Beat logo

Playlist for the Gym or just something to get you going!

If you like a pump while you workout, or some motivation, you gotta have a dope playlist!

By Amy CortezPublished 3 years ago 8 min read
Like
Soup De'Jour Based in Denver, Colorado.

First off let me just start by saying that music is life.

Music is the key to everything in my opinion. You get in the car, you either listen to music, a podcast, or you just sit there in pure silence. Either way, music is all around us. We buy devices like wireless headphones so we can listen to music more comfortably. Some of us will go above and beyond and buy a whole set of speakers to enjoy our music. It helps us wether its at work, at the gym, at the store, or just at home. Seriously, what would we do without music?

I enjoy going to the gym on a daily basis. I HATE when I forget my headphones at home because the playlist at the gym is trash. Certain music motivates me and gives me that pump I need while I workout. Although I LOVE Britney Spears, "Oops I did it again" is not going to give me that pump I need while I workout!

The Genre of Music that gives me that pump I need is always Hip Hop/Rap or Reggaeton. Some rock/Alternative music gives me that pump too, but lately Rap/Hip Hop & Reggaeton have been doing it for me. I recently switched from Apple Music to Spotify because of Crypto.com. I pretty much get Spotify for free with my MCO Crypto.com card, so I made the switch. Being the person I am, I forgot to add ALL my music from Apple Music to Spotify, so I'm slowly catching up. I had over 2,000 songs on my Apple Music; I listen to everything. So im still catching up, slowly but surely.

My Favorite Songs from my Playlist.

I am going to share the songs that are my favorite right now, that I pretty much have been listening to everyday. I feel like we all go through that phase of playing one song, or several songs on repeat. Of course I like to switch it up because I am not ALWAYS hype. Depending on what im doing or what I'm working on is what I'll be in the mood for. Then there are days when I cant decide so I'll listen to some lofi hip hop radio.

The song that gets me hype every time is my boy SAINt JHN.

Now many people don't know this about Mr. SAINt JHN but he has been writing music for many artists for years now. He has been behind the scenes and being low key. Finally decided to start his career as an artist along with being a song writer. Honestly, he picked such a great time to be his own artist. I think he has such an amazing, unique sound and his music doesn't all sound the same. Even his lyrics are super dope and his harmonics are on point! I am so appreciative of SAINt JHN, I think he is much needed in the music industry as an artist. I'm sure he is still writing music for artist as well. Great artists know what works for them and what doesn't.

Next song is by a new artist that goes by the name of Guapdad 4000.

If you haven't seen the music video to this song I highly recommend that you do! The visuals for this video are funny and super creative! Shoutout to the director who made it happen too! I love when music videos have dope visuals because I'm honesty TIRED of the cliche performance music videos. If you don't know what performance music videos are, they are pretty much your basic videos with the cars, money, women, mansions, & jewelry in the shots with the artist lip synching their lyrics. I get it, but seriously I'm over it. I like music videos that are different and creative. It honestly makes me like the song more.

If you haven't heard of Joyner Lucas, I suggest you do, like right now right now!

I think Joyner Lucas is an under rated rapper along with others, that I will mention soon. Joyner is a lyrical artist, has bars on bars on bars ALL DAY! Gets me hype af when I listen to his music. I feel like Joyner is a relatable rapper because of what he raps about. He can get very serious & also be playful. Did I mention he has a song with Will Smith and Eminem?? WHICH BOTH ARE SUPER DOPE!!! But right now Zim Zimmer is a song that I listen to, to get the day started!

NOW THIS NEXT ONE IS FOR THE LAAAAAADIIIIESSSSSSSS!!!!!!

MEGAN THEE STALLION! Yes, you know who I'm talking about!

