Beat logo

POWER

(cuz I can’t have love)

By Sara Published 9 months ago 3 min read
6

This is my first time writing anything other than poetry on vocal so I’m a bit nervous. I hope it turns out ok. But I’ve been making a point of doing more things that make me uncomfortable (in a good way;)) and I’ve always wanted to try submitting a playlist piece about my favorite artist and inspiration because of how much she empowers me.

I believe there is so much love in sharing music. Being human is a lonely thing because no one will ever feel the way you feel or go through what you do. But somehow music connects us. It reminds us that we might not be fighting the same battles, but we can support each other through them.

Now, I don’t do celebrity crushes. I’m a child of pop culture, probably wayyy younger than most vocal creators, but I’ve never gotten the hype. However, there is one artist I love because I find myself in her music time and time again.

I have a huge poster of her up in my room and everyone who visits is like “who’s that” and I have the lyrics of my favorite song “without me” hanging, too. Fangirl moment ;).

Halsey sings about love and power and the complex relationship that women have with themselves and a world that objectifies them.

One song I’ve recently had on repeat is “100 Letters”.

“I’m not something to butter up

and taste when you get bored”

https://youtu.be/bP4Yr8bGuDQ

I feel her rage because it is mine, too. I have had too many experiences “hiding. behind wooden bathroom doors” just praying for the courage to say no.

I hope that one day I do.

Another song that leaves me breathless is “Hurricane”.

https://youtu.be/FR9G7ioLLmc

Maybe it because I identify with chaos so much and maybe it is the reference to hurricane which is such a beautiful storm.

“I’m a wanderess

I’m a one night stand

Don’t belong to no city

Don’t belong to no man”

Those lyrics bring me to tears every time. I have always hated being tied down. My soul is wild and free and untethered. I am no man’s. It bothers me that a woman’s value is often tied to her relationship status or dependence on a male figure. This song helps me feel strong on my own.

On the subject of strength: “I am not a woman I’m a God” is another powerful composition celebrating defiance and divine femininity.

https://youtu.be/7Azv0G85lh8

“So keep your heart

Cuz I’ve already got one״

I have always struggled with the question of what a woman is. Especially because I’m not a “girly” girl. I hate dresses and lipstick and I’ve always been accused of having more masculine energy than most men I know. This song helped me identify the heart of a woman and her strength. A woman is capable of carrying life itself, and suffer through pain no man can fathom. Makes me proud to be capable of building worlds.

The last one I want to share is my favorite song, “without me”. I don’t usually play favorites and I change my mind often, but this song has been mine for about 4 years now and I have never gotten sick of listening to it. It is a heartfelt rendition about leaving the people who hurt us behind and the pain that it involves.

https://youtu.be/ZAfAud_M_mg

“Tell me how’s it feel

Sitting up there

Feeling so high

But too far away to hold me

You know I’m the one who

Put you up there

Name in the sky

Does it every get lonely

Thinking you could live without me”

I think this needs no explanation and I love how the lyrics acknowledge the fact that taking your power back is gut wrenching. I sit and cry to this on too many lonely nights when I start second guessing if I made the right decision by denying certain people access to my life.

That’s it for now. I hope you enjoyed my rambling. And definitely check out Halsey’s music :). Thank you for allowing me to have a voice on vocal.

humanity
6

About the Creator

Sara

Don’t look for love.

Be love.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Jazzy 9 months ago

    Im so happy you did this! It’s great to get outside that comfort zone! I for one love Halsey as well! You should be sad is like my break up motto. And Colors was part of my inspiration for “color me in love” (as well as another poem I read! 929 is my go to song to feel pumped up, and 3am just gets me! Def not fangirling over here. ❤️🌈

  • Lamar Wiggins9 months ago

    Wow! I'm so glad you decided to open up even more and write this article. The title is perfect. Also, I deeply related to what you said about lonely nights and denying people access to your life. It's your decision and I'm sure you know if the timing was right. It's when we reflect on those decisions is when we question if it was the right one. Great stuff!

  • Paul Stewart9 months ago

    Well done on pushing yourself outside your comfort zone! The old fart in me was pleased I recognised it was Halsey before I saw her name! loved the amount of you you put into this! she has a stunning voice and i s fiercely independant! I will chack out the songs later! recognise 'without me' Well done, Sara!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.