Beat logo

Power Up +7

Tired of depressing, sappy love songs? Give this intriguing playlist a listen.

By Vanessa R. PowellPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
2
Just like the image, love isn’t always crystal clear. That’s why I have put together this arrangement of songs for your empowerment.

Now, I should start off by telling you that these aren’t ranked in any particular order.

1. “Sorry not Sorry” by Demi Lovato

Now, I'm out here lookin' like revenge

Feelin' like a ten, the best I've ever been

And, yeah, I know how bad it must hurt to see me like this

But it gets worse (Wait a minute)

Yeahhhh, get it Demi! She’s on fire, always. While, I always hate to hear celebrities that go through super rough times with depression, scandals, attacked for their weight gain/weight loss, etc. She always comes back on top & better than ever.

2. “Me, Myself and I” by G-Eazy & Bebe Rexha

I have to admit, when I first read the lyrics, I was like, YES THIS IS PERFECT. I HAVE to include the video... I went and looked up the video & perhaps misinterpreted the meaning?

ORRR... That’s the beauty of art & multiple meanings. I’ll leave it up to you. Either way, it’s a solid “You do you” song.

Also, this is one of those songs that gets stuck in your head. I find myself humming the tune or whistling the “youuu whooo” section.

3. “Thank u, Next” by Ariana Grande

Ok, listen, you’re sad about a previous relationship, I get it. I believe everything happens for a reason. Be thankful for the reasons, and... say “Thank you” and NEXT! Also, I am just now seeing the music video for this song and absolutely loving that they did a “Mean Girls” knock off of this. I mean, it’s completely perfect in every way.

4. “So What” by P!NK

This is an instant mood changing, screw you, I got this, song. I remember listening to it on full blast in my car, while driving, anytime I needed a pick me up. Whether because I was having a bad day, I was mad at my ex, or I just wanted to party. (Of course, this song is aging me... it was released in 2008)

5. “Look What You Made Me Do” by Taylor Swift

Would this list even be complete without a Taylor Swift song? (The answer is NO, just in case you were on the fence about that One) The chorus makes my head spin a little bit but the vibe makes me bob my head and put on the look of someone seriously salty.

6. “Let Me Reintroduce Myself” by Gwen Stefani

I know... I know... this song isn’t about anti-love or anti-valentine’s day. WHO MADE THIS LIST ANYWAY?! Oh hey, it’s me, I did. Hear me out! This is a straight up feel good song. Gwen Stefani has always been true to herself. Sure her image, outfits, and even a little plastic surgery has changed over the years, but it’s always been HER. Just like you might have dyed your hair last week, you’re still YOU! So this is a reminder to just be yourself. You don’t need someone else to fulfill you’re life! Love yourself, just the way you are.

7. “No Time to Die” by Billie Eilish

This sort of goes against the grain of the vibe I was going for... hype...up beat... make you want to jump up & down. BUT, hear me out! It’s mellow, it’s chill, it’s calm. I saved it for last...think of it as the cool down after you exercise (I mean, I don’t exercise but it’s a thing, I remember from my free trials)

Well people, this is the end of the road. (No, not the Boyz II Men song)

I find it mildly strange that I ended with an odd number but I’m going to roll with it.

If you’ve made it this far and want to add this short playlist to your spotify account —> Great news! I already made it for you: https://open.spotify.com/playlist/3E6DIJErlcxqrlEk8je3Bg?si=aLnPyCqXTda5IYRzvOnUHQ

playlist
2

About the Creator

Vanessa R. Powell

I am a portrait photographer, graphic designer, creator extraordinaire, oh and I sell Scentsy. I suppose I am dabbling in writing too 😊 | Based in Evansville, IN | I am 721vanessa Photography | www.721vanessa.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.