Many people know of Megan because of the Collab she has with Cardi B, yes you know it that WAP! You either love or hate the song. I feel like the women who hate is are haters and probably have that DAP (Dry A** P*****). Sorry not sorry, I am all about women empowerment and why is it wrong for women to talk about sex but when men do it, it's okay? Nah fam, it's 2020 about to be 2021, we as women have the same rights as men. Men can be hoes too, let's not get it twisted. Let people do what they want with their lives. Who are we to judge? As long as people are happy that's all that should matter. Any who, Megan has been around for a while now as an underground female rapper. Honestly I'm happy for her because she is a dope artist and honestly we need more powerful women in the rap game. This song is just a reminder to all us bada** women to keep that grind going and DON'T STOP!

I mentioned earlier that I was going to mention under rated rappers. Denzel Curry is another under rated rapper.

I think this song sets the mood for many things. It such a good feel song. In all honesty, Denzel gets you so hype! I don't think I've ever heard a song by him or a feature with him NOT being hype. Another reason why I like Denzel is because he makes references to anime, and anime is so dope! Like why wouldn't you make anime references. I recently seen a photo of him on the gram with an Akatsuki Attire, & honestly, I'm trying to cop that! His 2018 album TA13BOO is what made me listen to him. I am the type of person that will click on an album or song based on an album cover. If you see the TA13BOO album cover, you'll see why I was interested in who he was.

Rest In Peace to Nispey Hussle

Nipsey was in the rap game for years! California rapper with business man mentality. This man motivated so many people because of his mentality on life and how to run business. If you watch old videos of Nipsey he talks about how important it is to diversify your money and not spend your money on extravagant things that will eventually lose value. He understood scarcity, real estate and was into crypto currencies. He was just getting started with his second chapter of his life, when it was taken away while he was outside at his store. On March 31, 2019 Nipsey was pronounced dead from shot wounds from a man that is known as a "snitch". Personally, I think this man was jealous of Nipsey for what he was doing for the community, & shot him dead because of envy. Nipsey will forever be remembered.

The Marathon continues.

ASTROWORLD

Astroworld to me should have got album of the year back in 2018. I think this was THE BEST ALBUM Travis has ever put out. The sound of this album is seriously out of this world. Everything about this album just screams DOPE AF! Even people who don't like Travis Scott will be bumping music from this album and enjoy it. Even if you say no, you're low key listening to it at home while you're by yourself. Of course I'm happy for Cardi B for getting album of the year against Travis, but since I'm being honest, Travis should of got it. This man makes the dopest music, and like SAINt, Travis has his own unique sound.

LAST BUT NOT LEAST, KENDRICK LAMAR

I have been following Kendrick for YEARS!!! This man has bars after bars after bars after bars!! My GOODNESS!! Even when he was underground I always knew he was going to be so great! This song has always been one of my favorites by him because it just motivates me to get my day started & get this money! If you haven't heard this song and you're a KDOT fan, I don't know what you've been doing these past few years. But it's never too late to listen & I hope it motivates you, & pumps you up like it has for me in the past years. KDOT is The Goat, just like Michael Jordan.

It has come down to.....

Because I think everyone should have a playlist that gets them HYPE or even a GYM playlist, I have provided a link to my Gym playlist on Spotify. If you have Apple Music, I'm sorry. Maybe you can view the songs and then listen to them on your Apple Music, there are no excuses here people. I also understand that not everyone is going to like my playlist, which is cool. I'm not mad. I honestly wish I had more music on this playlist, but because of my recent switch, I'm still working on my music catch up. I hope you enjoyed my rants, & information for the songs that I listen to. I was going to put the Reggaeton songs that get my hype and have me feeling good, but honestly, it's soooooooo many! But I am more than happy to share my Reggaeton/Spanish playlist with ya'll. I mean why not right?

Thank you for reading, I hope you like what you hear on ze playlists.

----GYM PLAYLIST ----

https://open.spotify.com/playlist/552CzUhMAYtFuV1YmIXcaa

-------REGGAETON/SPANISH PLAYLIST------

https://open.spotify.com/playlist/202ufSnYSOJtero9Tr3uDT

playlist
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.