Beat logo

Pride Anthems

A Playlist of Bops and Bangers for Pride!

By Cody DunningtonPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like
Pride Anthems
Photo by Steve Johnson on Unsplash

Let's start this off with what must be said! Happy June and Happy Pride! Pride is a special month to me and to many other people in the world. It's also a month where we need to remember our roots and what has led us to this point in history. It's also a month of celebration, and celebration cannot be accomplished without music. At least not in my world.

Now, for Pride Month, our playlist has to be super specific to be great. It needs not only good songs, but also songs that celebrate LGBTQ+ lives. Who better to create these songs than those from the LGBTQ+ community? This is my playlist filled exclusively with LGBTQ+ artists. They're some of my favorites.

Walls - Ruben

Welcome to the absolutely phenomenal musical stylings of Ruben. There isn't a song of his I don't like, and this song is perfect for the Pride Playlist. Walls very much has the feeling of coming out in it's lyrics. It hit home hard for me the first time that I heard it. I hope you appreciate it just as much.

Room - Chaz Cardigan

I've put Chaz Cardigan on my Vocal Playlists before, but this song felt like it needed to be on this playlist. It has that first love and loss feel, which can be so incredibly difficult for folks in the LGBTQ+ community. At the end of the day, though, it's a sweet song and so it has earned a spot.

Lost Boy - Troye Sivan

Troye Sivan was bound to make his way on to this playlist. He is one of the more prolific LGBTQ+ music artists out there. This particular song is one of my favorites by him. It's definitely not the happiest of songs, but I think it represents a feeling that we all get at one point or another.

True Colors (featuring Kesha) - Zedd

This one kind of breaks my rule, since Zedd is not of the LGBTQ+ community as far as I know, but I'm going to bend the rule because Kesha is. Not only that, but this song feels like an anthem of Pride in my opinion. Therefore, it gets a spot on this playlist.

guy.exe - SUPERFRUIT

This song is insanely catchy. Let's start off with that statement. Second, it is absolutely gay af. No questions there. It's also just fun, and the music video is cool as heck. So yes, it is now on this playlist.

I'm Still Standing - Elton John

I feel like there is no way I couldn't have Elton John on this playlist. This song in particular speaks to me of the strength that it takes to come out over and over again, and be able to get back up each time someone tries to put you down. I also just love the song.

Bohemian Rhapsody - Queen

I don't think anyone is surprised to find Queen on this playlist. I also don't think I need to explain my song choice. Let's just be content to listen to Queen for five minutes.

Summertime - Orville Peck

I don't really listen to country. I'll make an exception for this mysterious man though. If you, like me, don't listen to country, take a shot at this one. At the very least, you can be pleased to know that you're supporting a LGBTQ+ artist.

Diamonds - Sam Smith

I've always enjoyed Sam Smith's music. It's always fun and catchy. He's been out in the LGBTQ+ community for quite some time, too. Honestly I feel like his music is too good for me to even comment on.

King - Years & Years

I absolutely adore Years & Years. Olly Alexander is the vocalist for the band, and let me just say his voice does things to me. I could happily listen to their music for hours. Here is one in particular that I could listen to on repeat for hours and be happy.

Underwater - Mika

I need to start off by saying that Mika is criminally underrated. His youtube videos may have millions of views, but almost no one that I talk to knows of him. If you haven't heard of him before now, please go listen to him. His music has such a wide range. Here is my absolute favorite by him. He also does a version of Popular with Ariana Grande. That's a good one too, but not meant for this playlist.

Run Into You - Leland

Last, but surely not least, is Leland. His music is all super catchy and relatable. I also really enjoy Middle Of A Heartbreak by him. He has also helped write some pretty amazing songs by some of the other artists on this playlist. Basically, check him out!

And there you have it, 12 awesome songs to get you going this Pride Month. There is so much more that I couldn't fit on this playlist, so don't stop your musical explorations here! Keep searching for even more LGBTQ+ artists. They put out some pretty wicked things!

As always, happy listening! Also, Happy Pride 🏳️‍🌈

playlist
Like

About the Creator

Cody Dunnington

Just a 20 something year old with big dreams and access to word processing software.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.