Beat logo

Rapper Ivy Shades Celebrates 100K Views with “Photo” TikTok Challenge and Chance to Win Free Louboutins!

Vocal Entertainment Spotlight

By Tammy ReesePublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like

Breaking Hip Hop artist Ivy Shades' official music video for "Photo" is nearing the 100K view mark in just one month. The Houston-bred Rapper, Celebrity Eyewear Designer, and President of P by Tha Pound Records is becoming well-known in the south for her alluring blend of hard-hitting lyrics, flamboyant femininity, and southern flavor. Colorful and cinematic visuals like "Photo" have helped the burgeoning star to rack up over half a million views on her Youtube platform and perform sold-out shows across the country. With the ease of COVID-19 safety protocols, Ivy Shades is now preparing to hit the road to deliver the high-energy stage performances her fans have come to expect.

Ivy Shades began her rap career in 2010 from her hometown of Houston and has since garnered support from major recording artists such as Rihanna, Cee-Lo Green, and Lady Gaga. One of few artists to lay claim to a feature with the late great Pimp C, Ivy Shades has her sights set on rising up the charts alongside some of her biggest influences, such as Nicki Minaj, Cardi B, and Megan Thee Stallion.

Vocal readers, please enjoy our interview!

Tammy Reese: What inspired you to become a music artist?

Ivy Shades: I used to watch and adore Lil' Kim's flow and boldness. Then, to see Missy Elliott live out loud despite what she was going through showed me that I can really be who I am. As I was graduating high school, I started really liking Nicki, and I love that she wasn't afraid of anything. She dominated the industry in like a year and a half. When you think about how male-dominated the industry is, she really inspired me to take what's on my chest on put it into my music without holding back.

Tammy Reese: What do you enjoy most about being in the music industry?

Ivy Shades: Number one would definitely be getting a high off myself when I create these records. I get into the studio with a vision and what I want to do, so the high for me is the creativity piece. The other high for me is performing on stage and the response that I get from the fans - I carry that energy with me as inspiration.

Tammy Reese: What are some obstacles you overcome that made you the woman that you are today?

Ivy Shades: Starting a successful business as a celebrity eyewear designer without any financial backing was the most difficult. When Black Enterprise reached out to me without a publicist, I had been making all of my shades myself and grinding. Everything I made was because I liked it first. It made me feel confident, coming from where I come from, that I could sell a $500 pair of shades. I knew then, I can definitely sell a .99 cent single. Nobody taught me how to build a brand and become Ivy Shades. That was just me and God.

Tammy Reese: What are you currently working on?

Ivy Shades: My new music video "Photo" just dropped, and we're very excited it just crossed 100K views, so just continuing to promote that! Plus, we're celebrating with the Tik Tok challenge, so one lucky content creator is going to win a free pair of Louboutins! Besides that, just preparing to get back out on the road doing shows in LA, ATL, NY!

Tammy Reese: What is something you would like your fans to know about you that they may not already know?

Ivy Shades: I look good, but I'm not that poppin'! It takes discipline to get my waist snatched for a shoot. So fun fact is, just before I do a video shoot or photoshoot, I go on a broccoli diet for two weeks. I won't do any carbs at all, then after I finish the shoot, my manager takes me to get food!

Tammy Reese: What is the last song you listened to at max volume?

Ivy Shades: My new single "Photo" streaming on all platforms. Respectfully!

Tammy Reese: Who would you like to work with?

Ivy Shades: Cardi B, H.E.R. and Teyana Taylor

Tammy Reese: Who would you like to see in a Verzuz battle?

Ivy Shades: I would love to see Lil' Kim vs. Nicki Minaj. Lil' Kim is the Queen, has always been the Queen! I even had a poster on my wall. But I think they can go toe to toe.

Tammy Reese: How can our readers tap in with you and check out the music?

Ivy Shades: Definitely hit me up @ivyshades on all social media platforms, stream/download the single, and watch "Photo" on VEVO! If you want to visit my website, its just IvyShades.com

interview
Like

About the Creator

Tammy Reese

Tammy is best known for her legendary interviews with Sharon Stone, Angela Bassett, Sigourney Weaver, Geena Davis, Morris Chestnut, Jeffrey Dean Morgan, Sheryl Lee Ralph, Laurence Fishburne, Omar Epps, Joseph Sikora, and more.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.