Beat logo

Quarantine Playlist

Music speaks to your soul

By Jenn Martin-WrightPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like
This image explains it all!

When I first heard of the Coronavirus, I felt that life as we knew it would change... drastically. Boy, I wasn’t prepared for how much. I’ve never homeschooled my kids; one is now in college and the other in fourth grade, but when the bigger cities started closing schools,I knew it was only a matter of time before it got to us. Being from a smaller community, there were a lot of people who didn’t think that our schools would shut down but the four- year university that I live near was the first to close and begin online classes. Not too many weeks later, the school district decided to as well, which for preschool through high school meant a longer spring break and the younger kids were ecstatic. That was, until they found out they weren’t going back to school at all this year. Hence, homeschooling commenced. To say it’s been a challenge for both myself and my fourth grader is an understatement...subjects aren’t taught like they were even when my son was that age, not to mention when I was her age. I am grateful to her teacher and principal for making it a little easier on those of us who weren’t built to teach. Luckily, she and I both enjoy reading, so we save that for the end of the day. Her way of coping is being able to have “virtual play dates,” playing Minecraft or Wildcraft together or just messaging GIFs and funny images or memes back and forth to her friends. This gives me a little while to work on stories that I’m writing and listen to my music or just relax.

Now, I’m a country bumpkin through and through so, more times than not, this is the first playlist I go to unless I’m angry. That’s where the heavy metal and rock come in. I hope you enjoy this particular playlist—especially those who are into this genre. I hope it helps you find some new songs to listen to.

Like I said before, when I’m not in a good mood or just want to let the negative feelings that roll around in my head come out—I suffer from Complex PTSD, anxiety and depression and have Cerebral Palsy to boot, so my fight or flight response is always on overdrive—I have to be sure listening to this set won’t heighten my anxiety because, sometimes it can. This list makes me “feel” the negative, especially in regard to the new changes happening in my life that would have happened even if this pandemic did not. By doing so, I can rid my mind of said feelings and move on.

This group, which I believe is indie rock, I found by complete accident after watching a movie called A Night without Armor. I heard the theme song to that movie and had to see if there were more songs, so, because the songs are uplifting and speak to my soul, I gave Adam’s Attic their own playlist.

I am totally eclectic when it comes to music as, like I’ve stated before, music speaks to my very core. So, yes, there are days when I just need some Hip-Hop and my kids love to tease me because they think I’m old school. Hip-hop helps keep my energy up on the days I just want to give up and with the never ending monotony of staying home, I sometimes feel it will last forever. One of the fun things about Hip-Hip is, even though my daughter isn’t too fond of it, there are days that we have dance parties. As much as I can anyway, which we end up in fits of giggles since she thinks the way I dance is funny.

Last, but definitely not least...am I not only a country girl, but I’m also a hopeless romantic. Books, movies, music… I find myself searching for the romance that I deserve but do not get. This playlist has some newer songs and some older ones that take me back to a place in my life where everything was simpler.

Thank you for letting me share my music lists with you. My hope is that you might find songs that will keep you going through whatever lies ahead of us as a nation.

playlist
Like

About the Creator

Jenn Martin-Wright

I am a social worker by trade but due to disabilities and other issues beyond my control, I cannot work outside my home, so in 2013 I began my journey as a self-published author under an alias. My works run the gambit, to say the least.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.