Beat logo

Open When

Open when you're feeling lonely. A Spotify playlist composed of songs that bring me comfort and joy when I am feeling alone.

By Chloe Rose Violet 🌹Published 3 years ago • 9 min read
2
Open When
Photo by Ellen Auer on Unsplash

I hope that you find this post when you're lonely and in need of a friend.

There are so many beautiful ways to express your love for someone. Writing is one of them. There is so much power behind words and I have always loved that. You can gently caress someone with loving words or cut them very deeply.

I remember creating a box of open when letters for one of my high school friend's birthdays way back in the day. I put the envelopes together with handwritten notes filled with quotes and lyrics. She inspired me so much with her strength and endurance for life back then. The stories she chooses to share, still inspire me to this very day even if we are no longer close.

My friend and I bonded over music during our school bus rides. We even entered a talent show together way back in the day! We auditioned with I'm Yours by Jason Mraz. Suprise, my vocal talent did not get us very far. I miss those old school days when life was a little less hectic and carefree.

During this very isolated time period in my life, I've had a lot of spare time on my hands to search for new music and fawn over the old stuff I used to enjoy. I created a Spotify playlist that simply reminds me of high school, my love for music, and my friends that I wanted to share with you. I love the power behind the words to some of these songs. I find that most of the artists in this playlist have an incredible way of passing their feelings on through their music. In some way, I find that music is a way of connecting your feelings. Like therapy. Lyrics to songs are almost like poetry in a way. I love poetry. I love music. I need therapy. What a great collection of little things.

I hope you find this when you're lonely and in need of a friend. Every single song in this playlist has an important meaning to me. I truly hope you enjoy it.

  • Home by J Spin & Spose

"Some of you stuck around but most of my friends aren't found, and it's probably my fault. Guess I got a little caught up, Juggling my life got tough."

I found this song during one of the hardest chapters of my life. I spent so much time focusing on my family that I lost a lot of friends along the way. I know which ones stuck around and which ones I have lost. Sometimes friendships falling apart can hurt your heart way more than a break-up ever could. However, I like to believe that anything that falls apart is meant to bring better things towards your path.

  • I'm Yours by Jason Mraz

As I rambled in my introduction to this Spotify playlist, I have performed a duet to this song with one of my high school friends. My vocal prowess did not get us very far in the competition, at all. This song makes me think of her every time I listen to it. I miss her more than my words can describe and I am so proud to have been her friend back in the day.

"And look into your heart, and you'll find love, love, love, love."

  • Mess by Noah Kahan

This is one of my latest favourite songs. Sometimes it's okay to be a little bit of a mess and let yourself start over somewhere new. The lyrics, "And I'll help her set up her new apartment. And we'll get drunk and she'll say, "Shit, you're a mess, you're a mess, good God, you're a mess" really hit home for me. My favourite part about being in a relationship with someone is having someone to share in your messy life with. I can relate to feeling a bit messy sometimes as I think most people can.

  • This Was A Home Once by The Bad Suns

Have you ever wanted a change of scenery? This whole damn song makes me feel alive and happy again. It inspires me to work towards bigger and better things for myself. I love every single word of this song, but "This was a home once, with so much love comes so much pain." stands out to me the most.

  • Kids Again by Artist Vs Poet

I love this song. The lyric "She wears her loneliness just like a crown." really hits me hard. I love the entire flashback to high school that this song brings me.

  • Freakin' Out On the Interstate by Briston Maroney

"I'm sorry I haven't been myself. And something's got me down. What it is, I cannot tell."

During my photography class in high school, I had bonded with another girl who was a little older than me. She also still to this day utterly inspires me. She was a self-taught music artist with a hell of a voice. She sent me this one song not too long ago and I love the vibes within the whole damn thing.

  • Atlas Hands by Benjamin Francis Leftwich

"I will remember your face, 'Cause I am still in love with that place. When the stars are the only things we share, will you be there?"

I love the happy-sad vibe within this song. It inspires me to work towards bigger and better things. And it makes me feel a little less alone. I found it way back in the day. It's actually one of the first songs within my "liked" songs on Spotify.

  • Gets Better by Catie Turner

I discovered this song in one of Shane Dawson's YouTube documentary videos a few years back. This song still hits me hard to this day. Every. Damn. Line. This is one of my favourite songs for bad days.

