Beat logo

Playlist Eclectica

I don't know if "eclectica" is really a word -- but I need something to summarize the crazy mess I put on playlists

By Pam ReederPublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 3 min read
3
Playlist Eclectica
Photo by bruce mars on Unsplash

Hi-di-ho partners, let's giddy up go and away. Or something like that. My playlists are probably a reflection of the ADHD that I didn't know I had, never been diagnosed with but have probably lived with for the whole 62 years I've been alive. There's not a lot in music that I don't love (maybe not metal), but here are some of the random things I LOVE, LOVE, LOVE.

***************

One of the things I love about this song is that it was written and recorded by very young kids. There is just something about the innocence of youth writing and performing with unbridled passion. The other thing that appeals to me is the quirky expression of depression of a vampire that lost this fangs and punishes himself by eating garlic. (Yes, I have played this so many times my husband gives me the side-eye if he even thinks I'm going to play it.)

************************

I think divorce was truly about to descend on my house over this one. I probably rubbed the lettering off my enter key hitting replay. There's a few things about this that makes it dear to me: 1) this woman lives about 100 miles from me -- yep, I'm in close proximity to the madness that produced this; 2) I admired her spunk in hamming it up on camera while she had the limelight of news crews and cameras -- it certainly paid off in the long run; 3) I am in total AWE of whoever took this news clip and created the video that ultimately went viral and launched Sweet Brown to millionaire status. Now if only just one of MY many ridiculous moments could serve me half as well....

************************

I could listen to this all day long over and over and over. And trust me, with the crazy crap I hear ringing out in my neighborhood, I'm tempted to blast this through my PA system I still have from my now defunct beauty pageant business. Don't mess with me neighbors, I'll put this whole album on and we'll have a throw back night to hoe down shin dig type nights. I have some old boots somewhere that I can dredge up to do some two stepping in the dirt and kick up some dust.

************************

And while we're on a bluegrass roll, I have to profess my joy in listening to the spoon lady and her man.

************************

Then we have this Finnish band that does fine justice to the Blue Grass genre.

************************

But before I get totally lost in Blue Grass, let me take you through some of my drum favorites. Nothing like drums to get your blood pumping. Seeing so many people working together and making terrific sounds that reverberate in your soul moves me at an emotional level that I can't explain.

************************

And while we're on drums, I have to include Tusk. This song flushes me all over. Weird I know, but this gets me hyped up and grooving. I could plow through any chore with this song going.

************************

There is this funky song. Being a Thrift Shop-oholic myself, this music video tickles me. Plus that catchy chorus and wacky horn just really gets me feeling funsy when I'm down.

************************

And I finish this list with this phenomenal oddity. I can't help it. It is delightfully ridiculous. He seems to be having so much fun doing the video and his flamboyant clothes are hilarious.

************************

If you made it to the end of my list, CONGRATULATIONS! You just experienced what it's like inside my head. Jumping any which way. And guess what, there is so much more I could have put here that I'll have to do another list. :)

Check out Volume 2:

************************

Get to know more about me here:

************************

FOR MORE PLAYLISTS ON VOCAL, VISIT HERE:

playlist
3

About the Creator

Pam Reeder

Stifled wordsmith re-embracing my creativity. I like to write stories that tap into raw human emotions.

Author of "Bristow Spirits on Route 66", magazine articles, four books under a pen name, technical writing, stories for my grandkids.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.