beat logo

Rate-O-Rama: Funkytown

Songmania Edition #8

By Rick Henry Christopher Published 7 months ago β€’ 4 min read
9
Lipps Inc., Pseudo Echo, Alvin and the Chipmunks

Rate-O-Rama : Songmania is a reader participation game.

Every Sunday I will publish a Rate-O-Rama article which will feature three versions of a popular song.

The object is to listen to each of the music videos provided within the post.

After listening to each video you can rate each song in the comments section below.

(You must be a member to comment. If you are not a member you can join Vocal Media for FREE. You don’t ever have to pay for membership unless you choose to upgrade your membership)

πŸ’•πŸ’•πŸ’•πŸ’•πŸ’ž

The rating method is easy. Simply give each song a rating of 1 to 100.

(The more you like the song the higher the rating).

If possible, please provide a brief comment explaining the reasoning behind your ratings for each song.

After a week (Saturday evening) I will tally the ratings and in the next Rate-O-Rama post I will announce the winner from the previous post.

The winners will be determined on a scale of averages.

If you wish to receive a notice when the next Rate-O-Rama post is published please mention that you would like a notification in the comments section.

πŸ’•πŸ’•πŸ’•πŸ’•πŸ’ž

The Raffle!!!

I am taking the Rate-O-Rama series to the next level. At the end of each month I will do a raffle in which the winner will win a $5.00 tip.

To enter all you have to do is participate in playing the Rate-O-Rama game. Since R-O-R is updated every Sunday night in order to qualify you must play the game during it's initial seven day period with Sunday evening being the cutoff period.

For each game you play you will receive a ticket for the raffle. Therefore if you play all four games in the month you will have four chances to win.

The winner will not only win the $5 prize but I will feature your Vocal Profile on Vocal + Assist on both Facebook and Discord and you will be featured in the first R-O-R game of the month after your win.

The September 2023 Rate-O-Rama Raffle Winner:

πŸ’•πŸ’•πŸ’•πŸ’•πŸ’ž

Last week we featured the early rock and roll classic "Don't Be Cruel" as recorded by Evis Presley (1956), The Judds (1987), and Cheap Trick (1988).

The following are the average ratings for each song as resulted from the votes:

πŸ₯‡ Elvis Presley 90.9

πŸ₯ˆ Cheap Trick 83.6

πŸ₯‰ The Judds 82.6

πŸ’•πŸ’•πŸ’•πŸ’•πŸ’ž

The Eighth Edition of Rate-O-Rama features three renditions of the disco/synth-pop classic: "Funkytown."

πŸ’•πŸ’•πŸ’•πŸ’•πŸ’ž

Lipps Inc. (1980)

"Funkytown" was written by Steven Greenberg, the founder of the band Lipps Inc. Greenberg also produced the song. "Funkytown" became a major worldwide hit making it to #1 in 28 countries around the world. Singer Cynthia Johnson provides the powerful lead vocal and backing vocals.

πŸ’•πŸ’•πŸ’•πŸ’•πŸ’ž

Pseudo Echo (1986)

Six short years after Lipps Inc. had a worldwide smash with the song, Australian new wave band Pseudo Echo released a dance-rock cover of "Funkytown" and they also had a worldwide hit with it. The song was a #1 in Australia and New Zealand and a top ten hit in Sweden, Canada, the United States, and the United Kingdom. Like Lipps Inc., it is Pseudo Echo's only US Top 40 hit single.

πŸ’•πŸ’•πŸ’•πŸ’•πŸ’ž

Alvin and The Chipmunks (2008)

Featured in the 2007 film Alvin and The Chipmunks their version of the song made it to #86 on the US Billboard Singles chart. The soundtrack for the film won an American Music Award for Best Movie Soundtrack.

πŸ’•πŸ’•πŸ’•πŸ’•πŸ’ž

My Thoughts

πŸ’•πŸ’•πŸ’•πŸ’•πŸ’ž

Lipps Inc.: This is one of my all-time favorite songs. I was 20 years old in 1980 and life was fun. The electronic rhythms and synth treated vocals really appeal to me. The positive minded lyrics are great. This song is a 100 all the way.

πŸ’•πŸ’•πŸ’•πŸ’•πŸ’ž

Pseudo Echo: I love this new wave rock treatment and for a short time I liked this version more than Lipps Inc. The guitar-heavy sound and guitar solo get me Everytime. I give this one a 98.

πŸ’•πŸ’•πŸ’•πŸ’•πŸ’ž

Alvin and The Chipmunks: Although this is a novelty treatment of the song it is well recorded and the musical parts are tightly done. I like it. My score is 75.