  • Cheers by Blackbear (Feat. Wiz Khalifa)

"Let's toast to the pain and let's toast to the stress. Cheers, here's to nothing." This song is so upbeat and happy even if the lyrics to the song are a little depressing. It reminds me again that I am not alone when I am falling apart.

  • Unsteady by X Ambassadors

"Mother, I know that you're tired of being alone. Dad, I know you're trying. To fight when you feel like flying."

I related to this song in high school but it's even more relevant for me now being a single mother of two kids. Sometimes it's hard being alone, but sometimes it's worth the wait.

  • I'll Be Good by Jaymes Young

Another photography class favourite of mine. I cannot tell you how many hours I spent editing photos during that class listening to music with my best friends. This song brings me back to those hallways.

"My past has tasted bitter for years now, so I wield an iron fist. Grace is just weakness or so I've been told."

  • Lost Stars by Adam Levine

"Cupid's demanding back his arrow, so let's get drunk on our tears."

Oh, looky here, yet another amazing photography class song. Adam Levine has such a beautiful vocal range. His talent truly amazes me.

  • i believe by Christina Perri

This is my all-time favourite bad day song. "This is not the end of me, this is the beginning." I got to watch this beautiful woman perform live. I swear she is the most adorable human being to exist. This song has always impacted me greatly and gotten me through some of the worst times in my life. I hope that you find it to do the same thing for you.

  • save me from the monsters in my head by Weshly Arms

"Hold me steady when I'm freaking out? Cause I need you here, you keep me safe, you keep me safe and sound."

I love the way this song feels. I think that everyone can relate to wanting to have someone that is able to put up with their mental health struggles. It is hard to date someone with depression and anxiety, trust me, I have ruined my fair share of relationships, just from struggling with my depression. I can relate to wanting to be saved from the monsters inside your head.

  • Mad Hatter by Ray Garrison

This whole one song makes me feel so many different things. There is a part within the chorus that goes, "I think I fucked up my life" that I relate so much to. One of the most important people in my life showed me this song. It makes me think of him every single time I listen to it.

  • Little Girl by Faith Marie

Even though this song is kind of sad, the lyrics hit me hard. "It's not their fault my mind is working overtime with no pay." The artist refers to thinking about her friends in this line. I can relate so much because I overthink absolutely everything in my life. Every interaction with another human being is carefully analyzed by my anxious brain.

  • High While The World Ends by KROWNS

"Trying to hold on tight with a stitched up heart."

It's hard to hold on sometimes. I love the beat of this song. It makes me feel a little melancholic but I still truly enjoy it.

  • Sometimes by Taz

"I remember finding love, I was thinking damn, it's the second heartbreak that'll make a man."

Every heartache is meant to build you stronger. This song hits me hard because I can relate to needing a friend after going through extreme heartache. This song perfectly sums up feeling alone and isolated. I really related to the words being isolated with my children during the pandemic while also going through a break-up. It makes me reminisce about my old high school chums that I miss dearly.

  • Keep Your Head Up by Andy Grammar

A total radio song but I do not care. It truly deserves a spot within this playlist. It is an upbeat, happy tune to help get you through your worst days.

  • Bodies by Bryce Fox

"What's the worst thought you ever had? Wish that you could take it back?"

Yet another song that helps my very anxious, overthinking brain. I love the smooth melody in this song. It's easy to sing along to which I love.

  • Thrivin by Ryan Caraveo

This song was also snagged from a Shane Dawson video. What a surprise there. But I LOVE how much this song makes me feel. It reminds me of happier times in my life. Plus you know, one day I'll wake up and be thriving.

  • Homemade Dynamite (REMIX) by Lorde

This song makes me feel really happy. Just know that I think that you're awesome.

  • when the party's over by Billie Eilish

"But nothin' is better sometimes. Once we've both said our goodbyes. Let's just let it go. Let me let you go."

Well, this song sums up my thoughts on this playlist. Thank you for reading my late-night ramblings. I hope you find this when you're lonely and in need of a friend. Don't worry, you've got this shit. Whatever you're going through, you will pull yourself through it. I promise you that my friend.

Chloe Rose Violet

https://open.spotify.com/playlist/6XzAkhSWKJAPPQJjs5UpNA



playlist
2

About the Creator

Chloe Rose Violet 🌹

Writing from the heart about love, life, music, mental health, and everything else in between. 💀🥰

•Follow me on Threads @rosefearless

•Like my new Facebook page ROSEFEARLESS

Purchase my affirmation cards here!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.