Beat logo

Proud to introduce Taj Farrant guitar player

Future Guitarist

By Lawrence Edward HincheePublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1
Performing for the judges on Australia's Got Talent.

I first discovered this kid about a year or so ago, I had to see more and hear more. As I did it became apparent that this kid had some serious talent as well as a bright future. In this video Taj explains how he was introduced to playing the guitar, and how he came to pursue his dream. This platform was a wonderful stepping off point for him. Many of his fans believed that his audition was golden buzzer worthy. Many of his fans felt he deserved to be in the finals of this competition. Like many fans did we all sent messages of support and encouragement to our young star. He publicly thanked Australia's Got Talent for allowing him to be on the show. Mature young man. Before this appearance he was featured on the Ellen show. Since this appearance he has performed with many stars, the most prominent name would be Carlos Santana. If Carlos Santana allows you to share the stage with him, then that is a major endorsement of anyone's talent. I am sure it is a moment young Taj will never forget.

I have seen many children who were great musically but they disappeared after a year or so, however; Taj is driven to be successful. He works hard, but as his family says, there are days in which he doesn't pick up the guitar at all, choosing instead to go outside and play. Taj has a loyal fan base, he is responsive to them because he realizes without them he wouldn't be where he is today. They wait for him at airports and he is always taking time to appreciate them. He has produced an album titled, Just Can't Sleep. His sister plays drums and is on the album with him.

There are many people who have reacted to his older videos and his current ones and are astonished at his massive improvement in skill from the previous year or video to the one that they had just viewed. Many people who react to videos are just beginning to discover this young talent and is impressed by his skill and technique. I was really impressed when he played comfortably numb on his guitar blindfolded. He was challenged by his mother to do so. What is equally amazing, is Taj is right handed, but I have seen him play the guitar as a left handed individual. His musical taste are varied, he has played almost all genres of music. He played one of my favorite Beatle's songs, While my guitar gently weeps. I think he did a wonderful job with that song and I am sure Paul McCartney would agree. Taj doesn't use sheet music when he plays either. As a kid in band, my music teacher taught me the play by ear approach my first year. Taj doesn't play the songs he feels them as he is playing them. His facial expressions says it all and many young guitar players don't do that when they play.

His parents have Taj's best interest at heart. They are his grounding force, they are supportive of him and his sister, as are his grandparents. The entire family seems to be really nice down to earth folks. though I have never met them. I like that the most and Taj isn't snotty like a lot of child actors and or musicians who have been successful. His family monitors his fan page and all other social media that he is on and all post have to be approved by an administrator. This is how they filter out the bad and ugly comments one would leave a child. Taj has blazed a trail for himself, but which one will he take? That of a guitar player in a group like Queen or the Eagles? Will he form his own band, like he has now and tour, or will he continue to be a YouTube sensation and be satisfied with that? I don't know, however; only a few in his inner circle truly knows the plans he has made for himself, but rest assured whatever he does do his fan base will be there to support him.

I hope when and if he starts a world tour, he makes it my hometown or close by, because I want to see him live. That right there says an awful lot as there aren't many bands or musicians that I look forward to seeing in concert. This kid is a great guitar player, with a great attitude, but most of all he will be great at his craft. One of his reactors said at his age we had just discovered that the slinky could go down the steps.

humanity
1

About the Creator

Lawrence Edward Hinchee

I am a new author. I wrote my memoir Silent Cries and it is available on Amazon.com. I am new to writing and most of my writing has been for academia. I possess an MBA from Regis University in Denver, CO. I reside in Roanoke, VA.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.