πŸ’•πŸ’•πŸ’•πŸ’•πŸ’ž

I will be back next week with the results of this Rate-O-Rama Edition.

Last Week's Rate-O-Rama:

With Love, RHC ❀️

Oh... and as a little extra... I'd like to treat you to an episode of the unscripted comedy show Mr. Hank's World in which Mr. Hank talks about Funkytown... If you're wondering??? That crazy Rick Henry Christopher stars as Mr. Hank!!!

πŸ’•πŸ’•πŸ’•πŸ’•πŸ’ž

rocksynthsong reviewssatirepop culturepopnew wavehistoryfeatureelectronicadancebassbandsalt rockalternative80s music
9

About the Creator

Rick Henry Christopher

Writing is a distraction to fulfill my need for intellectual stimulus, emotional release, and soothing the bruises of the day.

The shattered pieces of life will not discourage me.

https://www.facebook.com/groups/vocalplusassist

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (11)

Sign in to comment
  • Rachel Deeming6 months ago

    I may be a bit late to the party here but I'm going to comment anyway because I love the Rate-o-rama. Lipps Inc - the best. I love the contrast between the synth voice and the clear vocal. The most funky version as well, just right for a night on the town - see what I did there? 100 Pseudo Echo - no. Don't like this at all. A complete distortion of the disco funk feel of Lipps Inc adding nothing to it. 30 for the hair Alvin and the Chipmunks - I am so sorry, Pseudo Echo. Really and truly I am. But animated rodents have beaten you. Don't like this much either but I'll give it 50 for fluffy cuteness.

  • Lipps, Inc. 90 - well crafted, takes me back, but to me it sounds a little like elevator music that inspires a little movement. Pseudo Echo 89 - also well crafted, great harmonies & guitar work. Chipmunks 75 - nostalgic, nicely produced.

  • Rene Peters6 months ago

    Lipps Inc - 95, it's the version I know best and dance to when I feel like it. Pseudo Echo - 90, still great but the vocals don't sound as good as Lipps Inc in my opinion. Love the heavy guitar though! Alvin and the Chipmunks - 50. The Chipmunks are cute but if I didn't already know the song, I wouldn't know what they're saying

  • D. A. Ratliff6 months ago

    Lipps Inc.: 95 An iconic classic... great dance music and uplifting feeling. Not a huge fan of synth voices, but it works here! Pseudo Echo: 95 I prefer the rock beat and guitar work on this version. It's better for listening and dance-wise, just as good! Alvin and The Chipmunks: 80 Alvin!!!! I must say, this is very catchy and fun, but the chipmunk voices become annoying after a bit. Still fun, and this song has such great rhythm. It's still danceable!! And Mr. Hank is a riot!! Thanks for the extra bonus!!

  • Kelsey Clarey6 months ago

    Lipps Inc: I'm with you on this one, 100. It's a classic and impossible not to dance to when I hear it. Pesudo Echo: 95. Didn't quite grab me as much as Lipps Inc, but it's a fun arrangement. Alvin & The Chipmunk: 65. Interesting arrangement, but I'm not a fan of the live action version of the Chipmunks personally.

  • Scott Christenson6 months ago

    Lipps Inc: 100 -a classic one hit wonder, early auto-tune vocals were unique! Pseudo Echo: 85 - have never heard it, sounds like a cross between INXS and Duran Duran. Alvin: 50 - for parodies, give me Crazy Frog anyday

  • Lipps Inc: 90 Pseudo Echo: 80 Alvin and the Chipmunks: 20 Lol, I cannot stand chipmunky voices! Surprisingly, the oldest version is my favourite!

  • Lipps - Have to agree with the - 100 you gave! Such a classic. I think that’s the first time I saw the totp video of it Pseudo - a great rock cover! Loving the 80s video too. I agree with your 97 Alvin 40 - so not a fan of this πŸ™ˆ Another great round, thanks Rick!! Also such a brilliant song and lyric to put in my mind today 😁 It totally lifted my spirits. As did your bonus video! It gets a solid 100 for randomness and comedy 🩡 I loved seeing you and your friend being creative and playful - I think the world needs so much more of this… and it’s such a great reminder to all of us to be silly and to play more πŸ’›πŸ©΅πŸ’›

  • Babs Iverson7 months ago

    Will be back later!β€οΈβ€οΈπŸ’•

  • Mother Combs7 months ago

    100 - love this version 65 - just not my cup of tea 25 - Alvin's voice grates the nerves lol

  • Kendall Defoe 7 months ago

    For me, it is Pseudo Echo all the way. The others are too sweet and soft to the ears: PE: 90 Lipps Inc.: 70 Alvin and the Rodents: 40

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

Β© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.