Beat logo

Post-Break-up-Anti-Valentines

Synch your heartbeat to these rock tunes!

By Frankie ContinoPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1
The sun always comes up in the end.

We've all been there. It's Valentines day and she left you all alone. As you're sitting on the can all you can do is think about what went wrong, how good life was just a few months ago, and how soft her skin felt to the touch.

I've had my fair share of break ups, but i never truly spent my time in fetal position in a dark corner filled with desperation and tears. That's probably because for every lovely girl I've dated in my twenties and early thirties, I never truly believed that I could go the distance with that particular partner, at that particular time of my life. So instead, I just endured the negatives coming from that relationship, and savored all the positives, knowing that it could end at any given time.

That doesn't mean it didn't hurt when it finally came to a screeching halt.

I've only ever dated beautiful, damaged souls, because I find them irresistible and I admittedly have a hero complex that most times makes me forget about my own well being in favor of someone else's, specially if that someone is attractive as fudge. And I freaking love fudge.

The idea of not having that beautiful, loving (but not the best fit for the person that I am/was) person around any more, used to kill me. And the thought of that person making out and sleeping with someone else? Oh boy, that's just sickening, isn't it?

Well, like most people, I find refuge in my music. But not just ANY music.

Rock music. Metal. Punk. Hardcore.

Did you know that when you listen to a song your heartbeat synchs up to it? The best thing you can do to stop feeling mopey, find again your lost energy and finally start working on yourself as a person?

Rock. Hard.

You're single now. This is the best time of your life. Celebrate it. F&%$ Valentines day! Grab the bull by the horns and realize the world's at your feet as you're listening to tracks that make you powerwalk through town like you own the place. Tracks that give you absolute power, highly relatable songs to create a new found confidence in yourself, to once again pick yourself up, dust yourself off, start fresh and leave all the crap behind, because remember, rock'n roll can also be a lifestyle.

These are the tracks that helped me through post break ups and helped me tackle single life over the years.

01 - Aerosmith - Falling in love (is hard on the knees).

There ain't gonna be no more beggin' you please

You know what I want

And it ain't one of these

You're bad to the bone

And your girlfriend agrees

That falling in love is so hard on the knees!

02 - Robbie Williams - Karma Killer

How do you sleep

You've never loved

Why was I never good enough

You thought you'd leave me falling forever

Karma killer.

03 - Biffy Clyro - Stingin' Belle

You say love, I say killing time,

What's mine is yours, and yours is mine.

You make me laugh, I make you cry,

I guess that rhymes...

04 - Dance Gavin Dance - Death of a Strawberry

Sick of being in my head and thinkin about my fate and worried about my health

Wanna waste away my days with a pretty young thing and blow through all my wealth.

05 - Alterbridge - Metalingus

On this day I see clearly everything has come to life

A bitter place and a broken dream

And we'll leave it all, leave it all behind.

06 - FOB - My heart is the worst kind of weapon.

Take your taste back

peel back your skin

and try to forget how it feels inside

you should try saying no once in a while

oh once in a while.

07 - Foo Fighters - But Honestly

I don't want one thing that I gave to you.

08 - Linkin Park - A Place For My Head.

You used to be calm, used to be strong

Used to be generous but you should've known

That you'd wear out your welcome

And now you see how quiet it is, all alone

09 - I the Mighty - Silver Tongues

Never again will I spend all the precious time that I have left

On those who oppose anyone doing what they love.

10 - Panic! at the Disco - Nicotine

I taste you on my lips and I can't get rid of you

So I say damn your kiss and the awful things you do.

Hope you feel better now. You got this, champ!

playlist
1

About the Creator

Frankie Contino

Italian writer, screenwriter and film director coming to save you all from boredom

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.